We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kirkhouse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kirkhouse Inn
Kirkhouse Inn
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of Kirkhouse Inn
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped in for a light lunch before visiting the local distillery. All the dishes appeared to be microwaved. When I asked for a roll with my macaroni had to wait until pre-packed part baked roll was baked. Husbands baked potato with haggis was obviously microwaved and my macaroni was bland and served with some slightly cooked frozen peas on top....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch on 25th jan on way to loch Lomond the hotel drew us in as it looked inviting and also had had easy parking this is a lovely cosy restaurant with good food and pleasant efficient service from staff will definitely call in for lunch again when we travel to loch Lomond

 Report
Helpful?
Thank issy70
London, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Kirkhouse Inn after we had toured The Glengoyne Distillery which isn't far. The front desk staff were pleasant. We had prebooked our room online and we checked in without a hitch. We found the Inn to be delightful, from it's tartan decor in the lobby and rooms to it's creaky floors. Afterall, having been built in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caribbean_breezes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

we stayed and had a dinner over 2 nights just a new year. the food was excellent the service was spot on and the friendly staff were great. we will be back and recommended the kirkhouse to anybody looking for good food and a relaxing stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We celebrated my Mum and Dad's Diamond Anniversary with a family meal for 26 of us at the Kirkhouse Inn. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room we were given was lovely and the choice on the menu and the food was absolutely delicious. I couldn't recommend it more highly for such an occasion. Thank you to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moira R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Customer service nil, food nil (none served) no reason given other than it was available earlier but not now bizarrely (5.30pm) not coming back and don't recommend you visit anytime soon. Very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VivienneMac
Al_Ewart, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As stated on an earlier review at this very busy time of the year it is difficult to maintain fresh stock levels due to supplier holidays. We therefore had no alternative yesterday afternoon to take the decision to close the kitchen at 5pm yesterday due to the lack of choice for our menu. We therefore...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Had a bar lunch on 02/01/2017, long wait for food, table wasn't clean, not a big choice of food, portions small, although what I had was tasty. Also thought it was expensive. I appreciate the time of year but if a business is open then it should be properly stocked and staffed.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ktmking1
Al_Ewart, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the menu choice on your visit however at the Kirkhouse we only serve fresh produce and at the holiday time of the year it is very difficult to keep stock levels high with many of our local suppliers being on holiday. It is our policy not to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Always enjoy going to the Kirkhouse, a nice atmosphere. Enjoyed the Lasagne and Garlic bread - very tasty but was left still feeling peckish. Perhaps a few chips or salad garnish would have helped fill my rumbly tum.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Donnchadh M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Stopped for lunch recently after a visit to the village. I was a regular visitor years ago before the hotel changed hands. Sadly no atmosphere now and not very festive, given the time of year. The food was nice enough but the experience was spoiled by staff who were at best disinterested. Such a shame. Prior to posting I read...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kitty512013
Al_Ewart, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write your review and on a positive note we are glad you enjoyed your food. Your comments regarding the festive decorations do however baffle us, as there were decorations throughout including two Christmas Trees and several garland and light displays in all the public areas.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Enjoyable place for Sunday lunch. Plenty of parking, good choice off the menu, nice bar staff, fresh decor, v. pleased with the meal and would recommend. Choice of full dishes or light bites, tempting home baking too, baked potatoes, seafood, steaks and other options plus gluten free choices highlighted and vegetarian dishes too. Decent range of beers and spirits at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonelocal

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
26 Premier Room (20)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
Premier Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathblane
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
12.6 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.7 km away
The Killearn Hotel
The Killearn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Killearn
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Boclair House Hotel
Boclair House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bearsden
115 reviews
7.0 km away
Glazert Country House Hotel
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bearsden) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kirkhouse Inn is nestled at the foot of the Campsie Hills in the village of Strathblane. Only 8 miles from Glasgow and 4 miles from Milngalvie the Kirkhouse is ideally located for those wishing to explore the Trossachs, Loch Lomond and Glasgow. With a restaurant and Bar/Lounge catering throughout the day from breakfast and early morning coffee and cakes to sumptuous meals in the evening, the Inn caters for all tastes. There are 15 rooms to accommodate those wishing to stay and explore the local area or for those visiting businesses or friends/family nearby. Our rates are affordable and competitive. Should you wish further information please call or look us up on Facebook and Twitter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirkhouse Inn

Address: Glasgow Road, Strathblane G63 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Strathblane
Price Range: €111 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kirkhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkhouse Hotel Strathblane
Kirkhouse Hotel Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kirkhouse Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kirkhouse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a bit challenging when walking with a cane to get to your room but doable”
  • view from hotel grounds
 of 5 bubbles caribbean_breezes, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the bar end of the hotel, but to be fair they did stop the music at 11.00pm.”
 of 5 bubbles NickB971, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles 911RogerW, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some of my friends got rooms with a lot of noice so they couldnt sleep. So ask for that.”
 of 5 bubbles sonjadogs, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking campsie hills”
 of 5 bubbles happywandererDublin, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5