We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Playa Roca Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Penitas
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Playa Roca Beach Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Playa Roca Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Good food, cold beer, good waves, good people to talk with. This was my 4th time staying at Playa Roca in the last 5 years. It seems to continue to be the most popular spot on the beach for locals and visitors alike. They had the only reliable high speed WiFi I found in the area. I was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zorgnak
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

I'm really struggling to find all of the problems people have stated. Stayed for 5 nights in a private room and really enjoyed it. Perfect location, food was within price range of all other neighboring locations, and our room was spotless upon arrival. Didn't see dorm conditions but I really have a hard time believing that some people just love...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank serena k
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Too expensive for what they over, dirty rooms with unfriendly ants, unfriendly stuff, the food is way too expensive, a lot of drunk people, no kitchen for the guests, only one shower for all the rooms, bad and loud music all day and night long. The beer is cold and okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredi F
playarocahotel, Manager at Playa Roca Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Too expensive for what they over----That a mater of opinion. dirty rooms with unfriendly ants, unfriendly stuff---We don't suffer ants and our staff is friendly and happy here. Our rooms are cleaned daily by full time cleaning staff. the food is way too expensive---It's competitive, good portions and delirious. a lot of drunk people ----We don't serve drunk people and...

Comox Valley, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Great location but the owner is very shady. After talking with guest from there thankfully we saved ourselves a lot of trouble. You go on holidays to enjoy not get frustrated. We were actually there for the Super Bowl and donated a lot of money to the two pools they were running. In the end only 50% of the squares...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wkuech
playarocahotel, Manager at Playa Roca Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you had an unpleasant experience with the one day a year Super Bowl pool. Playa Roca does not set up the pool, set the rules or payoffs. That day was extremely busy and the owner did not feel it appropriate to have a public confrontation. This review certainly does not reflect the beauty of the location or the quality...

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Playa Roca could be so great. It´s right on a beautiful beach, with amazing sunsets and an outdoor bar-restaurant for spending time out of the sun. The rooms are basic but would do. But it is just really badly run. I´m not picky, but the rooms were genuinely dirty with gross grunge in the corners of the shower stall. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wix
playarocahotel, Manager at Playa Roca Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Within the last year Playa Roca has added new beds, new bed linens & towels, newly painted rooms, new AC units, improvements to the infrastructure including better wifi & electrical service, and even new beach Ranchos. Rooms are inspected and fully cleaned after each guest and the hotel has a comprehensive maintenance schedule. Staff is continually trained to provide a...

Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

We booked a double room with shared bathroom for two nights. The room was basic, but we don't mind that. What bothered us were dirty sheets and room. We had to share the one and only toilet not just with other hotel guests but with all the people that go to the beach. Obviously it was very dirty. It also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simona D
playarocahotel, Owner at Playa Roca Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Besides the dorm, the private room with "shared bath" is the most inexpensive because you "share" a bath. We have NEVER only had one toilet for our guests wanting to share to save money, we have 3 rooms that share bath and have one large shower room and two toilets in their own private roomed stalls. One sink for 3...

Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We booked this hostel for the end of our trip in Nicaragua, three days to have some rest chilling in front of the Pacific. Unfortunately the experience is so bad. The staff is unfriendly, they all seem to be pissed when you ask to take a shower (just one shared by many rooms) cause this unique dirty shower is closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Having only had food at this place I can say it was a nice experience. The food you order is brought right to you as you're chilling by the beach. Free WiFi, lovely smoothies and fantastic scenery. I would recommend it if you'd like to spend a day at Playa roca.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria F
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We didn't plan out our trip ahead of time and picked Playa Roca on the fly. Lesson learned - do some research! We knew we were going to arrive later, so we called to make sure the restaurant would still be open. We were assured it would be (and even arrived earlier than expected). We were the only ones in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77ljb
San Jose, California
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This is our second time here. First was in 2010. And we loved it both times. The only thing really different is stronger WiFi - yeah! Otherwise, hospitality is the best. Food is good and the sunset views, simply spectacular. A great place to come and hang your hat for a few days, catch some waves or relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Penitas hotels
0.0 km away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#1 of 11 in Las Penitas
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#2 of 11 in Las Penitas
54 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lazy Turtle
The Lazy Turtle
#3 of 10 in Las Penitas
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#1 of 10 in Las Penitas
75 reviews
0.0 km away
Bombora Hotelito y Restaurante - La Cueva del Tigre
0.0 km away
Hotelito Dulce Mareas
Hotelito Dulce Mareas
#6 of 10 in Las Penitas
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront Hotel, restaurant, sports bar. Ocean comes right up to the property line! Volcanic Rock formation makes it unique for surfers and swimmers alike as it creates a bay like situation. Wi-Fi, sports bar, international calling, wildlife and fishing tours with excursions to Leon and volcanoes onsite. Onsite Language school, learn Spanish or English. Small to large meetings and parties space available. Sunset dining a must, bonfires too! New shuttle service to Leon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Playa Roca Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Playa Roca, Las Penitas 91701, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Price Range: €23 - €52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Playa Roca Beach Hotel Nicaragua/Las Penitas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Playa Roca Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to find a better place to stay, but if you can't than this will do.”
10ivyl, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They have some rooms with AC that are a little pricier but sometimes worth getting away from the heat for a good sleep.”
, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the south side. Some have A/C”
kevinmD1300WP, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get the one with the sea view if you can. Nice beach noise from the waves and wind”
michaelmS7451DG, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get one with A/C....I've stayed in the front rooms in both the north and south wing.”
zorgnak, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5