We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 457: English reviews
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-October. The hotel is expensive and 4 star. We had high hopes. The situation is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. We had a meal in the hotel on our first night. We booked it with the lady on reception (the owner I believe). When we went to the restaurant, they were not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dorothy C
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations with us regarding your recent stay. Our staff receive so many wonderful compliments about their highly personal, professional and attentive service. We are sorry to learn that asking for milk interrupted your breakfast and caused you a level of dissatisfaction; we will follow up with additional training and...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Mmmmm. This hotel is in a really good position for touring the area, rooms are good, really clean., in fact the whole of the hotel is really clean. Well done housekeeping . There was a lack of atmosphere here and did not feel particularly welcoming. The restaurant staff are very pleasant and keen to serve BUT they lack leadership and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan B
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations with us regarding your recent stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding housekeeping. Our staff receive many wonderful compliments about their friendly and highly attentive service and it is very disappointing to learn that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. We were pleased to...

gloucester
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The location of this Country house hotel is excellent, lovely village with good access to local beaches at St Sgnmes and Perranporth and, central for travelling further afield. Sitting in its own grounds with woodland walks it's an ideal restful place to visit. It has 4 stars BUT it is falling short of that standard and, at best, in my...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gloucesterboy58
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Writing with such authority one may be lured into thinking you have 'knowledge' and that you at least know your beans? We can tell you that these were indeed Heinz but don't take our word for it. A all foods are lot traceable so by all means call them directly quoting code 09-2017 BV 5 6266 05:55 as per the...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful house, lovely gardens, and to top it all friendly welcoming staff. Very homely and very relaxing atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely recommend and visit again as often in area visiting daughter at uni

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sonia E
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived to a lovely welcome and around the hotel before going to our room, room nicely turned out, bar and restaurant of very good quality, enjoyed the vast amount of cocktails on offer, food was of excellent quality. Would definitely use again, especially as adults only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
Wilmslow
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Booked this at short notice so had a good deal. Bedrooms were spacious and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and staff were very attentive. We never tried the restaurant as we were wearing jeans and trainers, but went to the Miners Arms nearby which was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Somerset
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed for four nights and had booked The Riverbank Suite with dinner and breakfast. We found the staff to be very friendly, polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable - as should be expected as this is classed as 4 star accommodation. We enjoyed our stay and the cuisine, although on the first night our rib eye...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZigiB
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

On driving up to the hotel we thought what a beautiful house and surroundings we were going to enjoy our stay. We stayed in the riverbank suite, which was lovely and faultless. Breakfast was hard work as the selection was limited and scarce and on the 2nd morning there, they couldn't even cater for us in the restaurant and we...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank davidglennreed1
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I needed to stay overnight in the area for a business meeting the next day. The hotel was very charming, the staff very welcoming, couldn't do enough for you. The wine choice and the food was tip top, most enjoyable. Nice touches like tea and coffee in the room and 2 bottles of free still water. As a woman on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon J
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

On driving up to the hotel we thought what a beautiful house we are going to enjoy staying here. Our room was fine and clean no view though but no problem. Breakfast was hard work as we have to keep asking for more coffee as no coffee pot, butter was supplied two cubes at a time this also had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank susiebee1952

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
10.1 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
747 reviews
11.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.1 km away
Beacon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
33.5 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
742 reviews
2.4 km away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Price Range: €143 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are over looking the garden in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 161janel, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some bedrooms have quite low ceilings, which is not a problem unless you are 6 foot tall then the shower over the bath is a little tricky!”
 of 5 bubbles 716anitap, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a small room, as these are tiny and not worth the money!”
 of 5 bubbles scandy11, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Number 4 was a bit dark and musky smelling. Tired looking ensuite. Not 4 stars.”
 of 5 bubbles gloucesterboy58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 16 & 17 - small & above kitchen which is noisy early morning!”
 of 5 bubbles Phtouchwood, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay