We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Littledean at Deanswood

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Littledean at Deanswood
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Little Dean for a night as we were having an evening meal at River Cottage. Couldn't fault it, it was great, our own little private location quiet and perfect for our needs bed and fresh Breakfast basket, the bed was very comfortable, after a long drive we had a great nights sleep even through the rain storms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pagso100
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Had a very pleasant stay with a warm and welcoming from the owner Carrie. A very Clean and tidy 'Self Catering' bungalow with all the facilities you require. Welcoming breakfast basket a very nice touch for the first days, enough for two, which lasted two days. An excellent place to stay and relax. Plenty to do around the surrounding areas,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It says Bed & Breakfast at the top, it isn't. As stated by the last reviewer, there is a breakfast hamper provided for the first day. However; it is far from generous, not even a bottle of orange juice but that aside it is a lovely bungalow in a good location. It is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stina13
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Littledean. You are quite correct that the accommodation is self catering as shown when you booked it. I'm sorry that you did not find the breakfast basket quite as fulsome as you would have liked but it is self catering accommodation and the basket which comprises fresh home baked bread,eggs,milk,butter,preserves,muesli and other... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After reading the reviews on here (all bar the one talking about sharing this with others, which you don't) me and my partner decided this would be a nice independent retreat. Within an hour or 2 of booking, we received an email from the owner (Carrie) offering to make us bread as a welcome....Where else offers that kind of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank edmund_chas
Fergus, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived here on a miserable evening in March and were delighted to discover the amenities provided by this bed and breakfast. We enjoyed the spaciousness of this cottage, and after having spent several nights in regular bed and breakfast accommodation, it was nice to be able to sit in a comfortable chair to watch television! The breakfast basket was... More 

Helpful?
Thank liveandbreathe
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A clean and comfortable cottage in a great location. Friendly and helpful owner. Lots of nice touches in the accommodation - brochures, maps, information folder, umbrellas, washing machine, dishwasher. It was lovely to have a breakfast hamper provided for the first morning and after that it was self catering in the well equipped kitchen. We were lucky enough to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helene582
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the self catering cottage. I''m not sure you stayed in our self catering accommodation. If you book a1 bedroom cottage for 1 or more nights you will have the sole use of the lounge and fully fitted kitchen and obviously will not be sharing any facilities. If you book a 2 bedroom cottage for... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent a night here in December 2013 before heading to the River Cottage HQ. It was exactly what we needed. There was a friendly welcome right from the driveway and it seemed that the owners had tried hard to think of everything their guests might need (and succeeded!) Rooms were in a great, newly-built standalone bungalow, giving the guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank LoKo212
Philomena7
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was clean, modern, comfortable and importantly - warm! As a single traveller I wasn't entirely comfortable in staying in an annex with several rooms accessed from the central foyer area, though this may not worry other travellers. My welcome wasn't quite so warm unfortunately, being left to stand outside in the rain while the landlady was fetched, who... More 

Helpful?
Thank SouthcombeRaven
Carrie O, Owner at Littledean at Deanswood, responded to this review

Thank you got taking the time to leave a review. I am puzzled that you seem to have stayed last May when I think it is possible you stayed in November. I am sorry you did not like the separate accommodation which has just 2 bedrooms although you are right, in that many people do like being separate. You seem... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a delightful B&B this is. Extremely clean and well maintained with a very hospitable host. It was perfect having a separate purpose built cottage with our own entrance. Room had everything you'd need and a very comfy bed. Ensuite bathroom has a large shower. Nice lounge area to relax in as well. Delicious breakfast with local produce. Excellent value... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Cronulla, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked this B&B because it was close to River Cottage and we spent 3 nights here. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean, but we were a little surprised that it's a freestanding cottage and not part of the main building. Breakfast was very good but we had to go around the back of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen M

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axminster
0.0 km away
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
197 reviews
0.0 km away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
394 reviews
0.0 km away
Cranberries Hideaway
Cranberries Hideaway
#1 of 2 in Kilmington
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Wyke Farm Bed & Breakfast
Wyke Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Axminster
85 reviews
0.0 km away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
145 reviews
0.0 km away
Tytherleigh Arms
Tytherleigh Arms
#5 of 11 in Axminster
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deanswood is conveniently placed for visiting and exploring the stunning Jurassic coast. Lyme Regis and Charmouth are only a few minutes away and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ is just down the road (10 minutes by car). There are many lovely towns to visit in the area - Honiton, Exmouth, Sidmouth, Bridport, Chard, Axminster as well as the fascinating coastline. The property sits in Devon but has views over Dorset and Somerset so is well placed for touring. The stars above are sparkling as there is little light pollution here. Plenty of off road parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Littledean at Deanswood

Address: Blackpool Corner, Axminster EX13 5UJ, England (Formerly Deanswood Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster
Price Range: €98 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Littledean at Deanswood 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Littledean at Deanswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Littledean at Deanswood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth knowing that you will share the self catering facilities and the entrance/lounge area with anyone staying in the other bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Helene582, 8 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Only two to choose from. One seems smaller than the other.”
 of 5 bubbles RoshLondon, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Only 2,rooms both are just perfect...”
 of 5 bubbles 623tracyc, 12 Aug 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay