We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Tortuga Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Tortuga Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Tortuga Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Large group of us stayed in La Tortuga hostel for a few nights. Good value for money, even private rooms are not that expensive. The roof top bar with hammocks, great views and music is probably the highlight. The pool does need an occasional extra clean but it's very refreshing! We found the staff helpful, a couple are scuba diving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reeblou
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Somebody on the way recomend me the hostel. The place it's beatiful, all made with wood and palm. But not really comfortable. The room it's really hot and some days noisy because the bar it's upstairs. The place it's at 10-15 min walking from the center, that could be a problem at night, the streets are dark and alone, Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ospay
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I only stayed in this hostal for a night but I enjoyed it a lot. Nice kitchen, a pool and an amazing rooftop with a great view. There was a really good party, good music, even some live drums and a good vibe. Had some interesting conversation with other guests. If I go to Taganga again I return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and it was a great experience. Rooms are quiet and clean, and equipped with a fan (you'll need it). The rooftop bar is a nice place where to enjoy a nice view of Tatanga, have a good and cheap drink and socialize with other guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FollowTheTurtles
Reviewed 27 February 2016

I heard of this hostel from a friend in Panama, so I decided to check it out. I planned to stay 2 or 3 days, but ended up staying almost 3 weeks. Most of the people I met there were nice, the owner and the staff are amazing, there is a lovely rooftop bar, and a pool. What can I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronan G
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

4 of us stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Beds were nice. Bathroom was nice. Great rooftop bar. The place even has a pool. Need I say more? No I don't think so. Taganga is small so getting around from the hostel is pretty easy. The main strip of Taganga is no more than a couple of hundred metres away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eoin C
Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed 12 February 2016

well hostel looks fine from outset but pool is filthy, bathrooms don't have shower heads or if they do they fall off. worst of all the owner and staff are schemers and will try and charge you fro items which you didn't have or use... you have been warned.. oh and the only reason you may want to visit taganga...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mr n
Lucky_Mona, Propietario at La Tortuga Hostel, responded to this review

Hola Mr. N. Thanks for your "constructive" message. We are sorry if you had a bad stay with us. But need to ask you something: when were you staying here? if you did in january as you said, you should know that Me, Mónica, the owner wasn´t in taganga. Besides, when you make acusations like this at least should show...

Toronto
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The place is nice at first pass, but then you realize that the pool is pretty gross and tiny, the showerhead has been yanked off, the location isn't great, and that Taganga kinda sucks unless you're diving, or looking to score lots and lots of drugs. I did have a bad experience with them giving away my room. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reza E
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

I planned to spend a week in Taganga and when I checked in the Nirvana hostel I wanted to leave the same day because of the dirtiness and lack of atmosphere . Luckily I found the Tortuga hostel that completely changed my mood. It's the only Caribbean looking building in Taganga , made with local bamboo and palm roof ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Great hostel for Taganga. The hostel is partly made of bamboo and has various places to relax: hammocks, a pool and a rooftop bar with an amazing view over the bay. Staff was one of the best on our trip. Welcoming, helpful and always smiling. Rooms are basic, but clean. Mattresses should be replaced (they were a little bit shaggy)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joh4

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.9 km away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
167 reviews
33.9 km away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
500 reviews
0.6 km away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 69 in Taganga
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#21 of 69 in Taganga
88 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 69 in Taganga
177 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#4 of 69 in Taganga
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Price Range: €15 - €40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Tortuga Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from La Tortuga Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dormitory bads are dirty”
kanjaje, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the pool are quieter.”
Ade77, 28 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The private rooms were nice, but the dorm rooms are relaxed and i slept great every night.”
seanhC6041QF, 27 May 2014 | Read review
“Dorms may get dirty quickly because of all the traffic with muddy shoes”
exidez, 27 Dec 2013 | Read review
“you can stay in a dorm or in a private bedroom”
Ankiwoman, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5