We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Northey

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Northey
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 225: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was rebooked into this as their sister hotel had a burst pipe, that's not to say I wouldn't have chosen it but it was slightly further from the M4 than I would have liked The room was really nice, and the bathroom huge, unfortunately though the sound proofing was sadly lacking so every time a lorry passed during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian912
OHHCo, Owner at The Northey, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, and we are glad you enjoyed your room. Unfortunately we are situated on a main A road, we have installed double glazing as sound proof and we rarely get any negative feedback. Our menu has an array of freshly cooked dishes, so I'm surprised that you mention the menu of having limited...

Poole in Dorset
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over for one night as we were visiting Bath the next day, booked this place after reading the good reviews and we were not disappointed with the room or the location. There are a few things that might annoy some, like the train noises and the noise from the pub/restaurant downstairs, but if you are booking this kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poole_Travellers
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Having stayed many times in the Bath area, we have decided that the London Road area to the North East of the city is a great place to stay - Box in particular is a favourite. Good pubs and a great curry house (The Bengal Bear) and only a 10 minute drive into the top end of the city (Charlotte...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank prlights
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Booked the northey via my iPhone on Saturday night. Good mobile site easily navigable and sorted the booking with ease. Great service and truly good tasting beef roast dinner followed by a brownie sundae. What an absolute treat would recommend strongly to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robinson R
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Lovely surprise of a place: excellent food, friendly bar and a bathroom in Room 2 that I'd be very happy to have at home. Not a single misstep, I highly recommend the place... and next time we're over, we'll likely chase down some of their other pubs: looks like a fairly small chain in the southwest of England.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBing
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We went only to the restaurant not to stay. The first time my friend had a coupon of some sort and our expectations were not high. We had a great meal. We liked it so much that we returned for a Sunday lunch and it is the best Sunday lunch I have ever had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 873elizabeth
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Room was in good order, bathroom excellent but the room was small and a little cramped. Staff were pleasant and helpful and the restaurant was very good. It's a pity that it's located so close to the main road but would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey Warren B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Having styed at this hotel numerous times in the past a few years ago, me and my partner were so excited to return to bath and have a night at what we remebered was a beautiful, cosy hotel. How wrong we were!! We arrived and were shown to our room which was in a new out building which was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katy012013
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I booked this pub for my parents' 50th anniversary - a family meal and a room for mum and dad. Food was outstanding and room fabulous - no complaints at all. However the organisation and staffing needs real attention as they were understaffed and unable to give us service that matched the quality of the food. Prices are high and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonrG2507EX
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very comfortable bed and spacious room and excellent luxury bathroom. Road a bit noisy. Cleaning wasn't immaculate. Dental floss and cotton bud found on the floor in the bathroom and rogue hair in the shower. Felt more staff would have helped. Staff pleasant nevertheless. Evening meal was very good.Good value for money. Would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skater788

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
4.7 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
552 reviews
5.9 km away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
304 reviews
4.3 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
942 reviews
5.0 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The former Box Station Hotel owes its architecture to Brunel. Head Chef Chris Alderson has created a classic menu using seasonal produce. Fresh fish is delivered to from Cornwall, along with locally sourced beef. Those staying the night will be royally spoilt as slick bedrooms sport pieces of one-off furniture and sculpture - and beds super comfortable with dazzling white linen and thick mattresses. One room has a decked balcony, all have coffee-machines, and slate stone bathrooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Northey

Address: Bath Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Price Range: €109 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northey 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Northey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Northey staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Northey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Review based on room 6”
 of 5 bubbles prlights, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Well, if the bathrooms are all like Room 2 then you'll be fine. Room 2 does face the main road...”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieBing, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go in the annex bit as I'm sure the rooms in the main building are nicer!”
 of 5 bubbles N4473RBsarahw, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a main road so best choose towards the back - we only ate there though”
 of 5 bubbles GorfBathUK, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room No 1 and it has a lovely big balcony area as well as being extremely spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles GLOBETROTTERSANDBACH, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay