We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Black Bull Inn

    Northside, Matfen NE20 0RP, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Similar hotels
          Matfen Hall
          1,494 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Matfen
           
          The George Hotel
          674 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Chollerford
           
          The Robin Hood Inn
          62 reviews
          #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
           
          Laburnum Guest House
          29 reviews
          #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wylam
           
          Overview
          • Excellent80%
          • Very good10%
          • Average0%
          • Poor5%
          • Terrible5%
          Travellers talk about
          “the pub” (12 reviews)
          “warm welcome” (7 reviews)
          Public Wifi
          Free Parking
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Pets Allowed
          Wheelchair Access
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          All hotel details
          Similar hotels
          Matfen Hall
          1,494 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Matfen
           
          The George Hotel
          674 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Chollerford
           
          The Robin Hood Inn
          62 reviews
          #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
           
          Laburnum Guest House
          29 reviews
          #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wylam
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (70)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 70 reviews

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago

          After reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor, I was looking forward to an evening meal after our first day of walking stage one of St. Oswald's Way from Hexham to Matfen in May. I tried to book about a week before we started walking and...More

          Thank Sunjo
          Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 3 weeks ago

          I must humbly apologise for your poor customer experience. My husband underwent major surgery a few weeks ago and while we thought he may be well enough to resume cooking after a short time, this has proved impossible due to his ongoing ill health. I...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago

          What a great little pub this is! That the landlords have managed to create a thriving, friendly and buzzing village pub in an economic climate where we see places like this closing every week is no mean feat. I remember the original Black Bull thirty...More

          Thank Sue M
          Reviewed 5 weeks ago

          We didn't stay for lunch so I can't judge the food. The staff were very welcoming, but the place itself; what a disappointment, cold and stark, only half the size it used to be, so the eating area is confined to a poky little room...More

          1  Thank howzat18
          Reviewed 14 May 2017

          Now, I am not normally a steak type person but my other half is, we were advised to come to The Black Bull in Matfen and I can say I am glad we did as the steaks we had were superb. When the landlady asked...More

          Thank A G
          Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 15 May 2017

          Ha ha! Thanks for that. I am glad you enjoyed your steaks and I'm sorry we didn't have the fish you so desired. As it happens, chef is great with fish too, but only has one arm at the minute so steak night meant just...More

          Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

          Looking for somewhere to eat im Wylam and the hosts could not be more accomodating. The food was outstanding and very good value. Four of us were eating and we had 3 courses each with drinks and the total was only £83 including wine. All...More

          Thank David S
          Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 29 April 2017

          That is a lovely review. Unfortunately we are a different Black Bull to the one in Wylam so we can't claim credit for your five stars. Our Black Bull is in Matfen and also worth a visit! Regards Alison

          Similar hotels
          Matfen Hall
          1,494 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Matfen
           
          The George Hotel
          674 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Chollerford
           
          The Robin Hood Inn
          62 reviews
          #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
           
          Laburnum Guest House
          29 reviews
          #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wylam
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • England >
          • Northumberland >
          • Matfen
          • Also Known As
          • Black Bull Hotel Matfen
          Nearby
          Matfen Hall
          1,494 reviews
          .29 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Robin Hood Inn
          203 reviews
          4.05 km away
          Errington Arms
          258 reviews
          5.38 km away
          Queens Head Inn
          93 reviews
          2.72 km away
          Vallum Restaurant & Chef’s Room
          206 reviews
          4.10 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Go Ape at Matfen Hall
          97 reviews
          .90 km away
          Corbridge Roman Town
          338 reviews
          8.56 km away
          Shepherds Dene
          9 reviews
          10.42 km away
          Prudhoe Castle
          65 reviews
          10.55 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Neil H
          Is the black bull pet friendly?
          22 March 2017|
          Answer
          Response from Ali_Patta | Property representative |
          We are very dog friendly and have lots of equine visitors in summer. By "pet", what species do you mean? I wouldn't fancy meeting your pet tarantula or rat... 😨 Cheers Alison
          0
          Votes
          Vanessa A
          Do you have accommodation?
          2 November 2016|
          Answer
          Response from Ali_Patta | Property representative |
          Sorry Vanessa, we do not have rooms here. Thanks for the enquiry.
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Not applicable to our visit - we did not stay overnight but just visited the pub which is recommended."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing