We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gamboa Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,243: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TorontoTheaterLover
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Pickerington, OH
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Can't decide between 3 and 4 stars so I gave them the benefit of the doubt. The location is excellent. Check in was easy, but we arrived late. The front desk and guest relations employees knew us by name and were usually very helpful. Check-out was also very smooth. We booked the honeymoon package, which I highly recommend. One reason...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pickatty
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Sincerely.

Westmont, Illinois
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent three nights at the Gambo Rainforest Resort which was a perfect amount of time for relaxing and seeing areas on the resort. When I booked the room, only Thursday and Friday were available and later we were able to make a separate reservation for Saturday night and although we had to change rooms from exact opposite ends of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelHappy1012
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks. Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. We will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards,

Hudson, Iowa
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and for the most part was enjoyable. We did have a problem with our room cards deactivating. Can't even remember how many times that happened. Use it once and then it wouldn't work again. It was a LONG walk to the Front Desk so that was very inconvenient. If my parents had been there by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luv2FishAlways
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at Gamboa Rainforest Resort did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you also for taking the time to contact us with your feedback. Yours comments was already shared with our management team and I can assure you that all of the staff area working hard...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I spent an amazing 4 nights at this resort. Each of the rooms has a view of the rainforest and the Chagres river. You can hang out on your terrace in a hammock or chairs. Just divine. Watching the sunrise or sunset is so relaxing. The resort's food was okay (not great) and some of the service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ExCoachnyc
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Panamá again in the future. Kind regards

buffalo, wyoming
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Paid guide service for a full day fishing trip on Lake Gatun on Feb 5th - Guide left dock at 7:20am and returned at 10:40AM - Guide was not bi-lingual as requested so couldn't discuss the issue of a shortened fishing trip. Feel we were ripped off. Asked travel agent who set up the trip to seek reimbursement adjustment -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank buffalotoredcloud
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. All your comments are very valuable for us, and will be taking the right corrective actions,...

Eaton, Colorado
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This resort is quiet and peaceful. A good place to rest. We worked with the tour desk on three different tours and here is what happened. Their night tour that was offered with our package went without a hitch. We booked a tour for the next day that started at 1:00. So, we didn't make any other plans. At 12:15...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig C
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama. Regards

Fabius, New York
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The pictures this hotel has on their website is totally misleading. RCI and travel agent recommend hotel so never checked review. When we arrive told us we had an free upgrade. No one took us to our room we had to did it ourselves. When asked about information about hotel was never given anything. When we arrived in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ILoveVacations252
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at Gamboa Rainforest Resort did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. Please be assured that your comment is extremely valuable to us and help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis. We...

Panama city, Panama
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Was thinking about a lower rating but the site and surroundings are simply wonderful. The problem with the service is that it's simply inconsistent, heading downwards. I see some staff make an effort but others were downright rude to me. Try waiting for 15 minutes to get a drink at the bar and having to negotiate your way through the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill C
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and our apologies. We will review this situation and take corrective actions to avoid from happening again. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Sincerely

Colts Neck, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Although we have similar comments about this property, we experienced something that doesn't fall under the resort's location, condition of the rooms or the quality of the food. During our two night stay while on a Caravan Tour, a member of my family placed an "emergency" message with the resort at approximately 930PM Wednesday. It wasn't until the following morning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jjflan
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

On behalf of the Gamboa Rainforest Resort, please accept our most sincere apologies for all inconveniences occurred during your vacations. Hope to have an opportunity in welcoming you again and be able to replace the bad experience with a good and enjoyable one. Sincerely,

1,343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1299)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (323)
Viewed
View from Room (123)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (551)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
24.7 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
25.1 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
24.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#18 of 116 in Panama City
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,064 reviews
10.3 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#22 of 116 in Panama City
823 reviews
24.2 km away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Price Range: €127 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper level on river will give best view”
 of 5 bubbles Sue_in_Raleigh, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Elevators and ramps make all rooms accessible. The top floors will provide better views of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles zzweaver, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the higher floors have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Jay405, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure you get a balcony, the hammocks are terrific”
 of 5 bubbles susie166, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the fourth floor to the right of the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles Dave277-12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5