We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$253
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/09/22
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2227)
360
Panoramas (15)
Pool & Beach (631)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Fortress Resort & Spa
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 in Koggala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
1981Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,491
  • 356
  • 95
  • 28
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Simon B wrote a review 4 May
Singapore, Singapore145 contributions78 helpful votes
We went here for dinner this week- and the place is very impressive as a building and location. We ate in the main restaurant area which has a nice ambience and at the moment is naturally very quiet. The food it self was well presented and tasted good- but I felt like we were really oversold on what we needed for 2 people - it could have fed 4 of us. This was despite the fact we asked. So enjoy - but just go easy on the portion sizes as you will end up wasting food. Overall a good experience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
gooners2 wrote a review 1 May
18 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
We couldnt fault this hotel. It was so beautiful. The room was amazing, first floor sea view, bed and towels changed every day, decorated with flowers and balloons on my birthday. The staff are wonderful, just cant do enough for you, towels on our sun beds every morning, such lovely friendly people. The restaurant was a really high standard without a high price, could quite happily spend the evening there, lovely bar area for after dinner drinks. The pool and garden area was perfect and the sunset was amazing. Galle is a 20 min ride away in a tuktuk and will cost about £12 return. There are lots of trips you can do, we didnt, was there to relax which we certainly did. Will definitely return, was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The hotel is amazing, nothing the staff wont do for you. Not alot directly outside the hotel but...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear gooners2, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Marylynsouth2 wrote a review 1 May
Ryde, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
Arrival was great , long journey but 120 miles of straight road , no potholes and smooth. Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by staff , with there unforgettable greeting , after 10days of trying to learn it , gave up on day 10 !! To many to thank but the pool staff were fantastic and release of the baby turtles was quite emotional. Thank you all for a very nice stay , given the situation the country is in everyone was tremendous , the manager without going into detail went out of his way for us , which of course we were extremely grateful. Had a birthday treat for my wife , your team can sing happy birthday really well , thanks for the cake. Rooms were clean and airy with sea view and high vaulted ceilings, cleaned to a very high specification, sea great for surfing warm with a safe swimming area , protected from the high surf. Please pass on our gratitude for looking after us so well and would have no hesitation in recommending your hotel to anyone, including families.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ocean rooms overlook the sea,
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Marylysouth2, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasant journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Waruna wrote a review Apr 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka6 contributions
Wonderful place to relax with your family. Magnificent koggala beach will never disappoint you. Staff was extremely friendly even to local guests. They treat every guest with same respect. Room we booked was very spacious with a massive bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear awviraj, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back to colombo. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
anuka9 wrote a review Apr 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia319 contributions171 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the suites with the plunge pools on half board. The rooms were great and our personal valet was amazing, making sure that we wanted for nothing. The food was good and the chef will accommodate your wishes and makes things that are not on the menu. Had such a lovely time in this luxurious hotel and never felt like there were too many people around. Would stay here again without a doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear anuka9, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$165 - US$483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fortress hotel koggala, fortress hotel galle, fortress galle, fortress sri lanka
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictKoggala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fortress Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Handunugoda Tea Estate (5.1 km), Ashintha Tours & Taxi Service Koggala (1.5 km), and Martin Wickramasinghe Folk Museum Complex (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Surf 'n' Turf, A'la carte restaurant, and Follow the White Rabbit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Fortress Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Fortress Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Fortress Resort & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Koggala.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (12.7 km), Galle Fort (13.1 km), and Meera Mosque (12.6 km).