We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smithaleigh

Save
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (6)
Ratings and reviews
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“new carpet”(3 reviews)
“full english”(10 reviews)
“lovely weekend”(3 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
The Smithaleigh is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred meters from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Smithaleigh, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5AX, England
55.9 km to Exeter Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
65
57
48
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
65
57
48
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew carpetfull englishlovely weekendplenty of parkingbed was very comfortabledevonensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I rang to make a reservation in October 2017 for a 2 night stay at the Smithaleigh in July 2018 as we were advised hotels in the area become pricier nearer the time and I needed a double room for a two night stay for...More

3  Thank hefinaceri
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with 2 other friends . We booked the newly renovated self catering apartment . The accommodation itself was faultless : modern , spotlessly clean, spacious , well equipped , comfortable beds and sofas , ample parking and well situated . On...More

Thank didi0875
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Stayed at The Smithaleigh for the weekend while attending a function in the area. Thought the two bedroomed apartment was lovely and excellent for young family with a child. Beautifully decorated and warm on a very cold weekend. Had everything we needed and would happily...More

3  Thank Jill F
Response from Donna A, Owner at The SmithaleighResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to know all our hard work in refurbishing our accommodation is paying off. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Alison

Reviewed 21 October 2017

Time has forgotten this place which is a shame. It seems to be run by just a few folks on a shoestring and as the guy said, it just doesn't pay as a hotel - so they run it as a B&B. The room was...More

Thank UttoxeterPedro
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I am afraid our overnight stay was very disappointing. The farmhouse annexe we were directed to seemed to be situated on a building site in progress, scaffolding and a pile of rotten wood outside our room. Our room 24 shabby and smelt very stale. Adequate...More

Thank BarbaraMuir2017
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fatwelshman1
6 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kevinc728 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry can not help we would never stay again it was a dump when we stayed it needs a big upgrade Hope your wife is all better now
0
Votes
jalota71
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Donna A | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Our cancellation policy . Winter season We have a 48 hr policy whereby if you cancel prior to 48 hours before your booking date you will not be charged . However if you cancel within the 48... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ground floor if possible"
Read review
"Room 27 perfect for families and quiet."
Read review
"Go to a different hotel"
Read review
"Find out if there is a function during the evening and where is your room situated."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing