We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gamboa Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,244: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for two days while on a Caravan tour. We had a spacious room with a king bed with a sitting area, large bathroom on the third level. It was clean, but there were some cracked tiles in the bathroom, and black mold in the shower. They do provide large bottles of nicely scented vanilla and olive lotion,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TB1000
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours.

Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I read several reviews before I left on trip that were less than stellar, but they were from a year ago+. it looks like the hotel has experienced a management change, improving most things complained about -- at all five meals, food and beverage management circulated and watched wait staffs performance; front desk staff friendly and helpful. didn't use the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AngelaAlaska
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the hotel. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. Hope we get the pleasure to have you again with us in a near future. Sincerely

Chelsea, Canada
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Gamboa Rainforest Resort for 3 nights in January 2014. We had a lovely room on a top floor but it was quite a walk from the room to the lobby. The bathroom was gigantic and the beds very comfy. In the main dining room we had a choice of a buffet for each meal but could also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank youngmml
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cordially yours,

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Ten years ago this might have been a great spot to spend a vacation, but this hotel seems dated. The location in the rainforest is great, but the hotel itself has seen better days. Our room was a loooong walk from the lobby and restaurants which we eventually got used to. But, our room, while a suite, was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew R
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel are a vital help to us for continue providing excellent service to our visitors. We took note of yours recommendations about the rooms. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Like so many other reviews I've read, I have mixed feelings about this resort. It's in a beautiful location, with amazing views, and though the rooms need some updating, I thought they were comfortable enough. I was very happy with the pool. And the food was pretty good - even for a vegetarian - we ate at all 3 restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JayPee02
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at Gamboa Rainforest Resort did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. Please be assured that your comment is extremely valuable to us and help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis. We...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Gamboa Resort for a week. Overall, we had a great time. The Hotel itself was nice & clean. We stayed in the furthest building from the lobby (on the top floor), so it was a long walk every time we left our room. We were happy with our room overall. It was cleaned daily & we...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Donald T
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panamá.

Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Ten years ago I invited a group of friends to stay here and it was wonderful. On January 1, 2014 I checked in with my family, reserving the same rooms I had in the past. Both were JR Suites with amazing views. While the foyer remains majestic, the service outstanding and the food has improved significantly the rooms were a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lu P
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at Gamboa Rainforest Resort did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. Please be assured that your comment is extremely valuable to us and help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis. We...

Reviewed 15 January 2014

This resort is beautiful. The food was excellent - hot and good selections. Be sure the enjoy the hammock on your balcony!! The view was incredible. It's a nice quiet place but there's not a lot to do at the resort. The pools are great and their quite a few excursions you can do offsite. But not a lot on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pkmiz
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama.

Panama City, Florida
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here through a LivingSocial deal that was purchased. This was a good resort for a nice relaxing vacation. It is not luxurious but still has it's own touches. We spent about 2 days here and that was enough to do all the activities they had. They have a variety of things you can sign up for ahead of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BeachLover2828
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours

Michigan
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We only stayed for one night but the service was VERY slow at reception, the bar and restaurant. Pool had amazing views and was clean, but kids said it was cold. Rooms were a little dated, but did have a hammock on the balcony. it is a large hotel so no personal touches. Only place for wi-fi was in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaguarMichigan
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama. Regards

1,344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1300)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (323)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
View from Room (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (552)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
24.7 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
25.1 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
24.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#18 of 116 in Panama City
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,066 reviews
10.3 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#23 of 116 in Panama City
824 reviews
28.7 km away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Price Range: €127 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper level on river will give best view”
 of 5 bubbles Sue_in_Raleigh, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Elevators and ramps make all rooms accessible. The top floors will provide better views of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles zzweaver, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the higher floors have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Jay405, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure you get a balcony, the hammocks are terrific”
 of 5 bubbles susie166, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the fourth floor to the right of the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles Dave277-12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5