We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (2)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
191Reviews
57Photos
1Q+A
33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 44
  • 38
  • 27
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at the local caravan park & decided to book for the Sunday Lunch Carvery. What a disaster !! Unfortunately there was no other menu available.How difficult is it to cook vegetables successfully ?. Most were undercooked especially the cauliflower. The yorkshire
Read more
Booked for one night only. I was worried after reading the previous reviews. The establishment appears to be supported by two maybe three staff, who appeared to work very hard. The lady who booked us in was also the same lady who served at the bar, took food orders, served
Read more
Stayed one night here in room 5. Certainly nothing to write home about. Wardrobe door off the hinges just left leaning inside. Very outdated decor but clean. Bathroom plumbing goes through a noisy Macerator probably why shower tray almost over flowed. Good selection on menu we
Read more
Returning from our work shift at mid night , we found our self's locked out. I had a key that didn't work in the lock and my colleague wasn't given a key to the main door. After knocking and ringing , we had to was up a guest in order to let us in as the owners DONT LIVE ON THE
Read more
When you arrive there are no signs to direct you to a Reception because there isn’t one and after wandering around I entered the bar. After a few minutes wait, a young lady finally approached with what can only be described as a grunt. When I explained that I wished to check in,
Read more
Response from Darrell N, Owner at Sparkford Inn
Responded 4 Jun 2018
Thank you for your long promised review! To address some of the points you raise, the 'young lady' was the landlady, and she was, as she always is with all of our guests, polite, friendly and professional. You were shown to our reception area, (which is signed from the main entrance) and checked in to your room and informed of our dinner and breakfast times. You were given directions to your room by the landlady, and there are notices on the newly decorated walls directing guests to our rooms. The walls are certainly not paper thin, as we are an 18th century coaching Inn, with original stone walls, and as you were a part of a large group occupying most of our rooms that weekend, it would have been one of your party making the excessive noise which you claim woke you up! Yes, our bathrooms have macerators fitted, again, we are an 18th Century Inn and they are necessary due to the layout of and plumbing in the building. They make no noise when not in use. Fire and emergency instructions are in each room, along with menus and general information. I thank you for your concern, but our last fire officer visit was exactly 12 months ago, and no concerns were raised with our processes and procedures. The 'waiter' you describe at breakfast was in fact myself, the landlord, and I was polite, friendly and professional, directing you to help yourself to the buffet, take a table, and I would be over to take a breakfast order once you were settled. Our breakfast is cooked to order, using fresh local ingredients, and is consistently complimented and remarked upon by our guests. I find it troubling that you did not raise any concerns whatsoever during your stay, but chose to enter into an email dialogue threatening a poor review if we did not refund you! When we refused your blackmail, you then threatened legal action! So, thank you for taking the time to embellish further on the brief comments you sent via email, I hope my considered response is adequate, and I will reiterate that you are welcome to call me to discuss any of the issues you have raised. Several of your party complimented us on their stay with us, and tipped too, so I am very surprised at your description of your experience.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
The bed I'd like to have been able to sleep in.
The view from the front door.
PreviousNext
123456
phone number
"Room 12 has just been refurbished and extremely nice and quiet"
"Room 1 for a fabulous bed"
"dont stay here"
"Do not book here"
"I can;t comment on the rooms as we only went for dinner and drinks"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sparkford hotel sparkford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSparkford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing