We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Jubilee Dr Walton, Wellesbourne CV35 9HG England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Mercure
US$87
View deal
Expedia.com
US$87
View deal
Destinia.com
US$82
View deal
Booking.comUS$87
PricelineUS$87
TraveluroUS$89
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1735)
Room & Suite (433)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Walton Hall Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 149 standard and 37 premium rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Polish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
3697Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,299
  • 1,084
  • 646
  • 353
  • 315
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gillyNewportGwent wrote a review 22 May
newport gwent24 contributions13 helpful votes
Recently held our first conference event for 3 years due to Covid-19! Communication with the events team was good beforehand with Jordan and then Rhiannon always available to answer queries. Throughout the weekend there was over 100 people staying but the hotel coped well with restaurant bookings for the Friday night, breakfast Saturday and Sunday. Our Gala dinner on the Saturday evening also ran smoothly. A special mention must go to Sharon who worked tirelessly from 7am on the Saturday morning of our event day along with her team and was still available at 1.30 the following morning when I went to bed. No request was too much trouble and this without a doubt contributed to the success of our event. The DJ kept everyone on the dance floor right through until 1am which I think is testament to how much everyone was enjoying themselves. It really was wonderful to be able to join together, celebrate what should have been 40 years of our association but is now 42 years without all the restrictions that have dominated our lives for the last two years. Yes the hotel is tired in places and probably could do with a makeover in certain areas but the beautiful location, stunning buildings and the friendly staff make up for this. So on behalf of the committee of the Association of Orthopaedic Practitioners a heartfelt thankyou to all involved in helping to make our event a success, Gill Watkins AOP Secretary.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Honest wrote a review 21 May
15 contributions3 helpful votes
What can I say the grounds are amazing - my dog absolutely loved it !! Yes the hotel is tired, but the service from staff and is amazing - nothing to much trouble and the food was amazing. The rooms are super clean, just what you want !! I would definitely recommend and we’ll certainly be returning ! Thank you Walton Hall
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Make sure you take a dip in the pool and walk round the lake and find the Swan with her signets
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Brian P wrote a review 19 May
Beverley, United Kingdom109 contributions28 helpful votes
This is our third stay and it was another loveless and welcoming stay. We have always got the suites in the old house which are very spacious with plenty of character. This time we stayed in room 37, I think one of the “newer” rooms. One small downside was the lack of country’s side view, but the room was lovely, more an apartment. There was a problem with one of the bedside lights, but when reported to reception a member of staff came back to the room straight away and sorted it. Looking forward to our next stay already.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Heather M wrote a review 18 May
1 contribution
We thought this hotel was very good value for money, combined with the spa treatments we got in the deal too. Love how the hotel is dog friendly, with beautiful grounds to walk through. Staff were lovely especially Lucy and pat, excellent service from them all throughout our stay. Would recommend a stay here definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Hotellover2405 wrote a review 17 May
1 contribution
I’m not sure why the hotel is getting such bad reviews I stayed and had a wonderful time. The staff were all attentive and lovely especially Sharon and the young lad on the bar. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds the food was amazing in the restaurant and the service was fab.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Other at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon Hotelover2405, Thank you so much for your honest review, we do endeavour to ensure that our guests have a lovely stay with us. I really appreciate your kind words, I will also pass on your comments to young Matty. We do hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
Lynn H wrote a review 16 May
1 contribution
Have stayed her before pre covid. Have a nice quiet 4oo to the left of reception. This time, met by very welcoming staff and given a room I the old hall. Lovely old building with original and charming windows. Swifts obviously nesting and flying around. Went for a walk in the beautiful grounds. So much wildlife to see. Booked a table for the restaurant, which was very busy as a coach load of OAPs had turned up at short notice. I would like to thank the two gents behind the bar one taking food orders and one doi g drinks, they were very efficient. Got into the restaurant and we were all looked after by Lucy and her team. Many 😊 thanks. The only negative I have is the sense of entitlement of some elderly people and their expectations that they can interrupt a conversation with their demands and also abuse the bar staff. Very ungracious behaviour!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Other at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon Lynn, Thank you for taking time to write the team a review. I know that Lucy was delighted that you mentioned her name for all of her hard work. At Walton we do strive to ensure that our guests all have a lovely stay with us and I am so pleased that we succeeded on this occasion, Once again thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
Js wrote a review 11 May
1 contribution
Booked this hotel with a voucher we had for Christmas from ‘ red letter days’ which was a two night break , paid the extra night and paid for the breakfasts so still had to pay a further £196.00 as well as the two night voucher , supposed to be a classic double room not a standard . Arrived ….. that was just the start , the receptionist was the most rudest man iv ever met , just gave us a sheet of paper and told us where to go , we actually needed the map ! Completely different building away from the actual hotel itself , walked through the doors that were only held together with the paint , all rotting and full of woodworm , glass none of which has been cleaned for years , all interior doors were dirty and full of fingerprints and smears , as you walk through the doors the smell of damp hits you , and they are Aware of this as there are automatic toilet air freshener s all over the walls …. Climb two creaky staircases , dead flies and sweet wrappers just left all over the windowsills. Very unclean , staircase carpets dirty , get in the room to find the room is full of bees 🐝!! Like crawling through the carpets flying through the room lots surrounding the windows , NO WAY COULD WE STAY IN THERE ! And the room COULDN'T HAVE BEEN CHECKED EITHER or it would have been found . Treck all the way back to the main building to find the same man on the reception, I personally have lung health issues , I explained no way could we stay there as we had a bee’s nest in there the floor also had collapsed where the bed stood ! And the damp and the stairs , I asked if we could have a room on the lower floors as it was an issue all round for health matters not to mention the bees nest . He was completely unresponsive , and began typing on his computer , I asked if he had heard me , he said “ yes I shall have to move you then “ I was gobsmacked …… no sorry no empathy no concern whatsoever , when I asked again about a room on the lower floors , he replied “ I shall give you room 55 “ our original room was 56 ! I said you putting us next door to the bees nest ? He just looked at me and said “ yes” I said you are joking ? My husband just said come on let’s just go , we had been travelling for a few hours , I was so upset , we went to the car collect our bags , climbed up the same dirty stairwell , to the room next door , it hadn’t been cleaned , dirty bathroom , dead flies again broken windows dirty finger prints over the chairs , half eaten biscuits in the bedside drawer , just unbelievable , looked for the aircon advertised in the hotels ‘key feature lists” THERE ISNT ANY , a fan in the wardrobe ! The room was like an oven , the window was broken , I was paranoid the bees would come in , there were literally thousands , they were living in the chimneys above the rooms and crawling through the masonry walls the bedside tables were both dirty , it was a horrible room , I just wanted to go home definitely not a 4* hotel at all. We left the room as it was so hot and no air in there the fan was poor , we went to book a table in the hotel Restarant , spoke with a lady called Lucy , such a nice lady I was close to tears , she was so helpful she left a note for the operational manager Sharon who was in on the morning to discuss our stay and issues . Dinner was fine all the staff were wonderful and accommodating, completely different to the receptionist Christian ? We spoke with the operational manager the following morning , she arranged for us to move into the main hotel , couldn’t sleep that night due to the room being like an oven and so dirty we didn’t unpack , moved over to a ground floor room , much better , very worn and tired room but it was cleaner and cooler than where we were , there were doors we could open and there was also air con , no satellite tv just basic free view channels in any of the rooms , this was also advertised as in the hotel. Couldn’t even access BBC news , not the best room but it was better than where we were originally , and at least it was within parking distance and based in the hotel not in a different part of the grounds , breakfast well …… day 2 mouldy bread on offer for breakfast , completely shocking !! And we didn’t eat again in the hotel , such a shame very very disappointing, definitely not a 4 star hotel at all . Some of the facilities advertised are not actually available , the staff were all lovely apart from the receptionist , no apology , no empathy and not a very nice experience at all , I definitely would not not return nor would I ever recommend
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Other at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon Janine, Thank you for taking time to write a review with regard to your stay with us here at Walton Hall. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet with our usual standard of service for you, we do endeavour to provide our guests with the standard of service expected I am pleased that you preferred the room that I upgraded you to, and you enjoyed the service you received during your dinner with us. You will be pleased to hear that the issue with the bees has now been addressed and the shortcomings mentioned with regard to the housekeeping team have also been addressed. Once again, my sincere apologies Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
Sally W wrote a review 10 May
Brighton, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
I would question the 4star rating for this hotel. The bedroom was clean and comfortable but no better than a premier inn. There was only one pillow per person which was surprising as I expected two. When we arrived around midday, the bar was closed and the bar itself was covered in dirty glasses from the previous night. We asked for teas and coffees and the staff didn’t seem prepared at all for such a simple request. A request for a hot chocolate really threw them! The staff were preparing tables in the dining room and were shouting loudly to each other across the room despite the fact that we were sitting in the bar and when we asked for a drink there was clearly no-one in charge as they looked at each other as they couldn’t decide between them who would actually serve us. We got back to the hotel around 11.30pm. The bar was closed and bottled beer, cider and soft drinks were only available from the fridge at reception and they were all warm. Breakfast the following day was very poor. The dining area was very busy with no table service and a tea and coffee machine in a corner next to one v old toaster which meant guests queuing to make cups of tea or some toast. The food quality was very very poor, luke warm and was not replenished frequently. Breakfast was not worthy of any stars. The chairs in the restaurant were also badly stained which was unpleasant. Really disappointed, will definitely not stay here again unless it significantly improves.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Other at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon Sally, Thank you for taking time to write a review with regard to your stay here at Walton Hall. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At Walton were are endeavouring to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. we have a very inexperienced team at the moment and we are working very hard to support them with intensive training to improve the service that they are offering. I sincerely apologise if on this occasion we have not managed to meet the standards that we strive for. We do hope that you will return to visit us again at a later date. Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
CP888 wrote a review 8 May
Petersfield44 contributions12 helpful votes
This place is an absolute shambles and the place is filthy. We were put in room 53 in the Coach House. The windows were all broken, paint chipping off, net curtains all torn. As we were only passing and just staying one night, we were about to grin and bare it but I attempted a shower and there was no water! A cupboard in the room with a half open door revealed a large hot water cylinder which my engineer husband could see was not working. The fuse was missing and a small container was catching dripping water. We went back to reception and the only decent ember of staff we met, a young lad, apologised and said he would upgrade us to the main house. This is a fantastic, old and very beautiful house that has been severely neglected. There was evidence of a recent wedding which had not been cleared up after. Filthy carpets, half cleared bar which drips of drinks all over the floor, rubbish everywhere. No sign of any staff. We felt like the only ones there. The poor building was so neglected, filthy and old stone damaged. How anyone could want a wedding here beats me? Our so called upgrade was a room with semen stain on the bed cushion, a bathroom door with no handle, tiles on the floor with no grouting and brown mould all up the shower. A wardrobe with a badly repaired leg, scratched table. Filthy carpets. Plenty of people have supplied photos on these reviews. As for food, we were told that as we had not precooked food with our room there was no way they could accommodate us that evening but we might be able to eat in the bar. So we did (food was poor) and had finished and were going back to our room and the restaurant had only two people in it! There was a big event due on the next morning and no doubt the restaurant may have filled later but we were not even asked when we wanted eat - we tend to eat early. So they could have accommodated us. The person before me has left a review about the bar man which I fully agree with. He was very rude and purposely slow. Next morning I took photos of the room as evidence and the manager had to accept a much lower payment from me because he couldn’t argue the case. We will never stay here again under the current management.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t stay here. Whole place is bad.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Other at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking time to write a review for Walton Hall. I sincerely apologise that we fell short with regards to the cleanliness of the room that you were allocated and the quality of the food offered. I am pleased that young Jack was polite and helpful to you and that you felt that your complaint was handled effectively. Once again my sincere apologies Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
VBailey wrote a review 8 May
6 contributions
+1
The room wasn’t too bad, but the bathroom needed a good clean though. The food and service in the restaurant was the worst we have ever experienced, it was a joke! There was a very new young lad who tried his best to resolve the treatment we had received. The man behind the bar was terrible with a shocking attitude and couldn’t have been slower if he tried. The evening started badly with a 15 minute wait waiting to be seated. Finally we were seated. We then waited 30 mins for the nice young lad to serve us. He took our drinks and food order. About 30’mins passed and one of our starters arrived. We had no drinks so I went to the bar. The bar man was messing with receipts and ignoring 3 girls waiting to be served. He finally served them (4 drinks took about 10 mins). He came to me next, I explained we were waiting in the restaurant for over 30 mins for our drinks, he said ‘we’ll take it up with the waiter you ordered them with’, the waiter happened to be passing as he said that to me, so I told the nice waiter we were waiting for our drinks, he apologised and said to the bar man, ‘I ordered them ages ago’, the bar man shrugged. The waiter went round the bar and showed him the receipt and said ‘it’s been here ages!’ The bar man turned to him very rudely and said ‘we’ll serve her then!’ The waiter told me to go to the table and he’d bring them over. He did and apologised profusely. He then sorted out my missing starter. Our steaks then arrived, they were meant to be ribeye. Mine was definitely rump, it was awful, my husbands was a bad piece of steak. Half my frozen chips were still hard. No one came to ask if the meals were ok, I thought I’d mention it when they cleared the plates but the guy didn’t ask if everything was ok, just removed the plates. I thought I’d tell them of the dirty room and the horrific evening when we checked out. As you always get asked did you enjoy your stay!!! I went to check out this morning and the guy on reception said ‘yes can I help you’, I said ‘I’d like to check out’, told him the room and he just said ‘Yeap you are free to go, goodbye’. I was speechless. Please don’t stay here!!! It really is chaos. Our first night without children for 2 years and we couldn’t have been more disappointed with the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Herman Muller, Other at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon VBailey, Thank you for taking time to write a review for Walton Hall. I sincerely apologise for any shortcomings that you encountered throughout your stay with us. We are at present struggling during our busier periods to consistently maintain our standards of service to our guests and for this I truly apologise for the disappointing aspects of your stay. We are currently intensively training our new team to ensure that our shaortcomngs are improved. Kind regards Sharon Wood Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireWellesbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Stalls Lifestyle (7.5 km), British Motor Museum (7.5 km), and Redwings Horse Sanctuary (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Royal Oak, The Ferry, and The Malt Shovel Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Charlecote Park (4.6 km), Charlecote Mill (5.4 km), and The Almshouses (2.9 km).