We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 826: English reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend and the food and the staff were lovely at the hotel, however the cleanliness lacked slightly in the hotel rooms and corridors. Breakfast was filling each morning but don't leave it until breakfast is nearly finished to go down otherwise things have sat for a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your reveiw

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a twin room for the May bank holiday weekend, for a leisure trip. The room was cramped, overlooking the roof over the kitchen. Airconditioning unit over the kitchen droned on till after 10pm and started again at about 6am. There was a strange smell in the bathroom - a combination of drains and swimming pool chlorine, as far...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ruari M
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady called Jodie at reception when we arrived and she provided excellent service. The evening meal was quite an experience, the staff seemed rather unsure of what they were doing and there were a few mistakes when ordering our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJS2602
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your reveiw please accept my apologies regarding the poor staff attitude, not the usual comments we receive on the team which is disapointing and not accepted ! the individual has been spoken to. Kind regards Jeff

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just back from 3 nights in the Woodhey. We have stayed many times before but this time Stayed on an all inclusive deal. The staff are very helpful especially the restaurant staff Ken and his wife on morning duty. Room was large and clean with a good bathroom , comfortable large bed. Food was good in the evening, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter W
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Jeff

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly the hotel it's self isn't too bad however I booked this hotel as part of my fiancées birthday presents because of the promise on the website of leisure facilities .. What leisure facilities ? The website says they have a spa pool which they don't and the steam room is tiny with broken seats .. The pool itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lmw04
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a two night all inclusive stay at a bargain price. The hotel is admittedly not very attractive from outside, but our room (221) was quite spacious, clean and comfortable and all staff were friendly and efficient. The evening meal which was included in the price was excellent and the portions generous and well presented on both evenings. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lesleygriff
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the team. Jeff

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Recently spent 2 very enjoyable nights here. As a wheelchair user it is not always easy to get a decent room. This was the exception. The room was spacious with a walk in shower with no step ......good. A couple of moans though. No toiletries in the bathroom, a distinct lack of loo roll and no biscuits with the coffee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 83ann88
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw and your kind words about the team and dinner, please accpet my apologies regarding the lack of tea and coffee in your room this is not our usual standard, I have made the housekeeping team aware. I hope to welcome you back in the future Kind Regrds Jeff

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here Easter wkend, never would stay here again. Rooms that we booked we didnt get and was left with the standard room due to they could not find our booking. Lucky for us we brought all booking papers with us. Rooms were filthy , stains on walls and rolls of dust on the skirting but bedding was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy L
Carlisle, Cumbria
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before a wedding recently. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff who gave a lovely first impression. Our room was a superior room, modern and very comfortable. Shower was pretty hopeless, but that's the only downfall. We had a less than impressive time trying to order and then eat the food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathandpete
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your reveiw, we look forward to welcoming you back at the weekend Kind regards Jeff

St Albans
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here 3 nights this week, the first room I stayed in was very smelly with drains, I arrived so late that I just slept and changed rooms the next day the staff I complained to were Matte and Doreen and they could not have been more apologetic or helpful. The health club is a little dated and parts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicks_gal
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about the team, it really means a lot to us all. Please accpet my apologies referance your room move and the lack of porrideg on day 1, I am delighted the team made amends. Hope to welcome you back soon. Jeff

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.8 km away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
367 reviews
8.2 km away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
406 reviews
1.6 km away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
267 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Price Range: €61 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only went for a group Christmas meal”
 of 5 bubbles MarcelaB784, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay more than one night.”
 of 5 bubbles 884alana, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at back, ones at teh front you can hear the road. But it is not busy late at night”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 239 at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles peterwQ3793FL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was spacious and clean”
 of 5 bubbles CraftyCol_7, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5