We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Butlers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Butlers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes it is a bit tired and old fashioned but it was great value for money. Good location, the staff were friendly and breakfast very good quality. The rooms whilst needing some renovation, we're a good size and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_calvinator
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute, was stuck in the area with work due to unforeseen problems. Staff were very friendly and helpful, even though the hotel was almost full they were able to squeeze me in at last minute, fantastic young guy with glasses greeted me on the Friday night and sorted everything for me. Than You once again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan M
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Close to town but very basic, shabby, extremely hot and smelt of sewerage when you flushed the toilet. On a direct flight path so plane noise and the bathroom was disgusting. In a time warp but the position was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have shared your review with the team, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay, we do monitor the cleaning standards regularly and can only apologise for the below par standards you experienced. We are only 6 miles from the airport and not on the actual flight path, its the first time...

HIGH SPEN
Reviewed 17 October 2016

What can I say, read the reviews before we went so kind of knew it was no Buccy Palace. It's a basic and I mean Basic bed down for the night joint. I'm sure in its day judging by the decor 30yr ago it would have been a bit classier than it is now. Appearance indoor and out could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VICTORYSTARLIGHT
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently improving the decoration and standards of the hotel which is a slow process. I have shared your review with all of the team, we would like to invite you back to prove that we can get it right and for you to test drive one of our newly decorated rooms. All the...

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

The Butlers Hotel provided everything I needed for a late night stopover in Leeds. The rooms are basic, the decor is dated and a bit shabby minus the chic but for the price, access to local amenities and free parking in site it was perfect for me. Don't expect glamour and you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MT1239
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Boundary hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had an okay stay. We will certainly be continuing in our efforts to further improve the decoration and standards of the hotel. We hope you will stay again and...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a lads weekend to Leeds, ticked all the boxes. No noise complaints when pre drinking, cheap in a taxi to town (£6) and you can take people back after the night out. Would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle C
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Butlers hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had a good stay Hope to see you on another lads outing again soon. All the best, Mark and the team

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on business . Ok first of all it's a cheap hotel nothing more, it's very dated and needs a update. But to be honest it's a fraction of the price of a city hotel. Cheap and basic. You get what you pay for If it's a basic simple hotel you want yes it's fine, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merseyjay
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Boundary hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had good stay. We will certainly be continuing in our efforts to further improve the decoration and standards of the hotel. We hope you will use us in the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night at this quaint Hotel, but it ticked all boxes for us. Staff were very helpful upon arrival, the room was clean, bed was comfy, great value $$ and there was no distracting noises from the Hotel. Cannot comment on meals as our stay didn't allow, but recommend the stay - totally.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Butlers hotel. Having shared your review with all of the team they were delighted to hear that you had a good stay. Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Mark and the team

Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

I found the place to be very dated, gruby, poorly maintained and over priced. Light and bathroom fittings hanging off the wall, uncomfortable beds and generally a tatty establishment. Breakfast was served by the chef who looked as if he would have fitted in better at a local greasy spoon. Will not be returning unless there's extensive improvement to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chriskennedy1
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have shared your review with the team, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay and sure that if you choose to visit us again we will not disappoint in delivering you the perfect stay. We do monitor the cleaning standards regularly and can only apologise for the below par standards you...

South Ockendon, Essex
Reviewed 12 July 2016

+ve's - Comfortable bed, clean room, plenty of free parking on site. About two miles from city centre and easy walk. -ve's - Very tired decor, very dated building, everything creaked and with no soundproofing, could hear everything in next room and everyone going up and down stairs and everything from outside (earplugs a necessity). Didn't hang around in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank killerdwarf

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.5 km away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
272 reviews
1.3 km away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#2 of 9 in Headingley
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 85 in Leeds
1,037 reviews
1.9 km away
Village Hotel Leeds North
18.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Butlers Hotel

Address: 40 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Price Range: €49 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Butlers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, SpeedyBooker.com, Budget Places, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Butlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Leeds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Butlers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in the abbey room. Smells of sewerage”
 of 5 bubbles lisacD172TY, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you could get a top floor rear room you may get a view of The Headingly stadium/ground”
 of 5 bubbles zzaatt, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The top floor was quiet, and warm.”
 of 5 bubbles 404ericab, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are no lifts so a less mobile guest would need a ground floor room. Make sure the radiator works.”
 of 5 bubbles maw4748, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I suggest if you want a good room to choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Mark-and-Sue-Sussex, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay