Seaview House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Seaview House Hotel

Traveller (108)
lit king size!!
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal quaint hotel in Ballylickey does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Seaview House Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Seaview House Hotel is a quaint hotel offering a flat screen TV in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Ballylickey. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you are looking for a good French restaurant, you may want to check out Dan Phils Restaurant while staying at Seaview Hotel.

Seaview House Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Ballylickey.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Fishing
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
319Reviews4Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 64
  • 29
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Billybutton wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a three night break in Seaview and our package included dinner in the evenings. Our room was lovely, and very clean. The bathroom had been modernised but the bedroom itself had lovely antique furniture. The double bed was comfortable.
Breakfasts were lovely. Great raw ingredients prepared well.
Staff were warm, friendly and professional and were helpful and delightful to chat to.
The dining room is beautiful, especially in the evening when candles are lit and the lights go down. Again, beautiful antique furniture and buckets of atmosphere.
Food was good but could be more consistent. On Sunday evening the crab crumble starter was bordering on the inedible - simply white crab meat, topped with too many breadcrumbs and grilled. It was dry and dreadful. Monkfish scampi were oily and unpleasant. The carrot, beetroot and celery salad was awful too. Maybe it was a bad night.
However, the main courses were spectacular (Black sole on the bone, turbot with prawns, salmon with hollandaise) and the fish starters later in our stay (crab salad, and scallops with black pudding) were much improved. Other starters of Durrus cheese fritters were delicious, as was the warm salad of chicken and bacon.
This is a beautiful hotel, bursting with charm and character. We felt very welcome and relaxed there and I would recommend it highly. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa C wrote a review Mar 2022
London, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed our stay at the Seaview House Hotel. The first thing to say is that the staff are all lovely and friendly and cannot do enough to help you which I feel is one of the most important aspects of a hotel. The location is lovely in a quiet village just outside Bantry, you have to travel to most of the main sites in West Cork and there is a fair drive to a lot of the main West Cork towns, but it is a lovely peaceful location. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable, the rooms were very warm and we were never cold despite it being coastal Ireland in March. The view out of my window was beautiful. Wi-fi was perfectly fine. The showers are slightly low pressure but that is to be expected for a hotel of this type. I have seen the comments about the dated nature of the decor, if you are looking for a hyper-modern hotel with key cards, mini bars, lots of room service then this is not for you, personally I found the hotel full of character and charming, a nice change from impersonal modern hotels, it is just down to what people prefer. The breakfast is decent and plentiful, the kitchen will fix you up with most things you would like. I used the spa for a massage and the treatment was lovely, once again the spa staff were brilliant, I regret not having the seaweed bath. It is a little expensive and I wonder if some guests who are used to a lot of amenities might not appreciate it, however I really like the old-fashioned period nature and in terms of service, friendliness and the quality of rooms I think it was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronan info, Owner at Seaview House Hotel
Responded 18 May 2022
Thank you for such a lovely review, we were delighted you enjoyed the Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. best wishes from Seaview.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patk C wrote a review Dec 2021
Waterford, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On a return visit to the Seaview Hotel, we were warmly welcomed on arrival and treated to complimentary Homemade Mulled Cider and Mince Pies, contact details were verified and our Covid Certs checked. During our stay it was obvious that the safety of guests and the cleanliness of the hotel were an apparent priority - very reassuring in these present times of Covid, all staff wore face masks and there was plenty of hand sanitizing stations around the hotel.
The Hotel was warm and cosy and decorated for Christmas, each member of staff we met was most welcoming, helpful, and professional in carrying out their duties, without ever being intrusive.
The service in the restaurant, where tables were well spaced, for both dinner and breakfast were second to none.
Our room was spacious, comfortable, and attractively decorated and furnished, the heated bathroom floor was an unexpected pleasure (what a difference it makes), the bed was so comfortable.
I absolutely cannot recommend this hotel any higher.
We were delighted with our stay in the are already looking forward to our next visit in the Spring
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Therese M wrote a review Jun 2021
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a top notch 90 min Voya treatment, including facial and back massage by Justine last week in Seaviews's Bathhouse Spa. Fantastic products expertly applied, with a lovely chat and herbal tea to finish off. Don't miss it if you visit Seaview House! My one disappointment was the location of the hot tub in a dark corner area with no attractive outlook.

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in Seaview. Perhaps better use of ground floor space could be made by moving the bar into the underutilised library, and thereby making space to introduce additional wing back armchairs &/or comfy armchairs in its place, to encourage guests to relax and sit around for few drinks/tea & scones in what is a more welcoming room in terms of outlook & ambience than the library. A larger nicely designed conservatory off this room, extending out from it current position, would be a bonus. These changes would be all the more important in poor weather. Tub chairs & window benches while fine for a quick pre-dinner drink dont encourage sitting around for long. Tea & scones would be a nice addition.

It appears that work is ongoing upgrading the rooms and this is needed. Food was generally good, & better than many hotel menus. Portions were generous, however some inconsistency in cooking was noticed over the 4 days. Some new additions to the garden seating area were attractive & welcome, yet again perhaps more comfortable seating throughour the garden would reap benefits. Overall however it is a value for money stay compared to many other hotels, and ongoing improvements, particularly in bedrooms, will hopefully be continued.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronan info, Owner at Seaview House Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2021
Many thanks for you lovely review. it was our pleasure looking after you. Regards, Ronan.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
megaohm wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Seaview House Hotel on August 2nd and 3rd 2021 for Bed and Breakfast. Really poor and could not recommend. Hotel is tired and dated. Large crack in the bathroom sink and vanity light. No tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. Wine and strawberries ordered in advance to our room, on arrival to find wine sitting in water and no strawberries. Had to go down to the bar to refill the ice bucket to chill wine.
TV on very loud in next door room on both nights until the early hours, impossible to sleep as walls are not sound insulated. Mentioned the issue to reception after first night, having being awake until 01.45hrs and assumed issue would be dealt with. Exactly same issue on night two. Got dressed at 01.30hrs to locate night porter, and eventually got the offending room door opened, the occupants woken and the TV turned off. They were asleep with the TV On….
Informed by management the following morning as a reason for the issue continuing to the second night, in that they could not manage resident’s behavior and were unsure of the offending room.
Dining staff are excellent but breakfast was just OK...no jam for the croissants
There are far better places to stay at similar prices. We received a small discount on our bill of €360 which is no way compensated for two nights of very poor sleep on a sightseeing holiday.
Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronan info, Owner at Seaview House Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking time for your review. As always if there is an issue with a customer satisfaction we always address this as matter of urgency. We strive and pride ourselves on a welcoming, relaxing and friendly environment, with good food. Our reviews reflect this, we are a family business for over 70 years and we have a wonderful team of 37. if we did not strive to give a good customer experience we would not be around for so long. Therefore I’m really sorry that your experience did not match so many others on this occasion. However I would like to clarify a few points. You advised us that you had interrupted sleep because of a TV on really loud in one the adjacent rooms, you reported this to reception desk the following morning and provided us with the incorrect room number from where the noise originated. Therefore when we investigated it was not possible for us to determine where the noise incident had occurred on that floor that evening because you had told us the wrong room number. The room number you provided checked out the following morning so we assumed the issue was naturally rectified. If you had reported the noise that night we would have checked the actual room where the noise originated from and resolved the problem. Unusually we received no other complaints from that floor or the other adjacent room and the Hotel was fully booked. When you returned after midnight on the second night again, you came down to reception on this occasion and we dealt with the TV noise and the offending room immediately. We were very sorry for this but it wasn’t something we had direct control over until we identified the correct room. The wing of rooms you stayed is in fact insulated in line with building regulations it’s a concrete build and a relatively new wing but the TV was up full volume. With regards to your comments on the wine placed in the room, we placed a chiller in your room for check-in at 3pm, you checked in much later, as we were not aware of your exact time of your arrival the ice did in fact melt. It was a simple swap over or dial to reception to swap for a replacement chilled bottle of wine I apologies for this as we should have done this as a matter of course. With regards to comment of the tiredness of the hotel, we have extensively refurbished the hotel over the last 3 years including 90% of the Bed room stock, Bar, Spa , and Public areas. This year alone we refurbished 9 Rooms added a New Garden Terrace, Re-painted the outside of the building and refurbished 80 sash windows. The Hotel is a Manor House therefore the olde world charm is maintained to reflect the vintage character of the building. At breakfast we have a high standard, and we make our own marmalade which many guests request to take home, we do have jam so if you preferred that with your croissant our wonderful staff would have accommodated your request. You mentioned what you paid, you did not pay that amount quoted on the review, I was apologetic as it was a bit of a freak incident also with mix up in reporting the room number. We did not have direct control over the noise and we had empathy as you had interrupted sleep not long after you returned to your room each evening from being out. We did compensate you, and it was not insignificant. However I did say that we can’t control guest behaviour of what their TV’s volume is in every room, but it was clear from the report I got the next morning that it was dealt with immediately once you came down to reception to report the issue. You could have just called down and the porter would have went upstairs. Your reviews seems to point out we had done nothing prior to this, but this is not the case. When I discussed this on check out you acknowledged that you had given us the incorrect room number. It was clear to you this was the case and we had not ignored the issue. Regards Ronan.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fee109 wrote a review Aug 2021
County Cork, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spa was clean and peaceful. Treatment - mini facial and half back massage lovely. Sea weed baths so enjoyable. Would highly recommend.
Staff lovely, friendly. very accommodating and welcoming.
Would 100% return.

Suggestions to improve
Voya products should be refilled, bathroom and bath rooms had little to no product in dispensers. Especially disappointing that no moisturizer would come out.
Voya candles should be used rather than a plain tea light in the voya candle case 🙈
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bring two piece swimwear if using bath so you can rub seaweed on more body area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronan info, Owner at Seaview House Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2021
Dear Fee109, Thank you for your lovely review we are glad that you enjoyed your experience in our Spa, and delighted to hear you will return ! Justine and her team work hard to make every client enjoy there spa experience and were glad to hear that they succeeded in doing so. They would also like to thank you for pointing out a few suggestions that needed addressing to enhance the spa, this has been addressed first thing this morning ! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again .. Warm Regards Ronan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkBinStPete wrote a review Jul 2022
St. Petersburg, FL
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was supposed to stay at the Seaview overnight but ended up staying for three nights because of a personal issue.

The hotel is gorgeous as are the grounds. This is an old historic property that offers full amenities while reflecting its history and place in a rural beautiful part of Ireland. My room was anything but cookie cutter — as best I could see every room was different with lovely furniture. My bed was comfortable and my view at the front of the hotel caught a bit of the Bay along with the hotel’s gardens. The public areas of the hotel are beautifully furnished and there are a number of attractive outdoor seating areas on the grounds.

The staff is remarkable. I’m not sure how else I can phrase it. They looked after me and did everything possible to make me comfortable and happy. They proactively thought of things to improve my stay and journey and then asked if I wanted it. All four days that I was there every staff member went the extra mile to try to make sure I was getting everything I needed and making suggestions — included suggested walks, taking a meal out in the garden, connections to town and things to do. Absolutely perfect and wonderful staff.

I had meals from the restaurant three times. All were good — I thought the lamb was spectacular.

This is a living and lovingly treated historic property in a gorgeous rural part of Ireland. If you desire to stay anywhere near Bantry I highly recommend Seaview House Hotel as a way to elevate your entire trip and be pampered. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff is remarkable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Plenty of parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle B wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an absolutely fantastic stay here, couldn't fault a thing, from bar staff (special thanks to Jeff, Mike & Nicola), reception staff Dave, Gerry & Sharon,
They all went over & beyond to cater for my allergies( incl lady waiting our tables)( I didn't get her name unfortunately) made sure 1million% I had no reactions to any food incl sauces, very safety conscious & very aware of allergens,very friendly, attentive, & most of all attentive to the simplest of detail. Would recommend 1million times over for hospitality, thank you all so much for a fantastic stay, sorry I wrecked your head with the many many allergies I have, but nothing was too much trouble & was all handled with the utmost discretion to save embarrassment for asking so many questions about ingredients. I will definitely be back, staff are absolutely second to none !! Again, thank you all
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JMPWiley wrote a review Sept 2021
Co.Cork
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to treat ourselves to a superior room. What a disappointment, small dated room with curtains from the 70s. The room was subdivided to form the smallest basic shower room imaginable. Some lovely furniture in the house. The dinning room was a lovely space. Breakfast was very ordinary. No real seaview from Seaview House.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronan info, Owner at Seaview House Hotel
Responded 11 Sept 2021
Dear JMPWiley, Thank you for your review, Seaview House Hotel is country manor set back in 4 acres of mature gardens with a treelined avenue with some views from certain parts of the building like the restaurant and rooms from the second floors. Sorry we did not match your expectation for the room you were in but you requested a Seaview room, some of the rooms in the original building have an olde world charm. maybe not to your taste. We also can’t change the structure of the room too much due to heritage preservation order. All our rooms are different with different styles and some of those rooms have a vintage feel, the superior rooms have beautiful bay windows that you have space to sit and look out over the gardens and there is a Seaview from this room you stayed in, as we followed your requirement for a sea view when you made the booking, It was the only room available to us with a sea view at that time. Next time you return we could book you into a different styled room more to your taste. Lastly It’s a pity that when I gave out the charitable voucher to your friend Helen (which you used) who enjoyed her stay immensely that you did not feel the same. Regards Ronan.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie-eve G wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We Loved our week long stay in the Seaview. We decided to stay the full week and then do day trips instead of moving around and found it much more relaxing. The entire hotel and rooms are filled with antiques which have been collected for years. The house and gardens were absolutely stunning. We thoroughly enjoyed our Spa Experience, we visited the spa for the wellness journey which is a seaweed bath followed by a massage which was amazing. We then returned for more massages and to use the outdoor woodfired hottub. My massages were really good and the therapists both gave me a deeper tissue even though deep tissue massage isn't on the menu, however my partner said his was good but he would of liked more pressure. If I lived closer I would definitely be returning to the spa regularly. Unfortunately we couldnt use the outdoor sauna due to coronavirus but they said it should reopen next year with more renovations and upgrades :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronan info, Owner at Seaview House Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review we enjoyed having you visit us in the spa on several occassions during your stay ! If i can recall your partner had a shoulder injury so the therapist was aware of this and did ask on several occassions was the pressure ok..so apologies if he felt it wasn't.. however we do hope to see you both again next year it really was a pleasure meeting you both. Regards The spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smallestone asked a question Nov 2016
Edinbuegh6 contributions
is there any local bars
Answer from maureenmcnamara
Scotch Plains, New Jersey3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi yes there was a bar just a 5 min walk away.
Answer from 15Mau4
Galway, Ireland2 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel which is lovely, but we needed our car to see the sights of which there are many. Perhaps you should contact the hotel - they would be able to assist you with your inquiry.
15Mau4 asked a question Oct 2015
Galway, Ireland2 contributions7 helpful votes
Does the old part of the hotel have canal views?
Answer from ROSULL001
Province of Munster, Ireland
We have views overlooking Bantry Bay.
pplusj wrote a tip May 2024
Bushey, United Kingdom109 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no lifts but plenty of help on hand"
Read full review
Classicovintage wrote a tip Sept 2023
County Cork, Ireland10 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wood burning jacuzzi - not lit"
Read full review
recession-over wrote a tip Aug 2023
Ireland58 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Forget sat nav, bring an AA road map."
Read full review
john wrote a tip Jun 2023
Kilcullen, Ireland6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A good menu with lots of choice"
Read full review
Dominic & Mary Conlon wrote a tip Mar 2023
Ballylickey, Ireland134 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample parking."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballylickey area.
PRICE RANGE
€204 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
seaview hotel bantry
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkBantryBallylickey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SEAVIEW HOUSE HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ballylickey, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Seaview House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Seaview House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Garinish Island (7.6 km), Bantry House & Garden (5.4 km), and Glengarriff Bamboo Park (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Seaview House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Seaview House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Seaview House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seaview House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Donemark West, The Fish Kitchen, and Organico Bantry.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Seaview House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Seaview House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Seaview House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bantry House & Garden (5.4 km).
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire