We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Save
Share
Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com
US$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (90)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Hiking
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
707Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 460
  • 140
  • 63
  • 34
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jayne L wrote a review Apr 2021
Coggeshall, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We’ve been here twice since the recent changes to COVID restrictions and have thoroughly enjoyed our lunches. On both occasions the venue has been very busy and clearly popular. Firstly, congratulations to all involved in making the outdoor setup so welcoming and attractive. It all adds to the ambience and is much appreciated. On both occasions our food has been superb. A properly cooked Sunday lunch was very flavoursome and so well presented. Yesterday’s lunches hit the spot too and the smaller portion available for my choice was more than ample. The staff here are an example for other other venues to follow. Every one of them has been charming. Not the cheapest place around but thank heavens for that; evaluating the overall cost against the sum of everything on
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Angel82 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We recently moved to the area and were excited to eat at our local pub, it is always busy so had high expectations. We were extremely disappointed however and will be reluctant to return. We waited a long time to be served and the food was awful- even the chips were undercooked. We felt it was extremely expensive for both food and drinks and the prices certainly do not reflect the quality of the food we experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 26 Apr 2021
We are so sorry you were disappointed with your first visit to The Crown. We were absolutely delighted to be able to re-open when so many other pubs and restaurants do not have the necessary space, resources or impetus to offer this facility. It has been an enormous undertaking to set up all our outdoor spaces and we know from the volume of bookings just how excited our customers are to be back. Obviously the current set-up presents its own issues and I am very proud of the way that the floor and kitchen staff have risen to the challenge. These are difficult times for the industry and we are grateful for our customers’ continued support as we head into the summer. That said, we take all feedback very seriously and would hope you all visit us - or any one of our other Chestnut properties - again soon.
Read more
Ian G wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Lovely Sunday lunch, the sardines starter superb, roast beef excellent, great that you make your own horseradish but it needs more bite. The efforts to offer outdoor is excellent as was the weather for mid April.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 26 Apr 2021
So glad you enjoyed your visit and see you soon!
Read more
suffolkmilly14 wrote a review Apr 2021
Leavenheath, United Kingdom61 contributions27 helpful votes
We visited on Friday of the first week of opening. As all dining is outdoors all the indoor furniture has been moved outside and there is an additional tent. There doesn’t seem to be extra heaters so they are spread more thinly. Where you would always be near a heater there at now only 4 in the large marquee so a lot colder than last year. The food was disappointing. We enjoyed our starters of Asian tiger prawns and a crab dish but the portions were small. For mains we had salmon which was a decent portion but a very oily dish. Liver and bacon which was too small a portion with no vegetables and steak which looked small. Desert was a caramel rice pudding with banana which was cold and like school dinners, a chocolate delice, small and dry and a mini desert of doughnuts with
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
tony s wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions
My partner and I have been regular visitors to The Crown for 20+ years. We have always benchmarked other restaurants against TheCrown using the food, value for money and ambiance as the main criteria and The Crown has always come out on top. Four of us had lunch there on the first Friday since reopening. Despite the difficult circumstances that restaurants are having to operate in The Crown as always had created a lovely tented experience and there was a lovely ambience. However the food was not as good as one has come to expect. The corn and chorizo soup was bland and nothing special, the liver and bacon was okay but needed to be cut thicker and have a decent portion of veg and the large haddock has gradually been shrinking to a medium size fish! The hand cut fat chips have
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the crown stoke by nayland hotel stoke by nayland
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictStoke by Nayland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing