We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 830: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From arrival the reception staff at the Woodhey House were extremely welcoming and speedily checked us in. This, what appeared to be recently refurbished hotel has great facilities with leisure club with swimming pool and free wifi in every room. The rooms were impeccably clean and very spacious, easily meeting the high standards of many other much more expensive hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, well spotted we have been busy with the restaurant having new chairs and being painted as well as the bar and also the reception area I am pleased you liked it.

Stockport, England.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A tired hotel that thinks its something better. Room wasn't clean with dust in the corners that had clearly been there for a long time. Crumbs on the floor and just really average. Certainly not worth the £100 for room only. Breakfast was £13 each, yep £13 .. hence having breakfast elsewhere. Much prefer Premier Inn where breakfast is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philodge
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and please accept my apologies for the noisy group

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly reception staff and restaurant staff attentive. We had a lovely breakfast but a disappointing evening meal. The menu needs uplifting to make dining an experience. Food is mediocre. Pool facilities are adequate. Our room was very shabby but as the reception area was being painted hopefully this will be addressed. An average hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juiceyjuju
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner booked this hotel for £90 as we were visiting old university friends in Liverpool. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and checked in fine with no issues. Our room (206) was clean but seriously needs updating which wasn't a major issue for us but we both needed showers before meeting our friends. Like previous complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmrigg2
Port Douglas, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and all in all had a wonderful time. The place is a little dated and defiantly in need of a revamp (the only thing preventing me giving 5☆) but it was clean and the staff were very friendly. Food was lovely although we didn't stay for lunch on either day, but breakfast and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank njcsmith
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words we look forward to welcoming you back

MANCHESTER
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We specifically choose this place for its leisure facilities. However our short break ended very badly when on our last day we were unable to use them. As the pool is used for swimming lessons on a Saturday morning it is only available for use from 7am to 8.30am. In order not to miss out we arrived at the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CATH24601
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Under staffed at key times in the restaurant. Spa changing rooms and pool area to due with an update. Room was ok again bathroom could due with updating. Room was large enough for a seating area unfortunately only I chair. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly unfortunately the hotel let this stay down

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review we have now added more chairs to many of the bedrooms and have refurbished the public areas, leisure will also be getting refurbished in the near furture

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

My hubby and I have come for a two niight break a gift from our daughter ! We did struggle finding the hotel due to the sat nav taking us the wrong way lol on arriving there's a huge free car park and lone lady parking ! The staff in reception were lovley and very friendly so was the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel was a bit on the old side needed a bit of paint, but the staff were lovely, very helpful, the service in the restraint for evening meal and breakfast was amazing, the 2 oriental girls were fantastic very polite and helpful, it was a bit out of the way but there was a train station very near, I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judecarter71
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, next time you come you will see the difference we have been busy with the paint !!

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Can't say I am I impressed with this hotel. It is looking very run down and in need of a serious makeover. Paint on the walls in my room was beginning to fall off in places. However, the bed was comfortable and I could not fault the staff who were very friendly, polite and helpful. Sauna was nice, steam room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
0.9 km away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
374 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
8.1 km away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
415 reviews
13.5 km away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.9 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Price Range: €64 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only went for a group Christmas meal”
MarcelaB784, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay more than one night.”
884alana, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at back, ones at teh front you can hear the road. But it is not busy late at night”
, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 239 at all costs.”
peterwQ3793FL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was spacious and clean”
CraftyCol_7, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5