We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Tortworth Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,171: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I stayed at the lovely Tortworth Court Hotel last weekend with my wife. As we drove up to the hotel it really is a stunning sight. Reception, the bedrooms, the spa and restaurant are all great value and we made the most of it all. Two bits in particular that really stood out was the orangery bar and the atrium...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard K
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments; I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff really did look after you during your stay, a 5 star review would have been wonderful. With reference to the staff member you have mentioned, these are very serious allegations and will be taken very seriously, we on...

Graested, Denmark
Reviewed 22 January 2016

There is something unique with the Tortworth Court Four Pillars - when you walk around in the garden and in the forest, and afterwards sit Down in the restaurant, you will feel yourself relaxed and satisfied

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RHjorth
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback, it is always a pleasure to read how much our guests enjoy staying with us, and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed a relaxing and satisfying stay. Your complimentary comments are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Mark Payne General...

Reviewed 19 January 2016

This is an historic estate surrounding by beautiful gardens.Located near to Bristol and a few miles from Cotswolds villages.The bedrooms are spacious ,clean and lovely and warm,you can choose from several bars to relaxed in you enjoy a light meal.The surrounding and period features are stunning.The hotel indoor swimming pool is great also sauna and stream room make sure you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of Tortworth Court Hotel. We are located a short drive from the M5, within 30 acres of woodland and formal gardens with a long drive leading up to the Victorian manor house. We are very pleased you had time to enjoy our leisure facilities during your stay and look forward to...

Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Firstly the good things. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. The drive up to the hotel and the beautiful stair case as we were checking in was just what we expected. We arrived early thinking we would have some lunch before checking in but were told our room was ready. Our room was huge with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie b
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us your constructive feedback. I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion, we always try encourage our guests to approach the team during their stay if they encounter any issues, alternatively we have a Manager on duty 24hr, this allow...

west midlands
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Stayed here last night celebrating our wedding anniversary. The accommodation package ( B & B ) was actually a Christmas present via "red letter days", and in that respect was excellent. We selected Tortworth Court following good reviews and the hotel and grounds are stunning, even in a gloomy January and are worthy of a return visit in better weather...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colemen
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your previous stay. I would like to sincerely apologise if you felt disappointed in any way due to being booked in the Orangery and not Moreton’s for dinner during your stay. The decision to open the Orangery was to allow our guests another option if they wished...

coventry
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

On arrival the place looked amazing, perfect grounds, and very grand, this impression continued when inside, beautiful, busy reception due to everyone arriving at 4pm, no problem there, until I hear the reception staff asking everyone if they are Travelzoo, suddenly we felt as though we were like cattle I really don't think this was necessary, they know that surely,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gazali
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review and express your concerns in terms of what the hotel offers in terms of quality. Firstly I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. We always try an urge our customers to approach the team during their stay, if you feel there are any issues during...

Camelford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed overnight with breakfast and dinner on a special deal. We had a Cava on ice and a box of Belgian chocolates in the room on arrival.The room was huge, clean and comfortable. Dinner was excellent with a good choice of dishes and a good wine list. Our breakfast was an as much as you can eat buffet with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna G
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your outstanding five star review, it gives me great pleasure to hear you loved your overnight stay. It is wonderful to hear you felt the service was impeccable and we provided quality in regards to the room and food you experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit. Kindest Regards Mark...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

I stayed here for the night with a friend who took me away for my birthday. The room was lovely, beds comfortable and room and bathroom clean and well presented. The pool was lovely and thankfully relatively quiet when we got there however as we were leaving it was getting very crammed. There is not much space to sit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian E
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate Tortworth Court Four Pillars hotel four stars on tripadvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your birthday visit with your friend and we hope you visit us again in the summer period which will hopefully allow you to explore the grounds in the sun. Kindest Regards Mark Payne

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This hotel is situated within its own Parkland setting among some very old and interesting trees and is virtually an Arboretum. Parts of the building date back to the 1300's and the history is well worth reading about. All the rooms are built in modern surrounding blocks in an interesting layout. long corridors are involved in reaching many of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your tripadvisor review and for rating Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel 5 stars. I will certainly pass on the positive feedback you have given about Agi to her line manager and would once more like to thank you for expressing how friendly and efficient she was during your...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

My husband and I booked an all inclusive one night break at Tortworth Court last week. The break looked excellent value and the hotel looked amazing. However afterwards I looked at some of the Tripadviser reviews which were not very complimentary. We began to wish we had read them before we had booked. Fortunately we had nothing to worry about....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole B
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your glowing five star review and recommending Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear we have achieved exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate your detailed review and how you and your husband enjoyed the beautiful grounds, comfortable and clean bedroom and enjoyed all varieties of food during...

862 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (846)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Other (324)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
19.6 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
562 reviews
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
34.0 km away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
619 reviews
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: €58 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In main house”
 of 5 bubbles 199nicolad, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles J8344ZZdavem, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“courtyard rooms a bit of trek from reception down a corridor - easier to drive round especially if you have a lot of baggage.”
 of 5 bubbles Roy331, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother staying”
 of 5 bubbles johnburchett, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building are near all facilities. Some of the other rooms are a long way from the main part.”
 of 5 bubbles deling1, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay