We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Save
Share
Burn Hall Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$175
US$132
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$132
Booking.com
Trip.comUS$175
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (384)
Room & Suite (201)
Dining (100)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Hiking
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2783Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,064
  • 966
  • 451
  • 188
  • 114
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Missislippy wrote a review Yesterday
Leeds, United Kingdom22 contributions9 helpful votes
Went to this hotel for afternoon tea, via a Travelzoo offer, as it was close to where we site our caravan. The hotel is a Victorian villa with an incongruous 1970s extension to the rear and what appear to be extensive grounds. Very small parking area. On arrival, the reception area was unmanned but we could hear someone talking on the phone nearby. Eventually, the receptionist appeared and directed us to go through the restaurant and down a corridor to a bar area where "someone will show you the way". We proceeded to the bar, which again was deserted apart from half a dozen guests. There was a phone on the bar which said "dial 0 for attention" - which we did and spoke again to the receptionist!! After a few more minutes a smartly-dressed gentlemen appeared and after saying hi in passing, proceeded to make a coffee for a guest in the bar. When he'd eventually completed this task, he turned to us and asked what he could get us. We explained that we were here for afternoon tea, whereupon he told us to follow him and proceeded to walk at a pace back down the corridor. We managed to keep up with him (just) and he showed us to a small function room, stood at the door and pointed to a table in the corner with a "that's yours, table for 2, tea or coffee?". We sat down and noted that there was only one other party of 4 in the room, which didn't add much to the ambience. The teapot was duly delivered, followed by the afternoon tea tray, which looked pretty good. However, although the 3 types of sandwich were well-filled, the bread was so thick cut that it obliterated the taste of the fillings. The warm scones were very tasty, as was the jam, but what should have been clotted cream in a decent afternoon tea was in fact more like squirty cream that had been left too long The cakes weren't very imaginative either - seed cake, parkin and brownie, although they were all very nice. We were a little surprised that nobody came to ask if everything was ok or if we needed a refill of tea, and after 40 mins in an empty room with no interaction with any staff, we left. I appreciate that many hospitality venues are suffering from poor staffing levels, but that doesn't excuse poor communication and downright rudeness from the staff who are there. Despite the fact that our afternoon tea was a special offer which was supposed to bring custom to the hotel, we were left feeling that we would not be returning to this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from C Norky, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Responded today
Thank you for your review. for your information we are fully staffed and having the time of lives. sorry you did not enjoy and returning. Regards C, Norky
Read more
b0wd2021 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was attracted to Burn Hall it’s lovely Garden and Birds of Prey sanctuary due to it being advertised as a Wowcher voucher. I wanted a better room so I booked directly and paid more but I might as well saved my money as the bigger (better) room turned out to be the Disabled room. It was like a hospital room with the attendant smell, little style or comfort with a horrible view of the enclosed block. I would suggest this is not a room for a country vacations stay but fine for business conferences.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from C Norky, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review. Regards C. Norky
Read more
Shona wrote a review Jul 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom7 contributions11 helpful votes
Lovely hotel but in the middle of nowhere. We couldn’t get a taxi from the village and had to walk with cases 45 mins to hotel! Ordered snacks as missed lunch and the triple cooked chips and onion rings were lovely! Paid £8 for an egg Mayo sandwich. Two slices of normal white pan bread nothing fancy. Bread was stale and little bit of salad on plate was brown! Very disappointed! Made a complaint but they were not interested. The following day the chips were rubbish! Very obviously freshly cooked the day before in the middle of afternoon but stock piled at dinner time and not so fresh. Menu was nice but nothing healthy on it! Three fish dishes a gammon and fried egg, a couple of pies including a couple of veg dishes but no pasta no salad nothing healthy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from C Norky, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. Regards C. Norky
Read more
PurpleStar76SB wrote a review Jul 2021
Youlgreave, United Kingdom23 contributions25 helpful votes
This was our second stay at this lovely hotel just outside York. Rooms are spotless and really comfy, we slept really well. The food is delicious and cooked to perfection. Service was great from all the staff. They have lovely garden areas to relax in, and the Bird of Prey centre within the grounds is definitely worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are Park & Ride stations nearby taking you directly into York City Centre. The York Bird of...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from C Norky, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Visit soon. Regards C. Norky
Read more
Sunnywin wrote a review Jul 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom406 contributions545 helpful votes
The marketing people here have done a great job, unfortunately this means that reality doesn't meet expectations. The bed was uncomfortable and the room a little run down. My biggest problem was with their covid measures, which may be a moot point now. However, having stayed in quite a few hotels during covid I think that the approach can be telling, for example I stayed for 5 nights and my room was not serviced,at all 4 teabags for two people was expected to suffice. I don't think the cleaners would have been at much risk if they had come in to hoover and replenish supplies. Also I would clean my bathroom at home more often than every 5 days so to not even provide a brush in the toilet was remiss. As for breakfast, there was no option for cereals or yoghurt just a tick box system for saussages, bacon and eggs. Whoever devised the protocol had obviously not familiarised themselves with infection control methods as customers were seated right next to each other even when the restaurant was virtually empty. There were milk jugs provided on each table, these remained on the table for all sittings including when they sprayed with the required disenfectant on the table between sittings. D10 with your coffee sir? For 5 mornings I watched as the open milk jugs were pushed to the edge of the table before D10 was sprayed all around them, the very friendly staff had obviously not been told to lift the jug up or to space the customers out, my issue was with their training not the staff themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from C Norky, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your review. We went back to normal on the 17th. That was 10 days ago. Regards CD10. Norky
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
burn hall hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHuby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include York Bird of Prey Centre (0.5 km), Beningbrough Hall, Gallery and Gardens (7.1 km), and Dutch House (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Aldwark Arms, The White Bear Inn, and The Bay Tree.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Burn Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beningbrough Hall, Gallery and Gardens (7.1 km) and Market Cross & Market House (4.6 km).
Is Best Western Burn Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.