We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estrada da Lagoa Azul Sintra, Linho 2710-314 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View deal
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1167)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (92)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 11/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Penha Longa Resort
Updated 11/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


Travellers' Choice
Penha Longa Resort is a fine retreat located in the Natural Park of Sintra-Cascais, just 20 minutes outside of the historic city of Lisbon, and a few minutes from the beaches of Cascais and the romantic Sintra, which results in the perfect location when exploring the area. The resort´s natural beauty, a plethora of outdoor activities, and the special programs available make the Resort one of Europe's most attractive for luxury family holidays; a place where quality time can be enjoyed together. Being the only resort in Portugal with three restaurants awarded with a Michelin Star, the property stands out by its highly innovative and emotional gastronomic journey, welcoming our guests to enjoy signature culinary experiences at one of our nine restaurants. Ranked within the top 100 Courses in Europe, the 27-hole Golf Course designed by the famed Robert Trent Jones, Jr. offers the ultimate escape and a soothing journey through one of Portugal's most inspiring landscapes. Aiming for a memorable wellness indulgence, guests will find in our SPA an oasis of tranquility and well-being where they can pamper themselves with a full range of signature treatments and a unique meditation labyrinth experience.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!


Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Estrada da Lagoa Azul Sintra, Linho 2710-314 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Lisboa Airport23 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1786Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,306
  • 294
  • 117
  • 46
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Curiosity174756 wrote a review 18 Sep
1 contribution
Really loved the setting of this hotel, that is the main attraction. But with a few improvements the place would be amazing. Positives - setting and scenic views - good food especially spices restaurant - relaxing and quiet - nice overall atmosphere Negatives - rooms a little shabby (carpets etc) - cleaning service of rooms a bit lacking including not topping up things like shampoo and coffee (do not expect to call room service for these on a daily basis) - drinks very expensive and pool bar food expensive - if staying here you need a taxi/hire car to get into closest towns Probably would return as the negatives are cosmetic things that the hotel could improve. General service is good although some service around pool/breakfast area was a little slow. Overall great hotel though
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
paula c wrote a review 16 Sep
Atlanta, Georgia718 contributions299 helpful votes
This is a truly Awesome resort within a wonderful setting. As to be expected the service is world class and the rooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the amenities and the breakfast was great. We had dinner at the resort and it was great too. Overall a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Ann D wrote a review 14 Sep
1 contribution
We stayed 9 nights late august in this hotel expecting a relaxing and 5 star vacation in a junior suite ad 500 euro \ night. What a disappointment this became. Firstly I have to admit that the setting of the hotel is beautiful, that most restaurants are very good and that some part of the large staff is able to deliver a 5 stare service. But sadly enough a even large part of the same staff didn’t had a clue, Is unacceptable : for example - room isn.t clean enough. Stains on the carpet. The windows and balconies were a discrace. They were cleaned after we complained about it - no daily supply of amenities and nespresso pads or coffee cups. We had to ring for them every time. - we asked for extra hangers . After two hours, I rang again because they forgot _ turn down service shows up too early and isn,t seen again - the white sunbeds are extremely dirty so we needed two towels to cover them. Each time we had to plead to get 2 towels (normally towels are brought by the poolboy - here you have to get them yourself and even bring them back yourself . ! ) - the poolboys are just hanging around the pool and don,t deliver any service at all - roomservice is a joke. We asked for an extra chair but it never came. For the delivery of 2 soup s and a bottle of water , the waiter had to come 3 times because he had forgotten something. - when you arrive you get a welcome drink while you are standing at the reception desk to check in. Not at all relaxing - the food and the vibe in “the Italian restaurant” is awful. - breakfast is a zoo; extremely noisy and crowdy with children running around like it is a playing area. The serving staff at the buffet doesn’t, speak any English what makes it hard if you want to order something.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Response from Susana Mata, Other at Penha Longa Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear S1863YTannd, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Penha Longa Resort. We understand from your comments that your experience was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. Kind Regards Quality Team
Read more
x229 wrote a review 12 Sep
london, england144 contributions144 helpful votes
This is a luxury hotel close to Lisbon, Estoril and Cascais. The rooms are substantial, with large, comfortable beds and luxury bathrooms. The air con is efficient and very quiet. The staff are super helpful (telling you what can be done, rather than what cannot be done) - and the breakfast is fantastic; one of the best anywhere. And the grounds are vast, with several walking / running trails. The hotel has several restaurants for dinner - but these are all a bit pricey. Some nights we took an Uber to Lisbon, Estoril and Cascais. In terms of "could do better" - the golf and tennis resources are under-utilised and under-developed. No courses or clinics, etc. All in all, a pleasure to stay here. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Sisi T wrote a review 12 Sep
6 contributions
Booked a 5 star junior suite, and expected 👌 top 5 star treatment. But unfortunately they were late preparing our room by an hour. And didn't inform us when it's ready. No apology. Then the room was dusty, no teacups for tea, only one toothbrush for a room for at least 2 people. The wall plug was almost coming off. I had to say, it's a little bit shabby for 5 stars. You can see from the photo, the glass where they put cups are covered in dust. They really need to up the game on cleaning 😒 For over 500 euros a night you expect more
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Susana Mata, Other at Penha Longa Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 970sisit We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience. Cleanliness is a key priority for our hotel and I am very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service. I hope you’ll consider us next time your travels bring you back to Sintra. Yours Sincerely Quality Team
Read more
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLinho
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Penha Longa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Penha Longa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cinema City Beloura (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Penha Longa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Penha Longa Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Penha Longa Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Penha Longa Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penha Longa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arola, LAB by Sergi Arola, and Spices.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Penha Longa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Penha Longa Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Penha Longa Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Penha Longa Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Penha Longa Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.