We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We were really disappointed with this hostel. We got a small and smelly room (disgusting mix of moist and tobacco) with no ventilation at all. The bathroom, shared with other two rooms, was not cleaned in more than 3 days. Location is not the best, but has a bus stop nearby. Breakfast is plenty (although the time allowed for breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julen U
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Julen Many thanks for your review as continually strive to improve our accommodation and service! All our rooms have air-conditioning and ventilation. They either have a window overlooking the internal area or a balcony overlooking the street/swimming pool. If you booked a private room, then the bathroom is also private even though if it is external to the room... More 

Verbania, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Pros. Good for the money spent, a lot of space for 1 person and 168€ 3 nights. Cons. one of the worst breakfast. Sun is on the pool just for a few hours PS. for people or group of friends looking for a fun holiday keep in mind that it's mostly a place for early teenager and kids studying so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo D
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Massimo, thanks for staying with us at NSTS Campus and thanks for your positive review! I'm sorry you didn't like the breakfast. We offer a basic breakfast free with each room. During our breakfast we serve: ham, salami, cheese, butter, tomatoes, lettuce, 3 types of cereal, milk, different types of coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice, 3 types of fresh... More 

Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I paid almost 300 euro for a studio for 8 days. I had a room facing the stadium. Actually the studio seemed to be a student's dorm for 3 people. There were 1 large desk with 2 chairs (where should the third person sit?), couple of small wardrobes, 3 weirdest beds I've ever seen (I think when all the 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank shelly_jah
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shelly, thank's for your review! Yes, you are right the accommodation is designed for students, more specifically designed for the under 35’s. Some students are designed to accommodate 2 guests, and the other students are slightly larger to accommodate 3 guests. As a single guest you were most probably given a studio designed to accommodate 2 guests comfortably, with... More 

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in NSTS for 5 weeks and was a good experience. It is good located for who want to have a closer experience with local culture and Maltese people. The Staff were friendly and supportive, the dorms comfortable and secure. Good value for money and keep in mind that is a students residence. To improve could be the showers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Vanessa, thanks for your suggestions and your review! Our cleaning schedule is currently twice weekly, but I will take up your suggestions with the Operations Manager. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon! The NSTS Campus Team More 

Regensburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2016

NSTS Campus is well located for who wants to live both internationally and close to the Maltese people. I have been warmly welcomed last year. That's why I enjoyed coming back this year in this vibrant and lively atmosphere supervised by a very professional management team. The service, safety and security are well assured by a pleasant and cheerful reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank come1poissondanslo
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! We're so glad you chose to come visit us again, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! The NSTS Campus Team More 

Ljubljana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Nice staff (at the reception as in the kitchen). Basic equiped, but all you need (shower+bed) if you spend whole day out. Guests of all age stay there. Dispite being quite big for a hostel, no problems with noise or crowds.

Helpful?
Thank Stefka G
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stefka, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon! The NSTS Campus Team More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
729 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I chose this place because it was one of the cheaper areas near the airport and Valleta. 1) Rooms are tiny 2) The electric sockets inside the rooms are not working 3) bathroom facility is located outside the rooms 4) clean beddings and towels are provided 5) my room had airconditioning 6) The view outside my bedroom window was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank betty l
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Betty, Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the clean bedding and towels, the air conditioning, the free Wifi and free breakfast! Yes, all rooms do have private external bathrooms and internal views as advertised. Should these rooms not be to your preference, we would instead recommend our studio rooms which are larger and which all have en-suite... More 

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

This hostel is more for youth people. Here are a lot of school trips and it can be really noisy. They fighting for the breakfast, you should be fast to get something. And the bathrooms have a problem, after you taken a shower, the water is everywhere because the shower is not separated.

Helpful?
Thank ewe1989
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and for informing us about the problem with the bathroom. I have reported the issue to management. Should you need anything further, please do not hesitate to contact us on hostel@nsts.org More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Pleasant hostel about a 40 min walk from Valletta, or less if you prefer to take the bus :) Good things: - good communication to Valletta and airport. - lovely breakfast, bread, real coffee, juice, cereal, ham, cheese, croissants, lettuce, fruit, yoghurt. - soft and clean sheets - powerful hot showers - maps in reception - nice staff Less good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
Nsts M, Public Relations Manager at NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Kristin for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the reception! And also many thanks for your suggestions, we will try our best to make some changes! We're also sorry that you felt cold during your stay however an A/C in available on heating mode during this time of year. We also apologize for the lack of... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Actually, it's a hostel that offers rooms as a hotel. I mean we booked a double room and got a 5 beds room! 5 beds, and nothing else, except 5 boxes and a chair. Breakfast is average (just cold dishes, nothing cooked in house). Location at 1/2 hour bus (including waiting time) to the Valletta terminal, 10 mins walking to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MirceaK

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
1.1 km away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
1.9 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,144 reviews
1.4 km away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 11 in Valletta
3,465 reviews
1.0 km away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.9 km away
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Hotel Kennedy Nova
#2 of 2 in Il Gzira
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Campus Residence and Hostel is located on the Gzira/Msida border, adjacent to the University of Malta sports complex perimeter, and within 10/15 minutes by public transport to the capital city of Valletta. A friendly atmosphere among staff and residents are its top characteristics. Its young environment and low prices makes the hostel the ideal place for budget backpackers, independent travellers and students alike! Discount student rates apply for long lets of over 12 weeks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel

Address: University Rd 60 Triq L-Imsida, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1403, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Price Range: €10 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NSTS Campus Residence And Hostel Malta/Il Gzira
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are lately furnished”
 of 5 bubbles E834LWmassimod, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't trust Booking.com pictures: it's not the room you get.”
 of 5 bubbles MirceaK, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Some bedrooms are faced to the main street or inside the building, in front of the swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles 185cem, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street have a beautiful view!!”
  • the feild across the street
 of 5 bubbles 374amandaa, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for anything on the north side with a balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles MatejPharm, 23 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay