We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Springwell Croft Cottages

Save
Share
A82, Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 18/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Springwell Croft Cottages
Updated 18/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 6 Speciality lodging in Onich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
6 Self-catering holiday cottages near Onich, Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland. Dramatic scenery, private beach, local walks, hikes and watersports available, pets welcome.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hiking
Fishing
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Picnic area
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Private beach
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
125Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 27
  • 6
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Diane M wrote a review Jun 2021
Cockermouth, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We have just returned from a weeks visit, though we had to leave a day early! Our car suspension was quite badly damaged due to potholes, one of which was on the extremely steep road up to the cottages! We were in the two bedroomed Shuna, there were three of a similar size thought to be honest it felt more like a caravan. This is going to be a lengthy review, however it will also be a fair review, and despite any response the owner makes, the photos attached should help illustrate the property we were provided with, for a price of over £1200 for the week! We are fully aware that when travelling with your dog, you must accept places that are a bit less fancy, with less carpeting etc however this is by far the worst holiday let we have had in over 30 years We are astounded that people have provided ratings of 4 and 5! On the positive side, and quite frankly the main one was the lovely view. The bedding covers and towels were nice and they were clean, kitchen pots etc were adequate, the water heated well and the heaters looked new, though the blue lights had to be covered in the night since the were really bright. However: There was very little space of store clothing other than some hangers and hooks in both rooms. There was absolutely nowhere to put cases, the bedrooms were too small to fit much at all. Curtains were thin and there were no blinds in bedrooms. The whole place was just really outdated and grubby with chipped paintwork, stained walls, dirty windows and skirting boards. Outside was no better with overgrown pots and gardening which consisted of weed killer sprayed around the edges, The fridge was cleaned but had no door shelf so you couldn’t stand up milk, juice or wine so it just spilled! (It’s hard to believe anyone would think that was kind or acceptable!!) The microwave was awful inside, really rusty, as was the shower handle and head which was very black and the DVD player didn’t work. We did manage to get internet eventually, the hyperlink we had to join the online guest stuff didn’t work but my daughter figured it out, fortunately since she needed it! It was fortunate that one of our daughters couldn’t make it last minute since we’d have struggled even more. We did meet the owner just before leaving, we mentioned our car problems and our leaving early and she expressed no sympathy other than to make sure we part stripped the beds etc due to COVID regulations, which I’d usually do anyway to help people, though strangely none of the protectors here got removed?? There was no point in mentioning all of this, it has taken a lot of years for the place to become so rundown, far before COVID, and it’s unlikely therefore that they will agree with our view. Hopefully I’ll managed to attach the photos! Poorly done!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Drummond, General Manager at Springwell Croft Cottages
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to write this review Diane. As you acknowledge, we are rated 4 or 5 by guests, the vast majority of guests in fact and we have many guests who return frequently. We appreciate that your opinion is different to theirs, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. We do however need to respond regarding your question regarding mattress protectors not being removed. Our protocols are fully compliant with Government and Trade Body standards and indeed we exceed those by using ozone generators to sanitise the unit to hospital laundry standards when a guests leaves and prior to our cleaners entering. We are fully certified as meeting all required standards so it's important that we respond to this particular question for the benefit of anyone reading your review. Whilst the linen and towels you are asked to remove are cleaned commercially offsite, the materials that the mattress protectors are made of would melt in the industrial tumble dryers. We therefore remove mattress and pillow protectors ourselves (once the unit has been sanitised) and wash them at 60 degrees in accordance with Covid-19 protocols. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that you didn't contact us at any time during your stay to allow us the opportunity to resolve issues for you, some of which would have been fixed in seconds.
Read more
Poppy K wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, Scotland1 contribution
We stayed in Lismore cottage as family of four. As others have reviewed the views were lovely and the cottage was clean and cosy and the location was great. It would have gotten 4 stars except the price we paid did not reflect the very basic nature of the property and we didn't feel we had any sort of value for money unfortunately. The finish was basic and dated and whilst nothing was a significant problem for us lots of items were in need of minor repair - the fridge door was broken, the reading light in the second bedroom was hanging off the wall, the TV was tiny, the oven dial was so worn we had to guess what it was set at and the mattresses were nearing on lumpy. We found basic kitchen essentials missing (cheese grater, scissors). Also, there were no seasonings etc in the cupboards (for the price bracket I would expect tea/coffee as a minimum - we have been given welcome bottles of wine at much cheaper properties!). With a few minor repairs and / or welcoming touches, the whole experience would have been much better but we did not think the very basic nature of the property warranted the price we paid. If it was cheaper these issues would not have been such a problem as you expect to get what you pay for. In this instance, I do not feel we did unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Heather M wrote a review Sep 2020
West Cowick, United Kingdom9 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We stayed last week in Lismore The views are stunning and the cottage was spottless, the bedding and towels immaculate as was the cooker and crockery However if you are looking for luxury this is perhaps not for you The TV is tiny and wall mounted. The inside fridge door is broken with no shelf to place milk in (see picture) so it had to be laid on its side and leaked once opened There was nowhere to dry wet clothes outside, the airer was broken and thrown behind the cottage (see picture) along with some other bits of rubbish There was rust in the shower (see picture) and the room curtains did not meet when closed (see picture ) they were not wide enough for the window we enjoyed our stay but some small low costs improvements would make such a difference
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Adelle S wrote a review Aug 2020
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved our stay at Croft cottage! The price was cheap for our stay and in a perfect location!!! Yes the road is busy and you can hear it when you sit outside but in my opinion what do you expect from a prime location and at the end of the day it’s back from the road in a secure garden. We stayed when covid is a worry and everything was thoroughly cleaned, clear guidelines given and the owners were great with contact during the worry and our stay! Perfect stay and no complaints! We left a day early due to our rent van needing to be back and contacted the owners to let them know and they were great! Thank you to the owners for being so forthcoming!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Fiona L wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Visited in a group of 4 to this lovely cottage. It has lovely views, good outdoor space and is well stocked. Was lovely and clean and we felt very welcome. The owner was very helpful before and during our stay and would recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$147 - US$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Springwell Holiday Homes
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLochaberOnich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Springwell Croft Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Springwell Croft Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Lost Valley Trail (7.7 km), Glencoe Lochan (7.1 km), and Loch Linnhe (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Springwell Croft Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Springwell Croft Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Springwell Croft Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Springwell Croft Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Glencoe Cafe, The Laroch Restaurant & Bar, and Crafts & Things.
Is Springwell Croft Cottages located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Onich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Springwell Croft Cottages?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Springwell Croft Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Springwell Croft Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dun Deardail fort (14.7 km).
Does Springwell Croft Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.