We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ulica Magdaleny Zai 1, Liptovsky Hradok 03301 Slovakia
Priceline
eDreams
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Etrip
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (158)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Liptovsky Hradok
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Chateau GrandCastle

Accommodation

Chateau hotel GrandCastle offers luxury and affordable accommodation in its 15 majestic chambers, with 4 additional prestigious apartments located at the Manor House.Grandeur and elegance of the entire Castle provides guests with intimate comforts and a unique and magical affair.

Bar&Restaurant Magdalena Zai

The Castle is an ideal place for comfortable and social gatherings, where guests are invited to enjoy the fresh menu of culinary delights, or simply relax by the fireplace with a glass of wine from the extensive collection.

Wellness & Spa

Reenergerize and let your senses loose in a magical atmosphere at the Castle's Wellness & Spa. Spoil your body and soul with various exclusive pampering treatments.

Conferences & Weddings

With fully equipped conference rooms, restaurant and bars, the more than 400 years old renovated Chateau GrandCastle boasts one of the world's most fascinating and ideal venues for corporate and private events. The elegance of the Renaissance setting and the beauty of Gothic ruins located in the heart of the Castle, provides un unforgettable experience for all purposes.

Guided tours

The Guided tours brings you into the Courtyard, shows you the Castle ruins and some of the Manor House interior. The tour includes audio-visual presentation of the history as well as of reconstruction works to current state.The guided tours are also for public guests.

Guests travelling with pets are warmly welcome.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Slovak
94Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 13
  • 12
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CatNick262 wrote a review Aug 2022
32 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We stayed the entire weekend for a close friend's wedding. The castle/hotel is beautiful! Rooms are big and spacious and decorated in an historical style. Lovely touches throughout the castle. The staff make it! They were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Taught us a few words (not our native tongue). Let us sample local drinks. Helpful day after day and always with a smile. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
IbnBatutta3000 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bangkok301 contributions249 helpful votes
Lovely website but it starts which your booking. They ask you to pay the full amount by bank transfer before you arrive, and when we went there, we knew the reason. The rooms are old fashioned (we had the biggest appartment), the restaurant is, sorry, but it is just ugly, the breakfast buffet looks like set up in a hotel frequented by tourgroups, no charme whatsoever. We tried the dinner, and we did not go for. Second time, we actually left one night early because of this, we had expected a Chateau with fine dining, well you can ot get it more wrong. After being out for the whole day, the rooms where still not cleaned and made up (as I mentioned, we had the biggest and most expensive apartment) and we decided to leave, just to never return. Could be a noble house, but that needs more professional management and a better designer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveller8071 wrote a review Aug 2020
France2269 contributions260 helpful votes
+1
We booked table by phone many days in advance for saturday night diner, when receiving our family from France.Waiter on phone told us that we have to be absolutly at 7.30pm the latest on restaurant as they are full and they need to ensure service. Therefore we came at 7.30pm. 4 tables occupied into all restaurant, within 1 table occupied by people drinking a beer only, leaving after 10mn here. Our table booked was not arranged nither prepared, even napkin were dirty!!!! Chairs on 1 side only... It was us to organiw=ze the table and almost serve it. We received menus after few minutes and choosed quickly main dish. Dishes were well prepared and cooked. Good cooker. Then at 8.30pm, we asked for desert and they told us that kitchen is closed and we can t order anything!!!!!! A saturday night!!!!! And they were pissed when we told them that it s unbelievable that they told us when we booked that it ll be full and we have to be there at 7.30pm when nothing was ready, no one almost there, and they just close kitchen w/o proposing us to order desert by advance! A REAL PITY AND NON PROFESSIONALISM!!!! And price was very high for such service!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager ChateauGrandCastle, Generálny riaditeľ at Chateau Grand Castle
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Dear Mr Traveller8071, Thank you very much for your time reviewing our restaurant, it is much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that the experience you had at our place, was not one of the best one you have had as we pride ourselves in providing quality food and service at all times. You enjoyed the food and that is a great news for us and thank you kindy for appreciating our cuisine. After checking your other reviews, quite a few of them were average, below average and poor, most of them, in regards to the service you received, and that certainly doesn’t make you the easiest customer to please. We would like to apologise for everything that made you write such a review of our place, your concerns have been noted, investigated and death with, so thank you for that and for the future we will try to make sure that our customers will always feel great and have a memorable experience, that is what we are trying to achieve with all our guests equally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stefania Yates wrote a review Sep 2019
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We have chosen Grand Castle Liptovsky Hradok for our wedding ceremony. From day one Lenka and Zuzana were helpful and amazing to help us to make our dream wedding to come true. We booked all the rooms and grounds of castle from Saturday until Monday for us and our guests. We arrived on Saturday to check in and there was a sign on the door that grounds of castle are closed for our wedding. Happy days! However, there we lots of guests around which were not our guests. I thought okay let’s wait they will go soon. No, I was wrong. After probably 2 hours after we checked in just before our wedding guests arrived, I complained to Zuzana receptionist about why there are other people if we reserved and of course paid for the castle to be closed. At that time the owner Mrs MACHOVA came to me and went mad at me for asking why there are other people. She told me to mind my own business and not hers as the people who were there were her guests. Even all of them felt embarrassed for her and they told me politely they are going soon. I am not one of those fussy people, I have 10 years of hotel management experience and I would never treat my costumers like she did. Her behaviour shocked me. Once again, we paid quite lots of money to rent it all out for our guests only. There was no need to be rude from her side, she could easily politely explain, and I would understand. Thank god she left next day in the morning of our wedding and we had the best time. I am giving 2 stars poor rating only because of Mrs MACHOVA. As I mentioned above Lenka & Zuzana did such a great job, Dalibor bar manager & Martin head chef were superstars too. I did not catch other staff names, but everyone was faultless except the owner. Moving forward for anyone considering to book the castle as venue please make sure the owner is not around on the day of event because of her selfishness and luck of customer care.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary W wrote a review Aug 2019
Seattle, Washington, United States1 contribution
Beautiful grounds, luxurious rooms, delicious food, wonderful friendly staff. We felt completely pampered. The restoration of this castle by the owner has been quite remarkable- what a story!! You must make a visit here. Your memory of it will last forever!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cali_KM wrote a review Aug 2019
Bratislava24 contributions13 helpful votes
We always wanted to try the accommodation when passing by, and I am sure this was not the only time we have stayed there. The atmosphere is very nice and extraordinary, and the staff very kind and useful. The breakfast is basic, but fresh. Coffee tasty. The whole chateau is furnished very nicely, which makes your stay extraordinary. Our room (blue room) was very big, which was very comfy. The bed was big but the mattresses too soft for us. Which might not be a problem for others, as a lot of people prefer soft beds. But you can see, that they think about every detail, even with the bed sheets. The wellness is a nice plus. It needs a little upgrade (as well as the bathroom in our room), but nothing serious. It is very comfy to spend the evening there after the whole day. And mostly it was empty so it was full luxury to have it only for you. The free castle tour for the accommodated guests was a nice gesture. We recommend it, because it is a special experience to stay there and we will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jakub W wrote a review Jan 2019
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions5 helpful votes
We had amazing New Year's stay in GrandCastle. Our apartment (no. 1) was spacious & tastefully decorated. The hotel building (17th century Manor House) and preserved 14th century castle give you unique opportunity to travel back in time. Although modern conveniences like sauna, decent size swimming pool, gym are also available. We had pleasure to meet the owner and we admire her passion to restore this place and bring it to its best - Grand Castle indeed. We also want to praise the hotel staff (reception, restaurant) - they are nice and helpful people! The New Year dinner atmosphere was wonderful & fireworks display was 1st class. The location is pretty good too - short drive away from Jasna ski resort or Besenova geothermal pools.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No. 1 (Magdalena Zai apartment) is the most spacious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Monika M wrote a review Jun 2018
Bratislava7 contributions
+1
It was amazing stay in GRANDCASTLE LIPTOVSKY HRADOK. We could see almost all castle, it was very good feeling to sleep in castle. Dinner at castle was very delicious and tasty. Wellness at castle is a great way for relaxing and resting, there is a pool, hot tube and sauna. The staff at the castle work at professional level. Accomodation was very nice, spacy and clean. The stay at the castle we will recommend to our friends. I am sure I want stay again at this amazing castle. thanks a lot for a great weekend at the castle :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adrian V wrote a review Jun 2018
Cluj-Napoca, Romania36 contributions6 helpful votes
I must say, it has been one of the most impressive hotel stays ever. It all feels surreal and from another age, but also with the luxury of having all the new age gadgets at your fingers. Stayed there for a couple of times and had lunch several times at the terrace. I enjoy going fly fishing on the river Bela, just in front of the castle. It's one of the best places in Europe for trout and grayling fishing. I can definitely say it's the most beautiful river I've ever fished on. And you can have the view of it from your own room. The Hotel is located in an old, medieval Castle and the services are 5 star ! Would definitely recommend as the only place to stay when in Liptovsky Hradok if you consider yourself a bit spoiled.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mispi wrote a review May 2018
Zilina, Slovakia461 contributions127 helpful votes
The stay at this property is more visit of friend´s house than a ordinary hotel´s stay, You can move almost in all castle spaces, everywhere you can find something new, interesting or little bit strange. Every room is different, furnished with original historic pieces of furniture, sometime pretty much unpractical, but pretty much lovely. All stay breathes history, it is something different from normal hotel stay. Yes, there some imperfections, but spirit of the ages of this living building brings to you different feeling from this relaxing stay. Dagmar Machova - the owner of the castle made and continuously makes great job to preserve this castle to next generations
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$153 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Castle
LOCATION
SlovakiaZilina RegionLiptovsky Hradok
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU GRAND CASTLE - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Liptovsky Hradok, Slovakia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Grand Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Grand Castle?
Nearby attractions include Stanisovska Jaskyna (4.0 km), Mini Slovensko (4.5 km), and Basement under Tower (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Grand Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau Grand Castle?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Grand Castle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Grand Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Grand Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include LH Point - Restaurant, Hotel Strachanovka Restaurant, and caffé EXCLUSIVE.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau Grand Castle?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Chateau Grand Castle?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau Grand Castle offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau Grand Castle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Slovak.