We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Luna International Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esteli
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Luna International Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Weipa, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice place to stay and the owner gives back to the community. It is not cheap in backpacker terms but not expensive either. There is at least one dorm but overall it is quiet and has a very relaxed, friendly vibe. The Hostel is staffed by local people and not backpackers which I think makes people more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul4874
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really lovely and safe hostel. The beds aren't the comfiest but the rooms are all very clean and they're made for you every day. Nice little couch area to hang out on and kitchen access which is perfect as the supermarket is just a 5 min walk down the street. It's $9 a night which isn't exactly budget but there's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
Reviewed 18 October 2016

It's a nice hostal with a good atmosphere. The people who work at the hostal try to give good service, always try to solve the problems you are confronted with and answer the questions you have. If they can't answer your question, sure Casa Verde, the agency across the intersection can. Hostal Luna is part of a social project who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanne V
New York
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This hostel is pretty lowkey, there were only two employees and I don't think it can hold more than 15 people. It wasn't very full when I was there. The lounge area was ugly when I was there because it was under renovation but I've seen photos and it looked nice. The staff is good at helping you find attactivities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley D
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend slept here for 3 nights. There is not really a 'cosy' atmosphere but you can watch TV (Olympic Games for instance ;)) and get free coffee on the cafe across the street. Moreover, I could really recommend the Treehuggers touristic office which has great tours. The non-profit organisation makes sure that the money will go the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This hostel has the potential to be great but unfortunately I was treated very bad. They said some mean things about my health that should not be repeated and told other guests not to talk with me. There was issues with flooding in the hostel that made it impossible to use the restrooms at times. Also, they put a barricade...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank forestbynum
cafeluzylunahotel, Manager at Luna International Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. However, we can find no record of these incidents, and it certainly is not in keeping with how all our team treat our guests. Our supervisor/management team is on site 7 days a week at least 8 hours a day and...

Winters, California
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Well run, but longed for more bathrooms. It's on a corner where cars beep to indicate they are proceeding through the intersection so ear plugs are essential. The provision for cooking and clothes washing was in use by many.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
cafeluzylunahotel, Manager at Luna International Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, and time taken in following us on TA. I’m glad you seemed to have a good stay in our hostel! Our central location, which is part of what attracts many of our guests, can mean extra street activity, and we sincerely apologize for the disturbance and hooting cars, and yes, we recommend earplugs too, even in...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 friends and had a 5 bed dorm to ourselves which was great. On the corner though so does get pretty noisy from the traffic and street noise. Friendly staff and connected to cafe Luz opposite where you get free coffee and tea plus yummy food on the menu which is reasonably priced. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaviniaHolloway
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

This hostel is really good. Well maintained, clean, and located right in the heart of Esteli. There is a fairly decent kitchen, a bit small but you just have to take turns. The hostel has a sister cafe across the street which allows you free tea or coffee all day if staying in Luna Hostel. Across the street is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany G
Canada
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Not far from centre, which is a bit of a trek from the highway where most busses stop. Room was fine--some guests were sharing a bed; double luggage meant there was a shortage of space between beds. Staff were polite. Toilets were plentiful enough. For free coffee/tea, you can go to the cafe across the street. This was slightly uncomfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esteli hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
140 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal El Meson
Hostal El Meson
#6 of 6 in Esteli
25 reviews
1.2 km away
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Hostel Sonati Esteli
#1 of 20 in Esteli
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Namaste Yoga Hostal
Namaste Yoga Hostal
#2 of 20 in Esteli
8 reviews
3.0 km away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera
0.7 km away
Friends and Family Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A central, hassle-free stay in the heart of Esteli with access to everything the region has to offer - and just a step away from our community-tourism office and the popular Cafe Luz restaurant and bar. We donate all our profits and resources to facilitate community-driven projects in rural and urban areas in northern Nicaragua: non-profit social enterprise creating social change. Reception Open 7am to 10pm | Access 24 hours |Wi-Fi | Laundry Service | Cable TV | Night guard on duty 10pm to 8am | English and Spanish spoken | Free organic coffee and tea | Purified water available | Fluffy towels available | Safe for valuables | Seating and hammock area | Attractive patio garden ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luna International Hostel

Address: Del Hotel Meson, 1 Cuadra al Este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Luna International Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“tif you want to sleep, stay in main hostel, not room adjacent to the cafe bar.”
 of 5 bubbles 10flags, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not get the dorm bed right next to the door - light will shine on your face in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahJYN, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose the dorm near the road; you here all the passerby's!”
 of 5 bubbles jackl475, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Think before you pay this much for a room.”
 of 5 bubbles DianaK265, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Only did a tour through this hostel so can't comment on the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles gbjan, 19 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5