We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau de la Verie

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau de la Verie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of Chateau de la Verie
 Click to rate
Mache, France
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Yet another fabulous meal in this quaint and very French restaurant. We have eaten here a number of times and have never been disappointed. The staff are courteous, highly professional and efficient. The food is superb, always delicious and so cleverly presented. The whole experience is just perfect, worth every cent; we will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisndi12
LeChateaudelaVerie, Responsable réception at Chateau de la Verie, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We always welcome you with pleasure. See you soon. Solène

Reviewed 22 December 2016

We had a lovely stay, a warm welcome, the room was exactly as seen on the website and the whole experience fantastic. We were only travelling through so only had one night but would highly recommend as a 'Chateau' stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We spent our Summer touring around France, booking as we went along! We decided that we wanted to head around St-Jean-de-Monts and booked the Chateau via an app. Staying for two nights, we had full access to the swimming pool (which was the perfect size for dip in the sun!) and enjoyed the gardens with a drink on the terrace....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HanaBana1
Waterford
Reviewed 14 October 2016

It had been six years since our last visit and we wondered was it as good as we remembered. We were not disappointed. The staff are as fantastic as ever, friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere of the château is a reflection of the lovely people who work there. The grounds are beautifully maintained and entice the visitor to wander around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarieLloyd
Walsall
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We have stayed at Le Verie a number of times over the past few years and the standard has continued to rise. The menu is fantastic and beautifully presented, dinner on the terrace is an experience not to be missed. Rooms are a novel mix of the old combined with modern facilities, excellent wifi, tv etc. It is a place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobwood
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Today. Brilliant. The grounds are beautiful. The building is charming. The meal was delicious. The service was attentive and courteous. 5 ladies with differing tastes, from the set menu, incredibly good value, to the à la carte with foie gras and langoustines. The wines matched the meals. Can't praise this place enough. Nothing was too much trouble. So under-rated. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsLeeds
Lancaster
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is our fourth visit to this elegant chateau set in pleasant parkland, complete with swimming pool and tennis court. The receptionist was friendly and very welcoming (and happy to tactfully correct my faulty French); and all of the staff were equally amiable and helpful. The room was reasonably spacious with wooden floors, antique furniture and traditional decor, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bootess
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed here for just one night and did Not have an evening meal so cannot comment on this aspect. The chateau is in a lovely setting with beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. It appeared to have a very nice outdoor pool but again we did not use. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we were even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
DC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We loved this place. If it’s nightlife and an active urban scene you are looking for, this is not the place. This is a chateau built in the 16th century that has been adapted as a modern day hotel to the extent possible. No elevator, which wasn’t a problem --- and no air conditioning, but it absolutely was not needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWN
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Stayed two nights here in July. Delightful lady on reception - lovely welcome. Good pool outside for a quick swim. Second floor bedroom (no lift). Very comfortable. TV - very limited programmes. Free wifi. Good bathroom. Clean. Delightful view over extensive grounds. Treated ourselves to an evening meal - cheapest 'menu' at 35 euros each, but glad we did it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challans
3.1 km away
Le Manoir de l'Antiquite
Le Manoir de l'Antiquite
#2 of 6 in Challans
96 reviews
32.6 km away
Hotel  La Villa en l'Ile
Hotel La Villa en l'Ile
#1 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
303 reviews
34.5 km away
Ancre Marine
Ancre Marine
#4 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Thalasso
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Thalasso
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
1,047 reviews
39.6 km away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
855 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Challans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Restaurant Château de la Vérie is located near the town of Challans, at the route de Soullans, near Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie in a favorable entourage. The pure and mild climate of the Vendée ensures a quiet and comfortable stay in our castle. Our 17 hectares park, with a goat and sheep enclosure brings nature within reach.Enjoy a relaxing moment at our outdoor swimming pool or at our tennis court, and savour the pleasure of our haute cuisine restaurant. With its menus of seasonal and quality ingredients the gastronomic restaurant of Château de la Vérie is a tribute to French cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau de la Verie

Address: Route de Soullans, 85300 Challans, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Challans
Price Range: €80 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Verie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Verie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau de la Verie staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chateau de la Verie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are superb. We had a view over the garden. First floor probably easier for anyone with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles MarieLloyd, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hard to fault any room, most look out over the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles bobwood, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our second floor room - good. I'm sure the first floor rooms are bigger and prob more elegant.”
  • 2nd floor room
 of 5 bubbles 197maggieg, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are allocated.......”
 of 5 bubbles FairieMc, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room whose shutters or drapes open onto the lawns!”
 of 5 bubbles jeanh445, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5