We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carter's Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carter\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Carter's Lodge
 Click to rate
Hudson Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed a couple days of rest and relaxation after a very busy 2 weeks. We enjoyed staying here with the garden and pool. It is very close to restaurants and 2 malls in case you need more to do. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 711pamv
LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad we were able to help you relax and trust that the rest of your journey and plans were good and came to fruition. Kindest regards Carol

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good location - convenient for King Shaka airport and Durban - just off M4 highway. Well appointed rooms, good hospitality and good breakfast. Restful little pool and garden, A little morning traffic noise but not enough to be irritating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank readyyselon
LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Carol

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My husband and I spent 10 nights at Carters Lodge arriving late December. This was our 4th stay here and we cannot praise the service provided by Carol and her staff highly enough. This time we stayed in room 4 and we found it to be ideal in every way. Breakfasts are fresh and plentiful, there is a good buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshine8763
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We visited while on part of our honeymoon in November, we found it an ideal place to base ourselves while in the Durban area. We were close enough to the city to make it quick and easy to get into, but far enough outside as not to be noisy etc, it's also ideal for the beach, Umhalanga and for shoppers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1987AC
LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Durban and surrounds. We will look forward to welcoming you back... Kind regards Carol Carter's Lodge

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Caters Lodge offers good value for money with clean facilities and a good breakfast Service is friendly and efficient. Parking a bit of a problem. Location is not good for holiday makers ..directly across a shopping mall in a main road and far from beaches, but for business trips this will not be a problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerhard_vanblerk
LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Carter's Lodge and glad that you do find us good value or money, clean and friendly and enjoyed our breakfast. Yes, sometimes people with big vehicles do find parking a bit of a problem, but that is why I did say that as you had a large vehicle you could park in...

Burgersfort, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Some of the staff members are not welcoming, racists, unfriendly and did not value us. The breakfast is too little or limited, not classy and very poor. The aircön was poor and not gud enough. One of the ladies was so bad, with bad attitude to such an extent that I regretted my stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 932luckym
LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. You did speak to me before you left and mentioned that you felt Meisie had not been respectful to you. I was surprised that you only told me when you were leaving as you had stayed for 7 nights and I was even more surprised that you said it was Meisie, as she has been...

Villeurbanne, France
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Carter's Lodge is a lovely B&B in a real nice safety neighborhood . I had a cosy room, breakfasts was very good, and Carol is really kind, helpful and advised me about what I could see in Durban and Umhlanga. I had a very good time there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annabelleb439
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 26 November 2016

This was like home from home where nothing was ever too much. Carol's omelette's are clearly something to behold. Carters ideally situated across the road from la Lucia Mall. Would most definitely stay there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I2195VXmichaelb
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Lovely place, great friendly staff, easy location only snag is swimming pool is a plunge pool not what it looks like in the pictures, but otherwise we had a lovely stay. Carol the owner was helpful and sweet - we would definitely go back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y9393SKpauls
Carol C, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry if you were misled by our photos of our pool - I took them myself, and I'm not a great photographer, but hate to mislead anyone. Yes, the pool is small with a waterfall/rock feature, aimed at just to cool off and give a bit of tranquility...

Underberg
Reviewed 12 October 2016

A huge thanks to Carol and your very kind, helpful staff for a truly relaxing stay at Carters Lodge. Your breakfasts were delicious and such a treat!!! As for our room....everything you could ask for. Very convenient location for us, with La Lucia Mall a stones through away. We miss our mini 'holiday' away and will definitely be back next...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 220jaynep
Carol C, Owner at Carter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jayne and Lucy. I am glad you found it relaxing and enjoyed your stay - just a shame about the weather. We look forward to welcoming you back.... Regards Carol

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La-Lucia
3.8 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
959 reviews
3.8 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,657 reviews
3.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
339 reviews
2.3 km away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
193 reviews
1.1 km away
Forest Manor Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently situated in La Lucia in KwaZulu Natal, the 4-star Carter's Lodge offers affordable, but up market and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation just 800 metres from the beach and minutes away from all the major attractions and amenities of Durban and Umhlanga. When you step out of the car, the quiet surroundings of Carter's Lodge cocoon you into a relaxed, pleasant state, and the hearty welcome from owner Carol Carter and her staff make you feel right at home.All rooms have a private entrance leading from the lush garden and have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, TV with satellite and DVD, personal safe and tea & coffee facilities. There is secure on-site parking and free wifi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carter's Lodge

Address: 54 Armstrong Avenue, La-Lucia 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > La-Lucia
Price Range: €66 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carter's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carter's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quite, peaceful even although next to La Lucia Mall”
 of 5 bubbles snyderscynthia, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“all rooms face onto the garden and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles goldy61, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms that have a garden view and two others (from what I could see) that have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles Finn_SA, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are equally spacious with a great view of the pool and manicured garden. The only choice you have to make is shower or bathtub?!”
  • Well setup bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Coffee stand
  • Twins beds for the bathroom
 of 5 bubbles mziep, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Room 2 & 3 are joined by a door. You can hear TV, bathroom and even "bedroom" noises as the door does reverb it through. Choose Room 1, which is at the end of the building or the seaview room, which is more private.”
 of 5 bubbles VagabondFoodie, 2 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5