We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

    24 King Street, Tharangambadi 609313, India
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$96
    View Deal
    Traveller (317)
    Room & Suite (78)
    Pool & Beach (39)
    Overview
    • Excellent39%
    • Very good48%
    • Average7%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible3%
    Travellers talk about
    “first floor” (35 reviews)
    “tamil nadu” (20 reviews)
    “danish fort” (43 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Concierge
    Pets Allowed
    Business Centre
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    Offers from Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
    Deals (2)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Heritage Romance
      US$96
      View Deal
    • Heritage Romance
      US$96
      View Deal
    • Heritage Romance
      US$96
      View Deal
    • Heritage Romance
      US$96
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 2
    Seagate Hotel
    275 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Velankanni
     
    Hotel Kanakabhishegam
    68 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Thirukadaiyur
     
    The Grand White Palace
    7 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Sirkazhi
     
    Seagate Church View Resorts
    157 reviews
    #2 of 9 hotels in Velankanni
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (232)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 200 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    Such an excellent property, and such a waste of service. We loved the property, and the stay would have been excellent if the service and food was good too. First let's talk a out food. The breakfast was average. Limited items, with just fruits, cereals,...More

    Thank Travelographer1
    Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the BeachResponded 5 days ago

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to receive your kind appreciation about the property. We are disappointed to note that your visit did not measure up to your expectations. We wish to apologise and to offer an explanation. We have...More

    Reviewed 30 April 2017

    This is a nicely restored British bungalow from the 19th century located right on the beach with a clear view of the fort. The upper floor has a verandah on all sides and the rooms are nice and spacious. The food is average and sometimes...More

    Thank anjanak
    Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the BeachResponded 4 May 2017

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to know that although you enjoyed some aspects, your visit did not measure up to your expectations. We are however pleased that you enjoyed the ambience of the property. We are glad to know...More

    Reviewed 13 April 2017

    A very remote off beat beach location location about 2 kms from Kariakal. Firstly its is a "Non Hotel" hotel (which sounds funny) as promoted by the hotel, its well said because its a completely ruined 18th Century Danish Governor's house done as if it...More

    Thank smartkev2003
    Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the BeachResponded 10 May 2017

    Dear Guest, We are delighted to read about your experience about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tamil Nadu. Located adjacent to The Bay of Bengal and overlooking the Dansborg Fort, Neemrana aims to offer guests a peek into the lifestyle of an...More

    Reviewed 12 April 2017

    If you are booking into this property, I suggest you get a first floor, sea facing room. We were in one such room. We were on a 9-day road trip around Tamil Nadu and were originally planned to stay for one night but we fell...More

    Thank upasana m
    Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the BeachResponded 10 May 2017

    Dear Guest, We are deeply grateful for your kind and encouraging feedback about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tamil Nadu! It is extremely rewarding when our guests appreciate our endeavour to infuse life and restore charm to a ruin and unused building...More

    Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

    Building looks very good from outside and pool was also nice.. view from the hotel is good overlooking the beach.. but service of the staffs and rooms are not good.. rooms are very old fashioned and need some improvement .. food is okay.. breakfast was...More

    Thank avyas919
    Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the BeachResponded 10 May 2017

    Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are sorry to know that although you enjoyed some aspects, your visit did not measure up to your expectation. Neemrana specializes in putting new life into an unused and neglected ruin. As part...More

    Seagate Hotel
    275 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Velankanni
     
    Hotel Kanakabhishegam
    68 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Thirukadaiyur
     
    The Grand White Palace
    7 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Sirkazhi
     
    Seagate Church View Resorts
    157 reviews
    #2 of 9 hotels in Velankanni
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Beachfront
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Concierge
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$94 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • India >
    • Tamil Nadu >
    • Nagapattinam District >
    • Tharangambadi
    • Also Known As
    • Bungalow On The Beach Hotel Tharangambadi ,
    • Hotel On The Beach
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (317)
    Room & Suite (78)
    Pool & Beach (39)
    Dining (14)
    Hotel & Grounds (210)
    Bathroom (4)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Seagate Church View Resorts
    157 reviews
    38.32 km away
     
    Hotel Kanakabhishegam
    68 reviews
    7.88 km away
     
    Seagate Hotel
    275 reviews
    38.30 km away
     
    The Grand White Palace
    7 reviews
    .00 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Amirtham
    11 reviews
    7.93 km away
    Manna restaurant
    9 reviews
    38.28 km away
    Hotel Seetharama Vilas
    11 reviews
    41.36 km away
    Krishna Bhavan
    15 reviews
    7.93 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Danish Fort
    107 reviews
    .13 km away
    Amirthakadeshwarar Temple
    36 reviews
    7.93 km away
    Saniswaran Temple
    59 reviews
    13.15 km away
    Swetharanyeswarar Temple
    41 reviews
    20.81 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Retirada
    28 December 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TheUntourists | Reviewed this property |
    You can rent the three ground floor rooms as well. We had.
    0
    Votes
    621nmb621
    4 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TheUntourists | Reviewed this property |
    The temple and the hotel almost share a boundary wall. That close.
    1
    Vote
    Ranjani A
    20 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from NeemranaHotels | Property representative |
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your message regarding The Bungalow on the Beach. Dogs and cats are allowed in the rooms on the ground floor that have access to the garden i.e. Oldenburg and Elephant. Please contact the... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Upstairs. At ground level you only see the ill maintained garden and a seawall"
    Read review
    "Ask for the first-floor rooms. Fantastic view and breeze."
    Read review
    "any sea facing OR Fort facing room will be a good option."
    Read review
    "First floor rooms give you a view of the sea"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing