We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
99/9 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret 84310 Thailand
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Thai Residents Offer
US$643
US$499
View deal
SAVE US$144
Free cancellation until 15/10/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.comUS$499
Expedia.comUS$555
Prestigia.comUS$643
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2391)
Room & Suite (951)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Banyan Tree Samui
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 56 hotels in Lamai Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set on a pristine private beach, the 88 all-pool villa Banyan Tree Samui features the best elements of a tropical getaway with the convenience of being just 19 km from Samui International Airport. Overlooking the sapphire waters of scenic Lamai Bay, the resort is nestled in a series of cascading terraces on a private hill cove in the south-eastern coast of Koh Samui.
Read more
Room & Suite (951)951
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
Chinese, Thai
Hotel links
Special Rate:Thai Residents Offer

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
33Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
2005Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,672
  • 233
  • 63
  • 21
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Unalome W. wrote a review 15 Jun
Bangkok, Thailand983 contributions125 helpful votes
+1
To visit Banyan Tree Samui during COVID-19 was not easy for us as it required PCR test and/or 14 days of quarantine prior arrival. We opted for the latter option by staying at the Ritz-Carlton, Anantara Lawana and Vana Belle until our 14 days quarantine passed. Eventually here we are - arriving at Banyan Tree Samui, once-my-dream destination. Disappointment started from room reservation, I specifically requested for room B01, however, K Vi the reservation manager explained that she can not guarantee the room but only can put remark/request on my booking. I asked her why and she explained one very reasonable reason - just in case the room doesn’t function properly. I truly understand her explanation. She however kindly said she would put the request on room preference of B01 on my booking. One day before I arrived, I phoned and checked if everything is ok. I was informed that I could not stay in B01 because it was occupied by someone else. After 14 days of waiting for B01, I felt shocked and phoned K Vi straight away. She apologized but that didn’t fix my disappointment. I decided to spend more money on upgrading the room to my second most preference - room D01. Anyway, K Vi was kind enough to give us special price for the upgrading. After we settled in room D01, we called for a buggy to deliver us to kids club. The first half of the ride was smooth as the driver had to reverse the buggy through the narrow path so he couldn’t really go as fast as he wanted. Then the terrifying second half started after he made a three-point-turn. After the u-turn, the buggy went forward down the steep slope and sharp right-angle curve at incredible speed. There was a big rock ahead. My 9 year old twins started screaming when one (sit on the right) let her grip off and slid towards another (sit on the left). The one sitting on the left was about to fall off the buggy so she had to let her toy (soft toy that she always cuddles) fly off the buggy. We all shouted asking the driver to stop but he didn’t hear, or worse, just didn’t care. Eventually my husband shouted very loud and the driver eventually stopped the buggy. My husband ran for the toy which dropped long way away. One of the house keepers already picked it up and also ran towards us. I afterwards reported this to K Keng, the reception manager, who looked like he questioned my judgment in speed of the buggy. I told him he can check CCTV to decide if he should trust me or not. He went back to check and came back to tell me that - unfortunately the CCTV was unavailable where the accident occurred. I told him that he can interview the house keeper who picked up the toy. Definitely, this whole thing was evidenced by her. At the kids club, we were charged for 600 THB for bag painting. After 15 mins passed, the staff told us that we need to leave the bag unfinished as it was her lunch break and the kids club will be closed. She said the kids can come back and continue to paint in the afternoon. Unfortunately no-one wants to go back on that day. And I need to convince my kids very hard to go back the other day. This buggy accident kept me awake all night, not understanding how come a 5-star resort let this happened to their guests and still acting like I wasn’t a trustable source of information. This is a big disappointment for me, especially after waiting for 14 days at other hotels in Samui just to be able to check in at Banyan Tree. My sleep deprivation whispered in my mind throughout the stay that - This is not worth my money. This is not worth my time. If that wasn’t enough for me to check out. Here is another reason. In the morning after, we started to find cockroaches everywhere. They were alive. I reported the problem to Didie, our villa host, about cockroach on my coffee cup (I was about to drink when I saw it). Didie apologized and offered a deep clean by house keepers. However, we said no because 1. We were worried about covid 2. You don’t really need someone to deep clean your room when you only have a short time to enjoy privacy with your family 3. I don’t think deep clean can sustainably fix the problem (it needs more than just a one-off deep clean) and if they want to do deep clean, why not doing it before we checked-in? Why now? I mentioned the cockroaches problem to Didie in the morning, however the duty manager, K Oliver, arrived at the villa 5 hours later after the problem started. K Oliver offered an afternoon tea (I rejected as I think it’s irrelevant to the problem) and offered to waive the cost of upgrade for 3,000 THB (I accepted, but gave all to hotel’s staffs as tips). The whole experience was really disappointing and wasteful. The AC in the room did not work at some point. One towel in the bathroom was so worn out it had a big hole on it (how come the house keepers didn’t notice). We checked out early morning on the day after. This hotel is not what I waited for. This hotel is not a luxury, nor 5-star. This hotel doesn’t seem to have internal regulations on health and safety for their guests. This hotel also needs a serious pest control and inspection. I want my money back, you can forget about my time and my heart.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Remko Kroesen, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui
Responded 4 days ago
Dear unalomew, Thank you for your recent visit to Banyan Tree Samui. I am pleased to read that you found our villas to be well-designed and the views to be scenic; however, it is with genuine disappointment to learn of the areas in which we did not meet your expectations. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, so that we can adjust accordingly to guarantee the best experience for our future guests. I regret that your family felt unsafe during transport from your villa to our Kids’ Club via our buggy service. Our Bellmen strive to maintain consistently high safety and etiquette standards, and it is unfortunate that your felt these were not met during your transfer. Please note that all of our buggies are restricted to a set speed limit in order to ensure safety for both our associates and our guests. When traveling on a declining slope, the initial speed of the buggy does feel faster and may cause some persons to feel a sense of unease. In an effort to address your dissatisfaction, your buggy driver made his best effort to offer an explanation and apology at the Kids’ Club, and we trust that it was perceived as being sincere. I wish to reassure you that our team places the safety of our guests as priority and does not take instances such as this with a casual attitude. Moreover, we aim to receive the comments from our guests in a non-judgmental manner, and it is unfortunate that you felt our team questioned your feedback as this was never our intention. In regard to the experience at our Kids’ Club, our Kids’ Club Attendant noted that your children arrived just prior to the break time for lunch. While the facility typically closes from 12.00-13.00, she arranged the bag painting as per your request and assisted your children with the activity. Her records differ from your account and indicate that one of your children finished at 12.00 while the other one finished at 12.20. Both having completed the activity in its entirety prior to taking a buggy back to the villa. It is disappointing to read of the incident with the cockroaches in your villa. As a resort located in the jungle area of Samui, we, naturally, face problems with issues such as these; however, we do have a weekly pest control service to combat these challenges. Clearly there is room for improvement in this area and our Housekeeping team has already liaised with the pest control service to take the necessary measures in order to keep our villas clean and pest-free. I regret that this incident along with the malfunctioning of the air conditioner in your villa and the tear in the bath towel further exacerbated your displeasure with your stay. I recognize that you had anticipated a memorable holiday after making additional efforts in order to be able to stay with us, and that our team failed to meet your expectations in certain regards. Please accept our apologies for the unfortunate instances which occurred during your stay. unalomew, as a Banyan Tree property, we value your feedback and regret that we were not able to meet the expectations you had upon arrival to our property. I hope you shall allow us the opportunity to reinstate your trust in our brand by considering one of our sister properties around the world in the future. With kind regards, Remko Kroesen General Manager
Read more
Pimm_jalichandra wrote a review Sep 2020
Bangkok, Thailand56 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Banyan tree Samui, majestically situated over the mountains high of Lamai beach in Koh Samui, lies a peaceful sanctuary with white sandy private beach and luxurious stand-alone villas. Undoubtedly Banyan tree Samui is listed in my top favorites luxury resorts in Koh Samui, and i am certain that I am not the only one. This is my second time visiting this property, and it even impressed me more. Firstly, I would like thank the reservation agents khun Jane and khun Jome who helped us get through a booking request. Secondly, our villa host, khun Kate, did her best to elevate our experience to highest level. We had an absolutely fabulous private dinner by the beach next to Sands restaurant, shout out for khun Aek’s dedicated service. We couldn’t get any happier. The spa is not to be missed. After a 60 mins of Balinese massage treatment, I felt so much rejuvenated. Thank to the therapist khun Nongnuch (Mai) Lastly, I would like recommend Banyan tree Samui to any travelers to seek for an ultimate luxury resort with world-class service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Remko Kroesen, Owner at Banyan Tree Samui
Responded 13 Sep 2020
Dear Pimm_jalichandra, Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui! Thank you for your return visit to our resort and for sharing your comments. I am delighted to read that you had a relaxing retreat to our Sanctuary for the Senses and found our location to be the perfect place to unwind. As a Banyan Tree property, we strive for service excellence at every opportunity and it is wonderful that our Reservations team including Khun Jane and Khun Jome, as well as your Villa Host, Kate, and our entire team provided just this for you. I have already passed along your comments as added motivation for them to continue delivering the highest standards of service which is a trademark of our brand. I am pleased that you were impressed with the private dinner at Sands, our beachside restaurant overlooking our private bay. It is a pleasure to read that the cuisine, service from Khun Aek and setting combined for an unforgettable experience. It is great that you experienced the tender touch of the therapists at our award-winning Banyan Tree Spa Samui which continues to receive praise from our guests and visitors from around the island. Khun Mai and the other therapists at our spa are each trained at our private Banyan Tree Spa Academy in Phuket where they are equipped with the knowledge and techniques from our certified trainers. Pimm_jalichandra, thank you once again for choosing Banyan Tree Samui and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future for another memorable stay. With kind regards, Remko Kroesen General Manager
Read more
Arthur L wrote a review 14 Jun
Thailand93 contributions47 helpful votes
I had a wonderful stay with my wife. It was the second time we stayed at Banyan Tree and haven't been disappointed. Rooms are very spacious, well decorated with an incredible view on the bay. We have been very well welcomed and had the feeling to be like at home for our second stay. I can tell its definitely our first choice on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Remko Kroesen, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui
Responded 4 days ago
Dear arthurl773, Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui! Thank you for choosing our resort once again and for sharing your comments with us! I am delighted that you were impressed with your pool villa and the scenic view stretching out across our private bay to the Gulf of Thailand. Our team works tirelessly to deliver exceptional service to each of our guests and I am pleased to read that your Villa Host as well as our entire team were able to meet your every need, and to make you and your wife feel as though you were at your home away from home. arthurl773, thank you once again for choosing Banyan Tree Samui. We would be delighted to welcome both of you back in the future for another retreat to tropical splendour. With kind regards, Remko Kroesen General Manager
Read more
TomSom1962 wrote a review May 2021
Bangkok, Thailand1003 contributions37 helpful votes
I reserved the Ocean View Pool Villa to stay during April 10-12, 2021 with a non-refundable rate via Agoda on March 11. To my great surprise, when I arrived at the resort on April 10 afternoon, I was informed that we were put in Partial Ocean View Pool Villa. This was confirmed to the resort by DOTW (Destination of The World), an agent that I’ve never made any reservation or transaction ever before. The “Villa Host” (aka >> receptionist) and her supervisor told us we have to take that Partial Ocean View PV situated amidst the jungle as there was literally NO other Ocean View PV vacant. Both of them suggested that I have to refund the price difference from Agoda or DOTW because “It is absolutely not our or Resort’s fault. We acted according to the paper reservation”. This was totally unacceptable and I had to search through my emails, documents and insisted that I’ve made the reservation and fully paid for the Ocean View PV and were not willing to be downgraded at all. We spent an hour arguing about this and we finally got into the Ocean View PV. On our check out, I was told that the retention for any in-room damage (@3,000/night x2) done through my credit card will be refunded to me within 3-14 days. I called the same supervisor who did the check out for me after 14 days and he said it might take another few days or so and it would be done through BBL. But it is now more than a month since I checked out and I haven’t received anything back yet. Rated among my stays at hotels either in Thailand or around the globe, this is the most awkward process I’ve ever experienced. Unbelievable!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you got the type of room you reserved, and probably, paid for.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Remko Kroesen, Owner at Banyan Tree Samui
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear TomSom1962, Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui! Thank you for choosing our resort for your retreat to the tropics; however, I regret to read of your displeasure with the manner in which your booking from the third-party agent was handled. As a Banyan Tree property, we take comments such as yours seriously and I have already investigated this with our Front Office and Reservations teams. Given that you have raised your concerns in a public forum, it is imperative that I address this in a factual manner for the benefit of our potential guests who are reading your review. As you are aware, your booking for an Ocean View Pool Villa was made through Agoda. This booking was, in fact, from the travel agency, Destinations of the World, and was featured on the Agoda website. The fact of the matter is that the error with your booking was not a result of any action from Banyan Tree Samui, but, rather, from the travel agency, Destinations of the World, who inadvertently booked a Partial Ocean View Pool Villa for you. Upon arrival, our Villa Host, Dao, assisted you with this case and, as you have mentioned, was able to accommodate your intended booking for an Ocean View Pool Villa. It is unfortunate that your arrival experience was marred with this unnecessary confusion and that it put a damper on the start of your holiday. In reference to the charge on your credit card upon arrival, please note that, as per our corporate policy for the check-in process, the amount of THB 3,000 must be pre-authorized on your credit card to reserve the amount for extra bills incurred during your stay. The unused funds are then refunded to your account after departure. Our Villa Host corresponds with the concerned bank on the day of departure to issue the refund; however, the duration required for this transaction to be completed is entirely dependent upon the bank in question. When you followed up with our team on 26 April, they took action to contact the bank on your behalf and forwarded the cancellation confirmation to you via email. When you contacted us once again on 12 May to inform that the refund had not been processed, our team reached out to the bank once again. At this point, the bank representative mentioned that they could not advise directly on this matter as the information was confidential. The bank representative informed that she would contact you directly to discuss. Typically, the duration to receive this refund does not take this longer than 14 days and it is unfortunate that you were forced to follow-up on this case after one month. I hope that you are able to appreciate that our team extended their best effort to assist you with this matter and to keep the communication lines open; however, the action to complete the refund process is simply beyond their control as this is the responsibility of the bank. I appreciate that you were impressed with our tranquil location and the design of our resort; however, I regret that both your arrival and departure experiences were fraught with complications and that it detracted from your experience. Please kindly reconsider whom you have blamed for these unfortunate mishandlings and the negative sentiment you have undeservingly placed on our resort. TomSom1962, thank you once again for choosing our resort. I hope you shall allow us the opportunity to reinstate your trust in our brand by returning to our resort for your future travels to Samui. With kind regards, Remko Kroesen General Manager
Read more
Natasha_baidya wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
It was a wonderful stay. The location is absolutely gorgeous with a pristine private patch of beach and a breathtaking view from room (the higher, the better). It is a perfect getaway for those who want a serene ambience. Our villa host, Khun May is a lovely lady who is ever ready to serve you and answers to your queries patiently. Infact the whole staff is well trained and warm. They dont shy away and approach on their own for any assistance. My husband had a little accident while doing water sports activity and the attending staff immediately took care of it. Infact Khun May arranged for our hospital visit and took care of the transportation. The "otherwise bad incident" turned into a hasslefree experience, thanks to their support. There are wide activities for kids to pick from and they never get bored. Kid friendly staff keep them entertained and surprises them with treats as well! We were anxious because of the sudden hit of 3rd wave but the hotel kept us updated with all the required info and the protocols before our visit. If i have to bring out a few odd ones out; 1. The menu has less options to pick from(maybe because the other restaurant and bar are temporarily closed due to covid19). 2. There is fresh fruits supply which is great but no inhouse minibar supplies (ofcourse you may order against payment). So just go prepared in case you have kids who love to munch on snacks or simply order. Since it is located in a less crowded area, there is no 7 eleven or other shops just nearby. 3. Usage of bathroom might be an issue if you are a family of three or more even so with kids. The "no lock" bathroom and the almost see through toilet can be quite tricky at times. After dusk the issue escalates with lights turned on. The family villa might have better privacy, i guess. Overall experience was great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Remko Kroesen, Owner at Banyan Tree Samui
Responded 25 Apr 2021
Dear Natasha_baidya, Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui! Thank you for making our resort the destination for your family getaway. I am glad that you found our secluded location to be tranquil, and the views overlooking our private bay and the Gulf of Thailand to be exceptional. It is great that you were able to simply unwind in the privacy of your pool villa while enjoying the view and time spent together. As a Banyan Tree property, we take pride in delivering service excellence at every opportunity. I am thrilled that your Villa Host, May; our Recreation Attendants at the beach; our Kids’ Club Attendants; and our entire team exceeded your expectations to create a relaxing stay. As you have mentioned, our Kids’ Club hosts a wide range of fun and educational activities every day of the week, and each area of the resort caters to our youngest guests with their own special touches. Moreover, our beachfront lawn and private bay have a host of options available for our little guests as well. It is great that you were impressed with these services. It is unfortunate that you were not fully satisfied with certain aspects of your stay. Kindly note that the menu options on offer at Sands are limited as a result of our other dining venues being closed and with respect to the overall number of guests in house. Having said that, our culinary team would have been delighted to cater to your preferences and do their best to deliver off-menu options to meet your taste. As for the minibar in the pool villa, all the items have been removed as per the guidelines of our SafeSanctuary Programme protocols. I regret that this was an inconvenience for you. Lastly, you raise a valid point in regard to the privacy of the bathroom when it is being shared across family members. While challenging to rectify immediately, I shall keep this feedback on file should we have a chance to address a concern such as this during a future renovation of our rooms. I appreciate your constructive feedback as it allows us to better understand the experiences of our guests. I trust from your overall review that these minor drawbacks did not detract from the satisfaction of your entire stay. Natasha_baidya, thank you once again for your stay with us. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome your family back for your next retreat to tropical splendour. With kind regards, Remko Kroesen General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$435 - US$1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
banyan tree samui hotel koh samui
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiMaretLamai Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Banyan Tree Samui
Which popular attractions are close to Banyan Tree Samui?
Nearby attractions include Escape Break Samui (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Banyan Tree Samui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Banyan Tree Samui?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Banyan Tree Samui?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Banyan Tree Samui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Banyan Tree Samui?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kawin's Kitchen, NU Samui Bar & Restaurant, and Flower Paradise & Roestiland.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Banyan Tree Samui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Banyan Tree Samui have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Banyan Tree Samui offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Banyan Tree Samui?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Banyan Tree Samui offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Banyan Tree Samui?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Chinese and Thai.