We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Serena Rd, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100 Kenya
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (745)
Pool & Beach (175)
Room & Suite (111)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 14/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Updated 14/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Shanzu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Business
763Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 455
  • 208
  • 62
  • 25
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Simeon Kisaka wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
Jahazi restaurant at Serena Beach Resort& Spa is one of its kind. I ate sea food at this restaurant during a trip at Serena Beach Resort& Spa. I must admit that I had an amazing experience; one that I would never forget. I would recommend it to any traveler who wants to have a sea food experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Alphaxad Chege, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Dear Simeon We are glad you enjoyed the food at Jahazi Grill our seafood restaurant and that it was such an unforgettable experience. You can also post your review directly on The Jahazi on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards
Read more
Chege T wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
An Amazing Holiday. This is a great facility. Nice food. They have wonderdul and professional staff led by GM Chege... I recommend the facility to anybody who wants to relax and enjoy a good holiday. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Muhoro, Owner at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Dear Cheget2020 Greetings and glad to you had an amazing holiday. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and was glad to enroll you to the Serena Prestige Club. Looking forward to many more visits. With Warm regards Alphaxad C. Mwangi
Read more
James C wrote a review Sep 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Serena -- we loved its older style of architecture and the relaxed spirit of the place. the staff was excellent and provided top notch service with a wonderful spirit of hospitality. The food was excellent -- particularly at the Jahazi Grill with its world class seafood menu. The Spa was also wonderful, with a particular shout out to Judy the massage therapist. We particularly enjoyed being on the north coast, away from the busier and more touristy Diani Beach area south of Mombasa.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Wilfred Shirima, Owner at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 24 Sep 2021
Dear James We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay at Serna Beach Resort & Spa. Yes, the Hotel design is inpired by Swahili/Arabic design borrowing from the rich history of coastal people. We are also pleased to not that our staff offered wonderful and friendly services and the food was great. We will pass your regards to all the staff who made your stay most enjoyable as we look forward to hosting you once again. With Regards Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
Excursion799952 wrote a review Aug 2021
Lavington, Kenya3 contributions
Maisha Spa! Really enjoyed the steam/sauna! Best 60 minutes Swedish Massage ever from the lovely Judith! What a way to come out of such a gruelling two years! Extremely grateful... looking forward to a long stay soon with friends !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Mombasa Serena, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thanks for for visiting Maisha Spa. We are glad you enjoyed the treatments with Judith. We indeed look forward to hosting you for a longer stay soon. With warm regards Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
Kampala, Uganda409 contributions112 helpful votes
Mombasa Serena Resort is everything I wanted it to be: a wide expanse of white sand, friendly courteous staff, some unusual activities and fantastic food (of course). My Mombasa trip was my first international trip for two years. I cannot think of a better way to come out of lockdown! (I wasn't very organised, had not even thought about the transfer from the airport but the hotel staff were very quick to make arrangements for me). The Zanzibar Suite was amazing! I loved the bold colourful interior, the day bed and the hot walk-in shower. The Wi-Fi was good enough to catch up on some Zoom meetings. The entertainment system worked okay so some days, we just enjoyed room service. One of the highlights of our four night stay was dinner by the beach at the Jahazi (Seafood) Grill. NOT TO BE MISSED! The atmosphere was chilled and the food was sensational. I lost count of the number of courses we ate! My friend loved the steak (and the burger). He's a bit of a foodie and quite particular but he actually singled out both of those for praise. Some wildlife highlights were watching newly-hatched Green Turtles rush down to the ocean! What an unexpected joy. I also toured the small Butterfly Garden on the last day of my trip. This was a lovely experience run by a gentlemen who is clearly passionate about these beautiful creatures. All these activities were complimentary. Unfortunately I wasn't able to have a steam (closed for COVID reasons) which was a real shame because the spa looks beautiful. One area of the spa has a yoga area, surrounded by soothing running water. I did enjoy a good massage though. My friend used the gym a few times but neither of us used the pool. I can't believe I didn't swim now, when I look back at the gorgeous photos. The Swahili-themed architecture made for interesting walks around the resort's compound. On day one, I took the complimentary architectural and cultural tour, led by a member of staff decked out in cultural attire. I'm glad I did this at the start of my trip because it meant that the design themes of the resort resonated more with me. (I have done a similar tour at the Nairobi Serena Hotel and it is superb). Serena Hotel takes their COVID responsibilities very seriously. At reception, your passports will be 'zapped' to kill the virus before being handed back to you; when you eat buffet in the restaurant, you are asked to put a disposable glove before picking up the shared serving spoons. (I know it's well-intentioned but I do hate all this extra waste). Overall, this was a great trip. There were few international guests, but Kenyans from Nairobi and beyond are making the most of the downturn in international tourism to travel more. Well done to everyone at the Serena; I hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mombasa Serena, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Dear Charlie Wow what a lovely review. We are soo glad that you had a fantastic stay and that our team went all the way to ensure you were comfortable. We are always committed to turning stays into memorable occasions. My team and I are looking forward to hosting you again soon. With warm regards from Mombasa Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$174 - US$304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
serena beach hotel shanzu, serena beach hotel and spa, hotel serena beach
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceMombasaShanzu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
166
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Haller Park (5.8 km), Bamburi Beach (5.2 km), and Nguuni Nature Sanctuary (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafesserie Mombasa, Yul's Restaurant, and Pavilions Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Serena Beach Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Serena Beach Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Serena Beach Resort & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Shanzu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Serena Beach Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.