We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Save
Traveller (393)
Pool & Beach (41)
Room & Suite (40)
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scuba junkie”(240 reviews)
“dive sites”(51 reviews)
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (606)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
335
125
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
335
125
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba junkiedive sitesmabul beach resortair conturtle hatcherymarine conservationfishfun diveswell oiled machinebuffet styledeluxe roombig thanksvegetarian optionsgreen turtlesbunk bedsgreat divinglocal community
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

If you are a diver, don't look further. This resort is made for diving: very close to their jetty, rooms are comfortable. We did book VIP room (worth it). No Wifi in the room, but full 4G when buying local SIM card. Diving staff is...More

2  Thank Mirooke
Reviewed 11 August 2017

From the initial email many moons ago inquiring about booking with SJ right through to leaving Mabul Beach Resort (MBR), the whole process was a breeze thanks to the brilliant staff there! Thank you to Ash who dealt with our group of 3's booking process...More

1  Thank cthrnjayne
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Prime diving experience. Great family feel to the place. Everything is taken care of for you by really friendly people. A huge shoutout to our instructor, Greggor - cheers Coach! Apparently he is very undervalued ;) ! You won't find a better dive guide than...More

Thank OllieBeaumont
Reviewed 3 August 2017

first of all, it is a non-frill dive resort so please do not expect 5 stars amenities. You pay for what you get. In saying, the resort was very clean and well run. Every morning there was a staff member who swiped the resort to...More

Thank SnapperV
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Heading across to Mabul from Tawau airport was smooth. We did arrive a little late, for which they had to hold the boat for us, but in our defence we had to change money as it isn't really an option on Mabul. My advice would...More

3  Thank WestonTH
View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678999
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$45 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
US$45 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (393)
Pool & Beach (41)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (10)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
UngFoy
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from clarey87 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there. Go to Mabul yes, but if you did not pre-book your Sipadan permit it IS possible to still dive in Sipadan by getting a permit on the spot. Unfortunately, Scuba Junkie is not the best option to provide a Sipadan... More
0
Votes
1963WorldTraveler
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from A J | Reviewed this property |
I would highly recommend the air conditioning. It is much more manageable and comfortable after diving all day. You don't want your body to be stressed diving because you didn't sleep well -- if you're on the fence -- just... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Doorms are fine at the right side as you are away from the roosters from the vlilage"
Read review
"A friend complained of noise in the dorms, but we only stayed in a private room, which was definitely a good..."
Read review
"ensuite A/C room"
Read review
"air con rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing