We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highgate House Hotel

Agoda.comUS$116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Highgate House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 666: English reviews
Start your review of Highgate House Hotel
 Click to rate
Horsham
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel. My husband upgraded room for an extra ten pounds per night and it was worth it. Super king bed, lovely roomy room and lovely bathroom with powerful showers. Clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Buffet type breakfast but eggs cooked to order. Overall a lovely two night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
london
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just returned from a friends hen weekend that I organised at Highgate. From the first conversation Karen was fantastic in organising all the details for the weekend . Nothing was too much trouble . The day itself was wonderful we had afternoon tea in a private room where we ate our body weight in cake 😆 we also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astonsmummy
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear astonsmummy, Thankyou for choosing Highgate House as the venue for your friend's Hen Weekend.I am so glad you enjoyed the whole event and you felt well-looked- after throughout your stay.It looks like you certainly had enough to eat ! I do hope you will return next year,as indicated,we look forward to welcoming you back! Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with family for a special Birthday celebration on a Sunday afternoon. We all ate from the 3 course carvery menu. Food was lovely, roast potatoes on the carvery were fantastic. Dessert was lovely. Plus it was really great value for money for such nice food. Great service too in a lovely setting. Will definitely be visiting again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linzi D
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linzi D, Thankyou for letting us know how much you and your family enjoyed your carvery lunch on Sunday whilst cellebrating a special birthday.I do hope,as indicated, that you will visit again soon, Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back from a really amazing time at Highgate House - there for my hen party - about 18 of us - all over 40 so not tooo rowdy a bunch! We had the most fabulous afternoon tea I have ever had and they set us up in a room on our own which was FAB. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie c
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear debbie c, It looks like you really did have a wonderful weekend.Thankyou so much for letting us know and so quickly after your stay too ! Raj and his team will be thrilled to have been mentioned,I will ensure they are all aware of your great feedback.I do hope you will return very soon and, in the meantime, I...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this hotel due to the beautiful historic home. On arrival you drive passed the house and arrive at an ugly 1970's premier Inn. I was told that I had no access to the main house - which was the whole point on coming. On arrival I went to my room 143 basically in a car park behind a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spenser2175
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spenser 2175, Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you suffered whilst staying here.Please be assured we will learn from your feedback, Yours Sincerely,Paul Williams,General Manager.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is beautiful, we were placed in the main house. Staff impeccable,friendly and helpful. Location is picturesque, shame we couldn't go on a walk as it was raining. Swimming pool a minute walk away from main house and gym and sauna were good too. Would definitely recommend and I look forward to visiting again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank achlak
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear achlak, Thankyou for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us.I hope you will return very soon and we will do our best to provide better weather next time ! Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm always honest with reviews and rarely write a bad one.But so upset by recent events that felt it essential. We were getting married here in February.Rooms arranged viewed them and all sorted.Honeymoon and registra booked and about to pay deposit.Then told we couldn't have the rooms as someone else had booked one of them.This turned out to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, I am sorry we could not accommodate your wedding at Highgate House I do hope that you will have a great day wherever you choose and that you wil not suffer too much inconvenience in finding a venue that meets all your requirements, Yours Sincerely,Paul Williams,General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for an evening event with my company. It seemed very nice. The rooms were spread in different buildings which I found to be novel. It was a new experience to be given a map when checking into your room. They did have umbrellas though in case of rain which certainly came in useful as it started sleeting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt D, Thankyou for your review regarding your recent stay with us whilst attending an evening event with your company.Please accept my apologies fro the discovery you made in you wardrobe,I can assure you this is taken very seriously and is certainly not indicative of the overall standards of cleanliness we strive for and usually achieve. I do hope...

Godstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was mall, en suite smallest, basin not adequate, shower too small to swing a cat, generally clean but overall hotel looks, feels shabby, yes it is old and loved much of it. Food was really good, breakfast really good and loved the inclusinve coffee/tea,biscuits,fruit arould the complex. LOVEly touch. It is really a complex for seminars and meeting also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony D, Thankyou for your detailed review regarding your stay with us on a Red letter Day.It looks like that,overall, you enjoyed yourselves and would consider staying with us again.I certainly hope this will be the case, Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a two night stay. Great hotel. Lovely staff. Great food. Nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was well equipped and comfortable. Would definitely recommend. Definitely need a car as in the middle of nowhere, having said that there was beautiful countryside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, Your kind words regarding your two night's stay here are really appreciated and will be shared with the team who looked after you.It certainly helps that we are in the middle of some beautiful countryside,I hope you found time to explore the area whilst here.If you didn't this will provide a great excuse to return very soon...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
40.1 km away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
358 reviews
20.7 km away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
17.0 km away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
641 reviews
9.3 km away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
459 reviews
17.4 km away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Price Range: €91 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highgate House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Highgate House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth the extra ten pound upgrade. They are ex bridle rooms.”
KimW42, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in old building may be best”
anthonydO7636BF, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to have a room in the main block”
luvportugal_j, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the main building are lovely.”
vbaldwin2017, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have a room in the main building”
985ashleyp, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$116* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$116
Booking.comUS$116
Priceline
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates