We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Manoir De Bellerive

Save
Share
Route de Siorac, 24480 Le Buisson-de-Cadouin France
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Michel and his team welcome you in this magnificent 19th century Manor. Many decorative and compliance work has been achieved, but the soul of the Manor is preserved. All rooms are air-conditioned, and offer direct telephone, TV, minibar, satellite. Come and fresh up in our swimming pool after a day of hiking or play a match of tennis to stay fit during your holiday. The Manoir is at the heart of an area rich in sights and activities (Cadouin, Beynac, Sarlat, the valley of the 5 castles, Lascaux II, the valley of Prehistory, etc.).
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
56Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 10
  • 9
  • 2
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Peanut wrote a review Jun 2019
7 contributions7 helpful votes
If you want to stay in a typical French country hotel then this hotel is not for you it’s having a personality crisis! The main entrance looks traditional although not sure what the Chinese Dragon statues are all about or the pergola ... all very odd indeed .....the rest of the property is very unkempt ...... rooms are tatty dusty and smell of damp .... it’s such a shame because the hotel is in a wonderful location .... breakfast was adequate...dinner was something else altogether with an unfortunate Chinese menu with a bit of sushi thrown in just to confuse the issue .... very very odd in a part of France that is world renown for its gastronomy and fresh produce . So so disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManoirdeBellerive, Responsable relations clients at Le Manoir De Bellerive
Responded 5 Jun 2019
Hello, It's a shame you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, our rooms are far from tatty, dusty or damp. They are cleaned from top to bottom everyday by our hardworking stuff. As you said, our hotel is in a great location within a small distance of many tourist sites. We changed our menu this year from the traditional french dishes as there are plenty of restaurants surrounding us, with pretty much the same menus so we wanted to try something new. People have the choice of trying something orignal here or going round the corner to have traditional Perigordian cuisine.
Read more
Diane D wrote a review Sep 2018
87 contributions14 helpful votes
The receptionist that greeted us was so nice as were the othe receptionists we encountered over the next 3 days. The breakfast room was pretty and good. The library/ salon was old world nice, and we enjoyed code there on several occasions. The dining room was very nice, and we had a good dinner there one night. What bothered me however were the grounds. I kept thinking the owner should "bite" the bullet and hire quite a few "gardeners " over about a 2 week period to pull the weeds in all the beds! The immediate front lawn looks good, but I think someone has lost site of the condition of all the other planting areas and it does not enhance the overall look of the property. I believe I read he has a gardener who works daily, but it will take much more than one person to whip these grounds back into shape. It is necessary I think because your first impression is your last impression.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManoirdeBellerive, Responsable relations clients at Le Manoir De Bellerive
Responded 10 Oct 2018
Hello, Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel! Unfortunately our 2nd gardener has been off sick for quite a while and we have now employed a replacement for him. We hope to see you again in the near future !
Read more
Francetravelann wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution10 helpful votes
Room spacious but dark, smells of mold, cleaning done badly. The decoration remained frozen since the 70's. The garden and pool a disappointment.This is the first time we are dissatisfied with a hotel in France.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManoirdeBellerive, Responsable relations clients at Le Manoir De Bellerive
Responded 10 Oct 2018
Hello, I can assure you that our rooms are cleaned everyday to a very high standard. Our pool is cleaned everyday and the grounds are hard to handle with the weather we've had this summer, It's a shame that you never told one of our receptionists about this as we could have sorted out the problem during your stay..
Read more
greatholsAsia wrote a review Aug 2018
Asia154 contributions291 helpful votes
+1
House & Entrance: Your first impression is of a half built Chinese pergola & wall surrounded by building bricks and rubbish which looked like a project began then abandoned. You then walk past an old set of rabbit hutches containing someone’s pet rabbits as you enter the front door which just sets the tone going forward. The building itself is a lovely, albeit rundown French Manor House unusually furnished with a mix of Asian and French fixtures. It felt like someone’s private house that deemed to let the occasional guest stay in order to make some money not like a hotel at all. Grounds: Other than one area of the front lawn the gardens are unkempt and badly neglected. In reality this hotel looks nothing like it’s website photo gallery. It is sadly dilapidated. If you didn’t know any better one would have thought it an abandoned site. The pool is in a lovely location directly next to the Dordogne river but now old and in a bad state or repair although a handful of new plastic chairs have been added.The tennis court is in reasonable condition but dirty and the wall and area surrounding it dilapidated. Room: The room decor was old, worn and in need of a complete refurbishment, although a flat screen TV and a split air con has been added which just helped highlight how dreadful the existing decor was. Musty,dusty, dark and unclean. Paintwork dirty, covered with mould , unpleasant as one of the mouldy windows is located directly next to the bed head. If you opened the windows the gap between the window & insect net was filthy. Mismatched furniture propped up on bits of cardboard to make it stable rendering it a safety hazard particularly for small children. Badly stained broken furniture. Mini bar so old it that it didn't look fit for purpose. Bathrooms: Old, stained with sanitary fittings that don’t match. The toilet seat has to be seen to be believed. The cheap plastic vanity sink unit was hideous and the cheap mirror stickers on the ceiling were very tacky. Restaurant: Having viewed the room and how neglected and dilapidated this hotel was we decided not to chance the restaurant, although when ever we passed it was empty. We only stayed as it was too late to find an alternative. We then moved to another Hotel which I can only describe as a little bit of heaven compared to Le Manoir and with little difference in price. There was one Receptionist and though not very knowledgeable seemed to be the only member of staff and carried out all roles. Very few guests but woefully understaffed judging by the state of the place. I did read the good reviews before making a reservation but having now stayed I’m astonished as it’s clearly a very different hotel although noted most good reviews are old. The terrible reviews I found only after my stay unfortunately under “all languages”. It’s clear from the Owners response to terrible/poor reviews that they don’t take criticism well, maybe that’s the reason the hotel has so few guests. In summary, dilapidated, worn and badly neglected. Pleased to head away from this hotel and even at half the price it would be hard to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay else where
See more room tips
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManoirdeBellerive, Responsable relations clients at Le Manoir De Bellerive
Responded 24 Aug 2018
Hello, I'm sorry that our hotel wasn't quite to your taste but this review is completely uncalled for and a lot is false. House & Entrance: Yes we are building a chinese garden which will look lovely and compliment the grounds once finished. We do indeed have our rabbits near the car park which children love. The building itself is lovely as you said and it was built in 1840. Our hotel was full during your stay so I'm not sure why you got the feeling of being in someone's private home? Grounds: Our grounds are nicely kept and our gardener is out everyday doing all he can. The pool is in good condition and cleaned every morning. The tennis court is also in good condition, it does however have a few leaves on it in the far corner against the wall but this doesn't disturb play. There are leaves on our grounds, by the tennis courts etc as we live in the countryside and this can not be helped.. Room: The decor and rooms have an old feel to them as the Manor house is old, it was built in 1840 and people come here to almost go back in time, we do not want to completely modernize it as it'll take away the beauty of it. The furniture is still in good condition and yes we have added holiday essentiels such as a flat screen Tv and air conditioning as it gets very hot in the summer here, surely these are good points? Our rooms are cleaned everyday, our cleaner is very particular and good at her job. There is a touch of humidity by one of the windows which we have now dealt with. Yes there are a few flies in the fly nets, thats what they are for. None of the furniture in your room is broken or a safety hazard for children, we have annual inspections. However we are currently doing up all of our rooms little by little as the current owners bought the Manor House 3 years ago and it was abandonned for years before, renovating such a building is extremely expensive so please understand this. Bathrooms: Our bathrooms are well kept, clean and in style with our rooms. What was wrong with the toilet seat? Nobody else has complained about it? Restaurant: Our restaurant has been full every night since July and we've had excellent feedback from all of our diners, so I think you've probably missed out there. Every hotel has good and bad reviews, no matter how hard we try we can not please everyone. We take criticism well, as it helps us improve for future guests but only when it is called for and with valid points. Our hotel has been very successful this summer and has been full most of it. Unfortunately we remember you very well and know exactly why you made this review and criticized us so much with very few valid points, on the morning of your departure you refused point blank to pay the mere sum of 18€ for the pet fee (15€) and the local tax (3€). We hope that you had a lovely time in your next hotel and that you paid for it.
Read more
Willfrance wrote a review Aug 2018
French Alps, France5 contributions17 helpful votes
located near to village lovely location by river only staff was friendly receptionist much potential accommodation basic and worn double bed - two singles pushed together mini bar did not work swimming pool area not sufficiently cleaned & uninviting rundown seating areas & broken garden furniture tennis court not sufficiently cleaned few guests - gave strange vibe Hotel needs a total refit to restore it to a level that would be commensurate with the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManoirdeBellerive, Responsable relations clients at Le Manoir De Bellerive
Responded 7 Aug 2018
Hello, I'm sorry that you found so many problems with our hotel, why didn't you tell our receptionnist about them, we could have made your stay more enjoyable? We either have standard double beds or double beds that can be split into two singles, many hotels do this to accommodate groups. Which room were you in and why not tell us about the mini bar so we could fix it? Although, we haven't had any complaints about a mini bar since your departure. The swimming pool and tennis courts are cleaned daily, yes there is a pile of pine needles in the far corner of the tennis court, but it is out of the way and not dirty. There are fewer tourists in the area this year which would explain why are hotel isn't quite full. We are restoring the hotel room by room, it was abandoned for a few years before the current owners bought it, as you know how large the property is, you can understand this takes a lot of time and even more money. Regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le manoir de bellerive hotel le buisson-de-cadouin, le manoir de bellerive bergerac
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineDordogneLe Buisson-de-Cadouin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Manoir De Bellerive
Which popular attractions are close to Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Nearby attractions include Les Grottes de Maxange (1.2 km), Jardins Panoramiques de Limeuil (5.4 km), and Château de Campagne (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Terrasses de la Cote Rouge, Auberge l'Espérance, and Le Trefle a 4 Feuilles.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Manoir De Bellerive?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parc Le Bournat (7.7 km) and War memorial Tremolat (7.9 km).
Is Le Manoir De Bellerive accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.