We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon

Save
Share
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good25%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“no elevator”(3 reviews)
“former convent”(2 reviews)
“family room”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Pets Allowed
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
9
6
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
9
6
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorformer conventfamily roomcafes and restaurantsfree wifistayed hereone nightthe main squarereceptionistyardsofamarket
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as an overnight stop and were delightfully surprised at the original French decor and style of this hotel. From the very warm and friendly welcome, up the wide sweeping staircase past a large stained glass window to our large first floor room...More

Thank John E
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The hotel and rooms are ordinary but the outstanding level of service at this hotel is excellent. We stayed at the hotel twice, with a week between visits. They stored our luggage during this period and without any hesitation let us use the room for...More

Thank Håkan G
Response from Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et PigeonResponded 11 July 2018

Dear clients, Thank you for posting a five star review of our service. We very much appreciate your kind comments, and look forward to welcoming you for more visits to come....

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We were given a room up two flights of stairs (no lift) in the hope that we would not be too inconvenienced by the noise, The music boomed in our ears until the early hours. There was no bar, the restaurant was not available and...More

Thank beattie7
Response from Stéphane C, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Moderne et PigeonResponded 24 October 2017

Dear client, We are sorry you feel you have had a poor experience with us. It is worth noting, as you no doubt recall, that you were told of the exceptional event (an 80th birthday celebration) when you arrived, and offered the chance to cancel...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

The hotel is well located in the middle of Limoux. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff were very nice. There is no lift so carrying your bag up two flights of stairs was a little challenging. Also parking is a bit of...More

Thank Andrew S
Response from Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et PigeonResponded 7 September 2017

Dear client, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Moderne et Pigeon Hotel in Limoux. We are delighted to hear that you have found your room clean and our staff very nice. We are saddened to hear...More

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We love Limoux and visit the area often - for this this vacation we were spending most of our time on the coast but stayed here one night each way. The hotel is the best in Limoux and in an ideal location - just round...More

Thank HegsUK
View more reviews
About
Description
Built in 1501, the house was initially a convent, and then the private residence of the Souvigny family, relatives of the Countess du Barry , before finally becoming a noted hotel of its time at the end of the ...More 19th century . Frescoes from the 17th century, a preserved stained glass panel and a remarkable stair case, remain the highlights of the building. Today the hotel offers 13 rooms and suites, complete with TV, free Wifi, mini bar, air conditioning and marble bathrooms. To discover also our Gourmet Restaurant Tantine et Tonton with service on the patio, weather and season permitting. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Breakfast Available
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Bar/Lounge
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$116 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Grand Hotel Limoux
Location
France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$116 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Grand Hotel Limoux
Location
France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Photos
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (13)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Limoux
Les Arcades
37 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Le Mauzac
35 reviews
.88 km away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
113 reviews
1.90 km away
Motel Limoux
36 reviews
2.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 53 restaurants in Limoux
L'Odalisque
207 reviews
.20 km away
Pizza Jean Mi
69 reviews
.16 km away
La Goutine
96 reviews
.04 km away
Cafe gourmand chez stephan
115 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 17 attractions in Limoux
Coucou Limoux
105 reviews
.42 km away
Maison Guinot
123 reviews
.55 km away
l'Atelier des Vignerons
91 reviews
.11 km away
Sieur d'Arques
75 reviews
.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julia G
10 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Stéphane C | Property representative |
We have some parking spots in our courtyard which is used in summer as terrace for our restaurant Tantine et Tonton. For that reason private parking is possible only when no service on our patio or, with access after the... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Try a different hotel."
Read review
"Rooms facing the street which houses the market also face the early morning noise of the set up of the market"
Read review
"Room 11 was very quiet. There isn't a lift."
Read review
"Rooms on the front might be a little noisy during festivals for some people."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing