We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smithaleigh

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Smithaleigh is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred meters from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Public Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Exeter Airport56 km
St Mawgan Airport72 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
65
58
49
21
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
65
58
49
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new carpet full english lovely weekend plenty of parking bed was very comfortable wedding devon ensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We booked The Smithaleigh via telephone for accommodation while attending a wedding. All seemed fine and friendly while booking and I dutifully received the terms and conditions via email and provided payment details. On receiving the terms I noted they had omitted my baby daughter...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank happy_holibops
Response from Donna A, Manager at The SmithaleighResponded 17 September 2018

The 'lady' in question attempted to shoehorn a family of 6 into a 2 bed apartment that is designed to sleep a maximum of 4 adults. The exact layout of the apartment was discussed over the phone prior to us sending formal confirmation. The actual...More

Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very basic motel style B and B.(Breakfast only dining)Hotel in transition but room dated and noisy.Beds uncomfortable Not good value for money.Room although was clean and staff friendly.Would not revisit.

Date of stay: September 2018
3  Thank jgbswiss65
Response from Donna A, Manager at The SmithaleighResponded 20 September 2018

As it took nearly 3 days for housekeeping to remove the malodorous smell left by your dogs, we certainly would not want you to revisit.

Reviewed 23 August 2018

Good location (just off the main road) and a friendly welcome. Also appreciated the book swap shelf! Otherwise nice but not brilliant. However, it was cheaper than other places in the area so we felt that the room was good enough value for money. Unfortunately,...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Jolene_Retallick
Response from Donna A, Manager at The SmithaleighResponded 17 September 2018

Hi, Thank you for comments which are quite fair on the whole. However, I'd just like to clarify that our £6 continental breakfast consists of: unlimited tea/coffee, toast & preserves, yogurts, cereal and fruit.

Reviewed 15 August 2018

This was the first time I have stayed at The Smithaleigh and it was only for one night on business. My first impressions were good, an older building that had been modernised with plenty of parking. I did not get to the premises till about...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank jgrahamm56
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The out side looks ok. When you go under the entrance it goes down hill building rubble. I had a downstairs room. Which fit some reason really smelled, not sure if it was damp or just old. The whole feel of the room was tired...More

Date of stay: August 2018
3  Thank 275darrenf
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fatwelshman1
6 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kevin C | Reviewed this property |
Sorry can not help we would never stay again it was a dump when we stayed it needs a big upgrade Hope your wife is all better now
0
Votes
jalota71
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Donna A | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Our cancellation policy . Winter season We have a 48 hr policy whereby if you cancel prior to 48 hours before your booking date you will not be charged . However if you cancel within the 48... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ground floor if possible"
M4606EOpeterh
30 Jul 2017
Read review
"Room 27 perfect for families and quiet."
meastersam
22 Feb 2017
Read review
"Go to a different hotel"
kevinc728
14 Jan 2017
Read review
"Find out if there is a function during the evening and where is your room situated."
ctmoloney
3 Oct 2016
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPlymouthPlympton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing