We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The George and Dragon

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The George and Dragon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a really friendly B & B that is superbly situated in the middle of Dent. Our room was very comfortable and warm with all the usual facilities. The food is excellent - full English breakfasts and all the usual cereal's and we had evening meal twice. The portions and quality is excellent. There is a lovely atmosphere within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in a couple of times during a short trip there. The first night there seemed overkill with approx. 4 staff and no customers. The second night we returned intending to eat there. After arriving and being stood at bar for five minutes, eventually someone came in and served us. We didn't feel very welcomed and almost a hindrance as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emloulid
Newcastle
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Really nice place. We were a party of 6 plus a todler and were warmly welcomed and offered a high chair. The pub was fairly busy but the service was good and the staff friendly. We all had food which was very nice and served in good time. Husband really enjoyed the selection of local real ales!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeordieNat
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Its a pub with rooms, and I stayed there earlier this month (drop down option below doesn't give November as an option) with 3 other mates, cost £80 each for two nights B&B. Couldn't fault the rooms for the money, and the breakfasts were superb. We all had loads of the Aviator beer so it must have been good. Ate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter S
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The pub is at the centre of this attractive little village with its cobbled streets and is easily found. Arrived after a long walk from Ingleton over Whernside on a hot day. I received a friendly welcome at the bar and enjoyed a pint of tap water (!) while chatting to other visitors to the area - a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
Ian M, Manager at The George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed here whilst on Dales Way walk. We were met by disinterested staff member - but he did improve as he was informed that we were staying the night! Evening meal and breakfasts were good. However, the bedrooms and corridors had pervading "doggy" smell - reason for low rating. Good beer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikebryn
Ian M, Manager at The George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. Sorry to hear that you found our member of bar staff disinterested, I can assure you this isn't the norm. Again sorry the smell in the corridors, this was as a result of turning a number of heaters back on in the corridors. Thank you for comments regarding your meals and I'll pass on the...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Booked a table for evening meal, on arrival we noticed that non of the tables were set the young man behind the bar said they did not bother because it wasn't busy. We were given a menu then told a few of the meals were not available. I had the pea and ham soup which was disappointing because it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GBDN2
Ian M, Manager at The George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that your table wasn't set up. Even if we think it won't be too busy, we normally set a table up for booked tables regardless. I'm also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the soup. Thank you for your positive words regarding the service and the Cumberland sausage. Our sausage and...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We had a very good meal with friends in a warm and friendly atmosphere. The Dent brewery is in the village and the aviator beer was excellent. The men both had their home made steak and Dent Ale pie which was delicious. My friend and I had the pan fried chicken breast which was beautifully presented and tasted very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
Ian M, Manager at The George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review It is always nice to hear postive reviews regarding the friendliness of our waitresses and I will pass that on. I will also tell Keith (our head brewer) that you enjoyed the Aviator We hope to see you again in the near future

Bucks
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This hotel/pub is just yards from the Dales Way trail. We had one Saturday night there and it was very busy. Dent is a charming little village set in beautiful surroundings and the George and Dragon is very central. There was noise from locals outside until 1 am but perhaps because we were there on a Sat night. Good pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chriswBucks
Ian M, Manager at The George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, firstly I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food at dinner and breakfast. I'd also like to apologise if the noise from the bar kept you awake. We try very hard to strike a balance between drinkers and residents. We describe ourselves as a pub with rooms, we try as hard as possible to...

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The location of this un pretentious pub could not be better. The staff here were very welcoming and helpful. The food was just what was needed after a whole day walking. The room was large and well serviced, clean and had good wi fi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatthewHelbert
Ian M, Manager at The George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review I'm delighted to hear your comments regarding our staff We look forward to meeting you again in the near future

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
17.9 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
363 reviews
7.7 km away
The Head at Middleton
The Head at Middleton
#1 of 1 in Middleton
91 reviews
6.6 km away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
415 reviews
32.6 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,159 reviews
10.9 km away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George and Dragon, Dent, is a rural pub, with 10 en-suite bedrooms. We offer a range of beers for our local Dent Brewery alongside nitro-keg and bottled lagers, ciders and bitters Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and just within the border of Cumbria, we are a great base for walking. We offer food daily (noon-2pm and 6pm-8:30pm) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Address: Main Street, Dent LA10 5QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dent
Hotel Class:4 star — The George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George and Dragon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the top floor with excellent views over the hills.”
 of 5 bubbles richardhZ5245GU, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a bath, ask for one because not all the rooms have them.”
 of 5 bubbles IvanE_11, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay on this occasion so unable to rate rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 953andreah, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“phone to order table so not disappointed , or just have a few beers and sure they would accommodate a table for food at some point”
 of 5 bubbles foreveryoung27, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The website tells you if dogs are allowed or not.”
 of 5 bubbles EBradshaw, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay