We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan

Booking.comUS$96*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
US$96*
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Stayed Easter Sunday night b&b. Bar staff (Jack & another young man) were excellent, friendly & attentive and we happily stayed till last orders! Apparently chef & 2 sous chef had walked out so the two of them were doing best they could under the circumstances. We didn't eat in evening so can't comment on food but breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane P
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you found Jack and the team friendly and attentive, your kind words will be shared with them. We are currently giving our rooms the attention they deserve and will even be spending a bit of money on them to spruce them up, so watch this space! Antony

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Some of the worse food I have had for a long time, and we were not the only people complaining. Very limited menu but thought we would be ok with pub classics, but no. There are far better places to eat in the area, never again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben B
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to The Swan, I can assure you that your review will be shared with the kitchen team to ensure that all dishes served are to our usual high standard. Clare

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

A nice pub/hotel 15 minutes away from Stansted, ideal if you need to catch an early flight the next morning. However you'd have to drive through country side small roads. Cosy rooms but the kitchen closes at 10pm, and if you leave before 6.15 the hotel does not always provide breakfast (you need to ask for a plate to take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HappyMurray
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the tips for our future guests, we can offer some pastries and fruit to take away if you have to leave early, just ask the night before and we can arrange for you. Clare

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 March 2016

In this case I am a business traveler on company's expenses but for personal reasons I chose to stay in the only hotel in Thaxted. The accommodation was very basic and poorly laid out. You could not open the doors of the (very dated) wardrobe because the bed was in the way. There was only one plug in the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 1Slim_Shady1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am currently dealing with The Swans reviews and feedback and would like to discuss this further with you. May I ask that you email me with your contact details at 7766@greeneking.co.uk. Regards Catherine Davy

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Just returned from a two night stay at The Swan, we had a room on the fist floor which was clean and tidy, quite basic but we not expecting the Savoy. The staff were all very polite and helpful, nothing too much trouble, we ate both nights here and enjoyed our meals, which were hot and very enjoyable and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank knocker2016
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and would stay again! Your kind words will be shared with the team. Clare

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Popped in for Sunday lunch 14/2/16 whilst walking the dog. Great place, excellent food, good beer and good service. Food was served hot and promptly considering it was Valentines. Staff were friendly and polite and the bonus is dogs are allowed in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stars-Of-CCTV
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable lunch with us and found the service to be prompt and friendly. I do hope you will visit again soon. Clare

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

the whole place needed a female cleaner to bottom it out, the carpet edges had not been hoovered, single glazed windows require the condensation to be cleaned or it is black the hot water supply failed several times, the toilet flush was largely ineffective, the hot tap wouldnt turn off and the water in the shower tray didnt drain away,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tdh146
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you experienced some issues during your stay at The Swan, I can assure you that everything you have mentioned will be addressed and rectified where possible. Regards Clare

Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Very nice friendly man behind reception and waitress in morning for breakfast, food was average but what's average to me could be good or bad to anyone else. Nice cosy room and very good for the price paid .. Will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FergusthePiper
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be friendly. We are equally as pleased that you will definitely be back! We look forward to it. Rob and the team

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

If you are looking for a nice dog-friendly place for some food and drink then look no further. We took our boxer puppy there whilst we were passing through and had a very nice dinner and evening. The staff made a fuss of the dog and even gave him a bowl of water before anything else! With a roaring open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheDeAngelisFamily
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful that you and your four-legged friend had a pleasant visit to The Swan, and you got to experience the friendly locals! We do hope you will visit again soon. Rob and the team

HERTS
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Can't really fault the place for value - only paid £40 for the night which included breakfast - unfortunately we didn't make it down in time but was assured by friends that it was fine & plentiful. Although we were late we were still offered which was great service. Check in was easy, cab numbers given, bed was comfy, room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SHARONH8367
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that The Swan offered just what you needed for a nights stay, we hope to see you again soon. Rob and the team

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
9.9 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
250 reviews
15.8 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
10.5 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
135 reviews
16.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
361 reviews
8.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan
The Swan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Price Range: €79 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“never stayed”
SueGandi, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front have the best view of the Church and Alms houses.”
12Sarah5967, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the front have a nicer view of the church”
AnonymousEssex, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms good”
suzanned137, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“15 to 18 are in a separate block and a little noisy”
849JimO, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$96* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$96
Hotwire.comUS$96
Expedia.comUS$96
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates