We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kaiteri Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kaiteri Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is far too small for the number of people they squeeze in here. The kitchen was cramped & poorly equipped. The cabin type things we opted to stay in were horrible & weren't cleaned at all the 3 nights we stayed there which resulted in a muddy, sandy & slippery floor. The only good thing about the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not go for the budget accommodation! It's literally a shipping container with one portaloo between 30 people. It represents awful value for money at $28 per night. Disgusting actually. Go for the middle range one or top end. Learn my lesson!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom W
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Tom W, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodges budget accommodation. Upon check-in all guests are given the options of a $28 budget dorm in a portacom , a $32 inside dorm or a premium $35 dorm with ensuite, tv and fridge ( subject to availability). The budget dorms are located just 20 metres away from...

Waikato New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night in this place and were offered a great rate! Our room was basic but had all we needed and we really had a good sleep despite the fact that it had two bus loads of people there! Adi is most welcoming and a pleasure to chat to! Will definitely recommend to family and friends! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora c0mmuter, Many thanks for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. Our team here work very hard to ensure that our guests have a great stay and, even though we are exceptionally busy, our in house security monitor noise levels so that everyone has a peaceful evening. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel was completely pact when I visited. No bed was left. For that the hostel is simply to small. It took forever to get a free cooking space. Also there are just a few shower and toilet facilities. The location is very cool tho. It is just 50 m to the awesome beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steffen S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived with a large group (Kiwi experience) and had a very slow check in. Other hostels accommodating Kiwi buses have worked out a fast check in procedure but we were waiting in a long queue outside Kaiteriteri Lodge. I'm glad it wasn't raining! The kitchen is FAR too small for the amount of guests at the lodge. We even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Macolo3
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Macolo3, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Kaiteri Lodge. The Kiwi Experience driver advises all in-bound passengers to use cash for the check in as with up to 108 pax checking in at one time, this is the fastest option. Unfortunately, we had many people at the front of the queue who all...

Reviewed 20 October 2016

I was travelling New Zealand in a pretty big group, and all the staff members were very nice and friendly to all of us. Besides, the beds are very comfy, all the premises are clean and tidy and they have a pub with great food! Totally recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulinha d
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Paulinha d, Thanks for giving Kaiteri Lodge such a great review ! It certainly is very busy here during check in time which can prove trying for our tour bus guests. The staff here have streamlined the check-in process so that the wait in reduced considerably and our House-keeping team run a tight ship :-) All of our...

Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our last night on our Abel Tasman trip we stayed here at Kaiteri Lodge, four of us in a family room, complete with fridge and own bathroom. The room was on the ground floor and right at the front of the building facing the street but there wasnt much noise when we went to bed so we all had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Nikki B, Thanks for the great review of Kaiteri Lodge. We certainly are in a great location being just 50 mtrs from the golden sands of Kaiteriteri Beach. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got to sample some of our local cuisine. Happy travels and hope to see you again ! Kind regards, Adi Empsall Kaiteri...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

My two co-workers and I stayed here for three nights and it was one of our favourite places we stayed at in New Zealand! Their staff members, 'Adi' and 'Rich' were so welcoming and made us feel right at home! It is kept up very well and is only 5 seconds from the beach! They also have a great kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa C
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Alexa, It was fantastic to meet you all and spend a bit of time chatting with other people in the same industry. We are so lucky to have an amazing location here and Rich is a fantastic Receptionist. I hope you get to come back and see us all again soon !! Best wishes from Team Kaiteri :-)))))...

New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2016

About a month ago, my partner and I went up to Kaiteriteri to celebrate my birthday. What we didn't realize was that many of the restaurants closed super early during that time of the season, so we were left with no place to eat, and no food. When we asked the manager if he could suggest other dining options around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniryni
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Moniryni, Thanks for your wonderful review. During off peak season there are certain days that local restaurants and business close early or is simply not open due to the reduced foot traffic in the area. Here at Kaiteri Lodge we are one big family and loved having you join us for the staff meal, that's Kiwi hospitality for...

fort collins
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Rich at front desk was helpful and enthusiastic. We stayed in a short trip without booking beforehand and we're pleased with the family room. Thanks for the great weekend and the lovely scenery. We hope to return soon and would stay here again without reservation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heineke
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Heineke, Thanks for your great review and yes we think our Receptionist Rich is awesome too ! We enjoy having guest from all over the world coming to visit here and getting to enjoy our little piece of paradise. We hope you get to come back and see us again soon :-) Kind regards, Adi Empsall Kaiteri Lodge...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
2.3 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
106 reviews
19.6 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
260 reviews
0.6 km away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
311 reviews
0.1 km away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 4 in Kaiteriteri
75 reviews
1.5 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Price Range: €44 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private room with ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles c0mmuter, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“20m to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Mic_Born, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Families should not consider this lodge”
 of 5 bubbles ADTravelerUae, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a double for not much extra!”
 of 5 bubbles 23J23, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay