We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Plus points : decent size room, nice breakfast, ideal location for easy travel around North Wales. Negatives : it's on a service station site, so not pretty and not walking distance from any towns, room needed a decent clean - I'm not being overly fussy here - my wallet was literally stuck to the desk when I retrieved it and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped on a trip to the ferry at Holyhead. The hotel is basic but everything was clean and worked. The staff were all very friendly. Check in and check out handled very quickly. I had an executive room. It want luxury but well appointed and a very good size. Noise from the road was fine and I slept very well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this hotel for a family wedding. We must say that the overall experience was fabulous. This hotel, as a wedding venue surprised and surpassed expectations. From the family meal in a private dining room the evening before, to the wedding itself was truly memorable. The staff looked after everybody and anticipated our needs down to finest... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan454johnson
Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We usually stay in Premier Inn hotels but thought we would spend a little more and try the Holiday inn's for a change. We even booked a more expensive room than normal and had an executive room. When we arrived we were greeted very well and given the electronic key to the room we got into the room and found... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray_and_Rosemary
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear Ray_and_Rosemary, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn A55 Chester (West) Northop. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the heating, lighting, housekeeping and the hallway condition. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and... More 

North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our son's Christening reception in the Vivaldi suite on 6/11/16 and we were really impressed. The service, food and room were all excellent. Dietary requirements were well catered for and the cost was very reasonable compared to many other hotels in the area. Perfect for a celebration with lots of children, there was lots of space and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank K122009
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed here for my sisters 40th birthday party, hotel was lovely and clean and the staff very attentive, we had a family room with 2 huge double beds in it, loads of room to move around, and spotless, the party room was brilliant and was well set out, food was lovely, breakfast the next day was buffet style and plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank helen l
CHEUK_Response_from, General Manager at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

helen l Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at the hotel. Great to read that your family event was a success, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service provided by the team, and the quality of the food for both your party... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Paid extra for a nice room to find the carpets are dirty , the armchair is collapsed, the ceiling look like people have been smoking in the room for years , over all it looks tired and needs a revamp. Not even tried the food yet . Not looking good up to now.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mackays1
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear Mackays1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding the condition of the room you were... More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Used for an overnight stay and a meeting. Very good value for money and met expectations. Staff were friendly and efficient. Facilities for the meeting were good and again met expectations. Accommodation was consistent Holiday Inn standards.

Helpful?
1 Thank RW W
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We have just spent 2 nights here taking our 9 yr old granddaughter with us. We had room 113 on the ground floor just along from restaurant and bar, the room was very comfortable with 2 double beds in it, the bathroom also had a decent shower. There was tea and coffee and a kettle to use in room but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank christine0253
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Had our wedding which was perfect couldn't of been any better & stayed in the castle sweet which looked right on to the a55.. we were both shocked at the amount of noise. We expected to hear cars all night. Which we didn't unless we really listened out for them. The breakfast was lovely all the staff did anything they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
2.0 km away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.7 km away
Beaufort Park Hotel
0.6 km away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
391 reviews
5.8 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
12.1 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Holiday Inn Chester South
#21 of 45 in Chester
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Address: Westbound A55 Expressway, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Price Range: €56 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
middlesbrough
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best beds ever!!”
 of 5 bubbles susan454johnson, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask if it has heating not just a portable electric heater.”
 of 5 bubbles Ray_and_Rosemary, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 113 family room was nice and quiet and handy for e restaurant and bar”
 of 5 bubbles christine0253, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are ok”
 of 5 bubbles shamtipp, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the main road towards the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles petertY3334XS, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay