We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Low Urpeth Farm B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Low Urpeth Farm B&B
 Click to rate
Shiki, Japan
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Peter and Hilary welcomed us in the early evening with a cup of tea and an enjoyable chat. We had so much in common and we learnt so much about the local area. Encountering friendly people along the way really makes a trip and Peter and Hilary did this so easily. Sauntering through the wonderful English countryside was one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellingduoabroad
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We decided to have a few days away to visit some museums and locations we had not been to for a long time. We began with a visit to Beamish Museum. Low Urpeth Farm is minutes away. What a wonderful night, such a comfortable bed, beautiful room and handy en suite (no luxurious toiletries for us though ;-( Peter made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mawther
Cheshire, England
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I picked this B&B because of the Trip Advisor reviews though I did wonder if they were genuine because they seemed so gushing. Having stayed a night I realise they are genuine. This is what I look for in a place to stay: lovely room, good facilities, nice people, quality breakfast. Would recommend highly to anyone with similar priorities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinerunner
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2016

A warm welcoming home to return to after a day of touring about. Very comfortable room with fresh linen, large fluffy towels and lovely toiletries. Such a comfortable bed. Hilary and Peter are lovely hosts with a warm friendly way with people. Appreciated the farm location surrounded by grain paddocks rather than buildings. Plenty of secure parking. Loved the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marief630
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Booked 2 nights B&B and had a lovely surprise to be given Katie's Cottage (named after the family dog). The cottage has 1 double room with en suite and 1 twin room with en-suite. The kitchen has dishwasher, washing machine and great sized fridge-freezer, together with all crockery/ glass ware and every other kitchen utensil you could possibly need. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catherinehaigh2016
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

After a long day's drive, this was a perfect place to arrive. Wonderful location, easy to find, spotless bedroom, and a perfect hostess. The rooms were immaculate, bear in mind this is a very old house, so expect uneven floors and antique furniture, it's all part of the charm! Breakfast is also just what you'd expect, excellent ingredients, fresh local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2015

I stayed in the main house and my friends in the self catering annexe. I can't fault Low Urpeth Farm in any way. My bedroom was spotlessly clean, and so was the annexe. We cooked our own dinner in the annexe, which had a fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast in the morning can only be described as excellent. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T C
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 3 January 2015

The farmhouse at Low Urpeth is on a 500 acre farm, worked by the Johnson family for several centuries. It is beautifully situated; walking from the Ouston Roundabout towards the house, you are reminded of every children’s book you ever read that was set in the English countryside. There is a sitting-room for guests, in which we were welcomed with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan_Maxwell_z
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review

Susan, Many thanks for your lovely descriptive comments regarding your stay at Low Urpeth Farm. We are glad that you enjoyed the wonderful countryside and ambience at Low Urpeth. With best wishes and we hope to see you again soon. Peter and Hilary

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We wanted a nice self-catering cottage to be near to our Grandparents to spend Christmas time together. My fiance found a self-catering bungalow on Low Urpeth Farm which has B&B in addition to self catering bungalows- and what a find! An absolute treat which far surpassed what we'd imagined. Such loving details! There was a beautiful Christmas tree with twinkly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neda_Raleigh
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your stay at the Bungalow at Low Urpeth over Christmas. We love decorating the self catering cottages for our guests especially at Christmas. We are also pleased that you liked our new large fluffy bath towels - we like them too! We hope to see you again in the future. With...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Having holidayed at Low Urpeth before, in one of the self-catering cottages, we knew exactly where to stay for a short visit to the North East last month. This time, since it was only for a few days, the B&B rather than the self-catering option was more suitable. We weren't disappointed. Hilary and Peter run a lovely, welcoming service -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheGroke
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments about your stay at Low Urpeth. We were impressed with all your walking. We are pleased you appreciated the real coal fire when you returned from your walk and the bird table outside the dining room window with binocular and bird reference books. We look forward to welcoming you to Low Urpeth in the...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
5.2 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,924 reviews
3.3 km away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
140 reviews
0.0 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#6 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
10 reviews
4.8 km away
Lambton Arms
Lambton Arms
#7 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
83 reviews
7.1 km away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
North East Eng Tourism Award Best B&B Gold '12: Award winning Low Urpeth Farm is a family run B&B (4 Star Gold) on a working farm 3 miles from Beamish Museum & Durham County Cricket at Chester-le-Street, 20-25 mins from Durham City, Sunderland, 15-20 mins from Washington, Gateshead, Newcastle & Team Valley. Self Catering Cottages are also available. The stone Farmhouse B&B which dates back to 1898, is 4 Star Gold & has three large shower en-suite bedrooms (Double/Twin/King) with tea/coffee welcome tray, large luxury bath towels, including free WiFi internet access. A lounge is also available for guests. Sample the award winning Cracking Urpeth Breakfast served in the splendid traditional dining room overlooking the mature garden and fields. Choose from the superb choice "Cracking Urpeth Breakfast", Northumberland Sausages & Onion Marmalade, Poached Eggs or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs on muffins, a selection of fresh fruits, nuts/seeds and yoghurts. Vegetarian and other dietary options also catered for. Our breakfast, where possible, is fabulous locally sourced farm-assured, seasonal, organic and/or fair-trade produce mainly from County Durham, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear and our own brand HILARY'S HOMEMADE Wholemeal & Jams to name. Recent Awards: 2012 North East England Toursim Best B&B Gold. 2013/2009 TasteDurham: Highest Quality & Local Produce; 2011 Scores on the Doors (Food Hygiene) 5 out of 5; 2012 & 2011 North East England Tourism Taste Bronze; 2012/2010 Enjoy England Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Address: Low Urpeth Farm Near Beamish, Chester-le-Street DH2 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: €52 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Urpeth Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Low Urpeth Farm B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Low Urpeth Farm B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think any would be ok”
 of 5 bubbles Travellingduoabroad, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Highly recommend Katie's Cottage”
 of 5 bubbles catherinehaigh2016, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The room we stayed in with armchair and sofa was the Queen Anne room (I think!). It was a bit more spacious than the other available option.”
 of 5 bubbles TheGroke, 11 Dec 2014 | Read review
“A couple of the rooms, do have a "Double bed" which is nice for couples travelling.”
 of 5 bubbles H9103AMsharonw, 8 Aug 2014 | Read review
“all the rooms are wonderful. Just look away from Gateshead for the view!”
 of 5 bubbles richb349, 5 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5