We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Chester-Le-Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
 Click to rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

very clean bedding lovely shower and a really modern spacious room everything you need for tea and coffee . if its not there just ask, ie iron , hair dryer extra blankets etc . deffo go back again for a short stay . thank you.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simrig2015
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Reasonable value for money. We had to borrow a hair-dryer. The reception staff provided one immediately. Very convenient location with plenty of parking. We will stay there again as long as we have to visit Durham from time to time in the next couple of years.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paneur0pean
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a small travel lodge attached to a local restaurant so it had the feel of a small family run hotel, very comfortable would highly recommend. If you want to get the Newcastle nightlife this is not the location but if you are visiting on business its ideal.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewsO1534VL
NORTH ENGLAND
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A well run Travelodge. The rooms were comfortable with everything we required. Staff were helpful. Well situated outside of Chester le Street. Good parking and a nice restaurant attached. We booked 5 rooms while at the Great North Big Band Jazz Festival in Chester le Street. We will use it again next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABCNorthEngland
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last month and the staff couldn't do enough for us.They booked us a table at the restaurant,booked us taxis there and back and made our stay really special.We were a bit dubious about staying in a Travelodge but we will definitely be returning here - fabulous.Would just like to give a special mention to Kris and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank br00myh1
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A standard Travelodge with everything working the way it should. Very helpful reception staff. It is part of the Church Mouse pub and there is another pub and an Indian restaurant within fifty yards. Also, handy bus service to Durham and Newcastle very close by. The lack of signage and broken light make it impossible to find. Pull in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidbsmallwood
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

We're thankful to learn that our hotel team were helpful and friendly throughout your recent stay with us at our Chester-Le-Street Travelodge and we would like to thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you had a good stay and we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the hotel for you. We...

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked into this hotel by a friend. It was ideally placed for our trip, with bus stops nearby (frequent services to Durham and Newcastle). Very pleasant staff. Nice clean, modern rooms. 30 minutes free wi-fi (from the moment you connect for the next 30 minutes only) or £3 for 24 hours. The Chester Moor PH 200 yards away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flantheman2334
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience and that the location was ideal for your stay, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the noise you experienced from outside. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A clean budget hotel with a very nice restaurant, The Church Mouse, attached. Restaurant doesn't open until 11am so no cooked breakfast option. Pity. Wi-Fi problem as usual in hotels like this. You pay extra (why?) but connection is a bit hit and miss and restricted to 2 devices. Otherwise good value.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terry p
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good value accommodation. The room was extremely quiet, clean and warm, and the bed was very comfortable. The Travelodge does not provide drinks or food, apart from a cold breakfast pack, and although the Church Mouse restaurant next door provides very good food, it does not provide breakfasts. There's coffee and tea making stuff in the room. Plenty of car...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wifeandme
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

We are really pleased to hear that your experience with us in our Chester-Le-Street Travelodge hotel was positive. Please allow us to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We aim to provide our guests a comfortable and relaxing environment that is perfect for getting a great night’s sleep. That is why we're quite thrilled to hear that the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I work nights away from home and the staff completely ignored the 'Do Not disturb' sign. Very noisy chatting outside the door on a daily basis. Even after I complained to the reception team the noise carried on. Also the curtains were paper thin and didn't keep out the daylight

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 23mitch
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at all times so we are sorry to learn that you feel this was not the case on this occasion. Your comments will be passed on to our hotel colleagues to ensure that the correct level...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.8 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,958 reviews
0.0 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
314 reviews
6.4 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester-Le-Street

Address: Great North Road | Chester Moor, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England (Formerly Church Mouse Vintage Inn (Innkeeper's Lodge Durham North))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: €44 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester-Le-Street 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester-Le-Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street Hotel Chester-Le-Street
Church Mouse Vintage Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Chester-Le-Street staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Chester-Le-Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the back of the hotel may be a bit quieter than those facing the road, if it's summer and you want to have the window open.”
 of 5 bubbles nadinestahw, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quieter at the rear. Check details on family rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles campingisbetter, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At the back of the hotel on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles C3C4, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the hotel are probably quieter than those at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles gmking, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had ground floor and n problem with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 743jackm, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5