We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
Main Street, Bruff Co. Co. Limerick, Bruff V35 H744 Ireland
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bruff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This 4* banking town house offers accommodation in 8 luxurious ensuite jacuzzi rooms, ranging from family interconnecting rooms to the serene intimacy of four poster bedrooms over looking peaceful courtyard gardens. Each room possesses its very own distinct individual style that blend period decoration with all of today's modern services and luxuries. Miriam & family have earned a great reputation for the quality of both accommodation and service, and breakfast is a treat - an impressive selection of home baking is served next to a extensive menu in a dining room that is set up like a restaurant. For golfers & cycling entunacity the house is ideally located among 5 golf courses and with in short distances of Europe’s largest mountain bike park and is on many road cyling routes. The house is a excellent touring base for historic Lough Gur, Adare with day trips to Cliffs of Moher, Rock of cashel, ring of Kerry and Cork.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Mini golf
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Secured parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
333Reviews0Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 296
  • 18
  • 10
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hernan U wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions1 helpful vote
A colleague and I went on a short business trip to the area. The host company booked us at The Old Bank. What a gem! The rooms were spacious and spotless, the breakfast was amazing, and Miriam came out of her way to accommodate us and make our stay the best. On our last day we had to leave very early on a Sunday morning. Saturday night, she brought us a tray with food so that we could have breakfast on our rooms before departure. Looking forward to go back to The Old Bank and share some conversation during tea with Miriam.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 2nd floor. Both were great, so I don't think there is much of a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa wrote a review 4 Aug
1 contribution
Proper old school hospitality at the Old Bank. Wonderfully warm welcome, spacious & comfortable accommodation with a delicious hot breakfast menu that will keep you going all day. Well worth a detour if you are on the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DAVIDT1955 wrote a review 2 Aug
Northampton, United Kingdom11 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed at The Old Bank for 3 nights last month. Miriam has such high standards at her property, our room, The Bank, was large, well equipped and most importantly spotlessly clean. At breakfast Miriam makes such an effort to accommodate guests needs including our vegan/vegetarian requests,for which she got so many different products in for. It was much appreciated. We really dont know how she manages to be able to run the B&B almost single handledly and acheive such high standards everywhere as well as looking after her family .........thank you, we enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
Ah, Thank You David , I really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a sweet review, I can't tell you how much I really appreciate it.. me and my team try really hard to try and accommodate all our guests and this message means so much and i really do hope that we get to welcome you back again soon Till then, Fond Farwells Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K S wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
This place is a hidden gem--a beautifully decorated, extremely clean and comfortable place to stay for travelers exploring the middle of Ireland. My mom and I stayed on our way back from Dingle to Dublin, and it was the perfect stopping point. Our room was beautiful and the book of information about the area and recommendations was so thorough and interesting to peruse. Miriam is an excellent host, and her homemade baked goods with breakfast were such a treat! Also appreciated the steps taken to be environmentally conscious, and that the meat with breakfast came from her husband's butcher shop! Would 100% recommend staying here, you'll be glad you did!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you K, what a wonderful detailed review, Thank you for taking such time time to write this, as I say me and my team try our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay but also to try and promote the hidden gems with in our area 'Ballyhoura " We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Till then Fond Farwells Miriam and Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
daramolloy wrote a review Jul 2022
Galway, Ireland2 contributions
Wonderfully spacious and themed room. Very tastefully laid out. Nothing generic. My room was themed on famous racehorses and called The Curragh Suite. Fabulous choice for breakfast. I was even given a takeaway box for some pastries to take with me. Also a very good price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The Carpark is behind the building. Good to know.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Dara for taking the time to review our home, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the take away pastries We would love to welcome you back again soon to our home, till then Fond Farewells Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rita L wrote a review Jul 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Spent 4 nights in Bruff at The Old Bank, as it was convenient for visiting relatives. This was our 2nd time staying, so were looking forward to the delicious breakfasts again. The white and black pudding are the best! Plenty of choice and lovely pastries and muffins that are boxed up for you to take away if you can't manage to eat them. Miriam and Louise looked after us very well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you R & P for taking the time to review our home, We love welcoming guests back to our and especially those I don't need to bribe to try pudding ( Ha ha ) Looking forward to welcoming you back to our home again Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin_in_Texas wrote a review Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas32 contributions4 helpful votes
The Old Bank B&B is an excellent place to stay - I was sorry we only had 1 night! The welcome is warm, the room was large, spotless and well equipped, the bathroom was huge with a fantastic shower, the beds were comfy, and the breakfast was second to none! Best bacon we had our whole trip! And the tasty baked treats were packed up for us to eat later in the day. Miriam was a delight and the quintessential hostess. Entering the building feels like stepping back in time - the restoration is very well done. Bruff is a quaint town and we enjoyed dinner at Clancy's down the block. If you're in the area, I suggest a stop by Lough Gur, just 10 minutes north. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Miriam!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank You Erin & B Wow what a lovely review, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful detailed review. I really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that we get to welcome you back again to our home. Fond farewells Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
If you enjoy immersing yourself in the authentic places you travel too. Then The Old Bank in Bruff is a great place to lay your head. The host is amazing. She helped us plan our days and gave us good recommendations for where to go. I highly recommend you make this a place on your itinerary.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 Jun 2022
Thank you Chris & Family for taking the time to review our Home, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope ye all have an amazing trip Bon Voyage Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don R wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5 star all the way. Do not pass this place. Attention to detail and proprietor Miriam is a force of nature. Excellent food. Parking and a proprietor cannot do enough. This is a very special place in a beautiful part of county Limerick
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 Jun 2022
Thank You so Much Don for taking the time to review our home. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you all back again soon Fond Farwells Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oran wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The Old Bank is a beautiful and cosy B&B with as much charm as the town of Bruff itself. Never did I feel I was infringing on family space and yet I felt at home, with a warm fire to greet me and a spotless kitchen all kitted out with cooker, utensils, microwave, fridge, freezer and dishwasher at one's disposal. It's on the main street in Bruff but not noisy at all. Breakfast was my favourite time of day. You gotta try the homemade morning bakes which are absolutely delicious and pair perfectly with a scandalous scéal or tourist attraction recommendation from Miriam. The staff are all super friendly and genuinely helpful. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Little bedside chocolates add that extra touch. Loved the jacuzzi bath which you wouldn't get in a standard hotel and that would also cost more! Warm, exceptionally clean, Netflix, trouser press, an interesting placard of history on the back of the room door all make this place undoubtedly the best B&B I've ever stayed at. Miriam & Family are doing a fantastic job to bring the best of Irish hospitality and humour together with the needs of the modern post-Covid lodger.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miriam Sadlier, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Responded 5 May 2022
AH Oran, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our home, this review is so genuine and heartfelt and is a true reflection of the gentleman you were and we loved having you all to stay. Till next time Fond Farwells Miriam & Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty LimerickBruff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Old Irish Ways (4.0 km), Terra Nova Fairy Garden (4.9 km), and Lough Gur Heritage Center (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clancy's Bar & Istabraq Restaurant, Cafe Cotto, and Reardons bar & restaurant.
Is The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Bruff.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lough Gur (5.6 km).