We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

PricelineUS$135*
View Deal
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$157*
US$135*
Great Deal
US$157*
US$157*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gamboa Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,282: English reviews
San Jose, California
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with my seven year old son in May 2014. It was so peaceful. The room was nice and the view was great. I don't think any of the rooms have a bad view. It was relaxing rocking on the hammock on the balcony. The tours were nice. Food was good. Nothing to complain about. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItsMeandSon
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Panama again in the future. Kind regards

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying five days at this property as part of a staff conference. The rooms manage to convey the feel of being in a well-appointed jungle villa even though you are in a multistory hotel. Taking heed of previous reviews, I requested a room on the top floor of the hotel and was very pleased with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_ca
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Really hard to write a review on this hotel. I really want to love this place but it was so frustrating that I cannot. Good Location. Can hike around the grounds and beyond to see wildlife. The included night tour was short (30 minutes) but fun and we say sloths and capybaras. During the included afternoon hike we saw white-faced...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank adoyle71
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time for your review and bring this matter to our attention. We do apologize for don´t fill your expectations. Once again sorry for the inconveniences during your stay, we are going to make the necessary corrections so this situations are not going to happen once again. We hope to welcome you back to Gamboa Rainforest...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have visited this resort for tours in the past the tours, Monkey, Night Safari, Fishing are all excellent and entertaining. Fishing is for Peacock Bass is execellent though the fish are on the small side compared to other Peacock fishing locations, but two of us caught 82 fish in 4 hours. The rooms are musty(you are in the rainforest)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WarDogDaddy
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks. Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. We will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely

Reviewed 15 June 2014

As residents of Panama City we'd been to the Gamboa rainforest area many time and recognize its beauty and unique location, but this time we took advantage of an offer and stayed at the resort for all-inclusive overnight stay. The hotel beautiful location and environment are its biggest selling point. All of there are rather let down by poor service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul N
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. All your comments are very valuable for us. We hope you give us the opportunity to...

IMG_0020.JPG
Reviewed 11 June 2014

In country on business. A Friend raved about the Sunday brunch there and of the service so we went. The quality, presentation and selection of food was excellent. The dessert choices were plentiful. The unlimited mimosas (fresh squeezed oranges) complimented it all. Ladies room was very clean. The view spectacular. Perfect way to spend $40.00US. Met Bernard-- who periodically would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vfoote2
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff and especially our coworker Bernard we really appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and give the best experience ever....

Torrington,Ct.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

one of three hotels we stayed at in march which is the best time of the year to go. weather is at it's best. rooms are quiet and clean and well appointed . not to modern as to blend in to the area in witch you are in. food is good ,not over the top . desert's are plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tobbie
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

From the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. We hope to see you again in Panama. Regards

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Once an amazing place to go to and spend the weekend I was deeply disappointed by my latest weekend away here. The rooms and hotel grounds have lost the love and attention they once had and my room had the air conditioner from hell which is down to poor maintenance. The sheets in the room on the bed use to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SimonEat
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time for your review and bring this matter to our attention. We do apologize for don´t fill your expectations. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments for their review. We hope you give us the opportunity to service and welcome back. Regards,

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is, without question, the best all- inclusive resort that I have ever visited. Obviously, the location is a big factor here, but the main reason that I liked this place more than any other all-inclusive is that it is NOT an all-inclusive. Gamboa Rainforest Resort is a full-service hotel that offers an AI option. During my one week...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don4060
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards,

Bullhead city
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Traveled with a group of 27 seniors. We loved everything: welcomed with cool drinks , enjoyed beautiful rooms, traveled by complimentary open air safari shuttle, great food, especially at the little restaurant down by the river, watched wildlife, visited the butterfly sanctuary, the orchid garden ... Just a relaxing, natural, yet upscale resort. Oh did I mention the fishing? Big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jena M
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

From the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. We hope to see you again in Panama. Regards

1,404 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1360)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (333)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (582)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
24.7 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
25.0 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
24.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 117 in Panama City
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 117 in Panama City
1,091 reviews
10.3 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 117 in Panama City
871 reviews
28.9 km away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Price Range: €116 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe all the rooms here would have a spectacular view.”
  • All you hear is birds. Lovely.
926cherylj, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“best views”
kornelia00, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“5th, 6th, or 7th floors for the view”
jimeileen2017, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view of the river”
KymH, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“• Room Type: King Deluxe River View Room • Rate: All Inclusive”
  • Dead forest along the river
  • Dead trees outside the resort
  • A spacious balcony with patio furniture, hammock and a wonderful view!
  • Waste thrown in bushes by the river
  • Dead trees outside the resort
  • Waste thrown in bushes by the river
  • Dead trees outside the resort
  • Dead trees outside the resort
88aheb2017, 11 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$135* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$157
Booking.comUS$157
CheapTicketsUS$157
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates