We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp

  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp
 Click to rate
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location and facilities are excellent but the road noise from where we were on a powered site was bad enough to keep us awake from 3am. We would have been better off going for a non powered site in a lovely field near to the beach, well away from the road. Worth staying but pitch well away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Hi Patrick Thanks for the review. We don't get many complaints about the traffic , in fact some of our most regular clients book those very same sites year after year but thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Andrea and i have been camping here for our annual holidays for 28 years now . Both our kids (now 20 and 18) look forward to, and still love coming to Tirohanga beach camp. Robert and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The grounds and facilities are always tidy and clean. There is always a great friendly, relaxing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merlin W
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Merlin for the reiew

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always a great holiday when we visit tirohanga! Beautiful beach, friendly people and the best playground for kids! We always feel at home and it's so comfortable. We even enjoy winter trips. The camp offers so much and we can't wait for our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tayla S
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Tayla! We look forward to seeing you again

Barcelona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in a 4 bedded cabin the night before cycling the Motu Trail which was a perfect spot. The cabin was basic but spotless with a double bed with sheets, duvet pillow and bunks. There was a griddle, basic cooking utensils and crockery and cutlery. It was everything we needed for an early getaway in the morning. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jandalz3
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Glad you had a great time

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really glad we went, fantastic camp. Pool great, playground great, facilities great, staff great, beach great, fish & chips great & lots of great trees for shade, really clean and tidy and dogs were kept in separate area and you didnt even notice them. . Shop next door really well stocked and made big ice creams.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kermit798
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for the Review Kermit798. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful spot! We highly recommend the Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp to everyone! Beautiful beach, very family friendly, lovely amenities, we are looking forward to going back with the kids again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Kerri H ! We certainly look forwrd to seeing you again!

Rotorua, NZ
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We've just spent one of the best family camping holidays I can remember at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp. This year we stretched our stay to two weeks as the one week last year was way to short! This is a great campsite with everything you need for a family holiday, good kitchen and clean bathroom facilities, short walk across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuanNiewes
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We has great Family holiday at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp .We relaxed at camp went for swims at beach just relaxed and enjoyed the break. Great for us as down end of camp with portacom for Toilets and showers no ques great.Same when washing dishes no ques . Just a great place to go and relax or go Biking Fishing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tim2014ta
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Great to hear and we look forward to having you return!

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Awesome place to camp. Kids loved it and didn't want to leave. Awesome clean, safe facilities. Activities for the whole family with the park, swimming pool, games room on site and bike tracks and beach near by. Would recommend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheryllet
Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for that cheryllet! We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Campground is well equipped, and my kids loved all the facilities for them, pool, tramp, playground etc. Whilst the bathrooms are quite clean, I recon there is a need for extra showers as at peak times, there can be quite a queue. The beach, being exposed, is pretty rough at times, and without life guards, it pays to keep your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
Robert M, Manager at Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Peak times always place a high demand on the facilities and we are always looking to do what we can to accommodate all Campers. Some camps use a coin operated shower system to regulate the time in showers to avoid delays. We prefer to keep them free. We look forward to seeing you again !

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
31.0 km away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 13 in Whakatane
309 reviews
9.4 km away
Island View Holiday Park
16.5 km away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 km away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Opotiki
12 reviews
21.0 km away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
6.2 km away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#11 of 13 in Opotiki
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp is in an awesome location for your holiday, right next to a long sandy beach in the Bay of Plenty just 6 km east of Opotiki on the Pacific Coast Highway. This is an ideal destination for a relaxing, no-fuss holiday located right next to Motu Dunes Trail and a safe beach for swimming, fishing, diving or just fooling around with the family. Use it for a base to explore what the Coast has to offer. You have direct access to the beach and shady powered and non-powered sites. Don’t forget your bike and walking shoes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp

Address: SH 35, Tirohanga Beach, Opotiki 3092, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Price Range: €17 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in tents - lots of space for us and our vehicles. ”
 of 5 bubbles CEW2017, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take some foam squabs for the bunk beds in the cabins as the mattresses are a little solid.”
 of 5 bubbles Serenaplus2, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good selection of cabins, tent and caravan sites.”
 of 5 bubbles bronm771, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“The pet paddock is fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles HouseofJode, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“More tent pitch room on the sites without the conifer shelter belts”
 of 5 bubbles Blacksmoke05, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5