We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalhousie Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dalhousie Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dalhousie Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,204: English reviews
NEWCASTLE
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I have always wanted to stay in a castle and I booked what I thought and expected was going to be a full castle experience for our wedding anniversary, unfortunately our room was called castle rocks and although it is in the castle grounds it is over a bridge and in a very dark wooded area and you can't even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HAMISHNEWCASTLE
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Hamishnewcastle Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry that you didn't get the opportunity to stay in the castle, I am aware that we were not in a position to be able to move your room due to being fully occupied on the day that you stayed. I am very pleased to read that you...

Willis
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We loved it ,my husband and I had a enjoyed the grounds,the room was very nice,It had a full size bath! Good water pressure.( not always available in other places ) The bed was comfortable.it didn't have a elevator, the landings at the top of stairs was a place to sit for photo shoots!we had a good time,totally different from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gdebg
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Gdebg Thank you so very much for your lovely review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the castle and will share your feedback along with my gratitude to all of the team. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. A very good day to you.

London
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed just one night and it was a great experience. Our room was enormous with a beautiful four posted bed, and tastefully decorated to reflect days gone by, but not in an over-the-top way. I had read a range of reviews, some fairly lukewarm, but we thought the castle had a lot of charm. The staff were helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter2581
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear GlobeTrotter2581 Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and have passed on my thanks to the team who looked after you during your visit to Dalhousie Castle. If I may kindly address your point regarding the Sauna. I believe you may be referring to the Ottoman, which is a Turkish...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Booked this hotel with a (very expensive) dinner reservation. Absolute disaster. Were told to come to the library to have drinks before being taken to dinner. Only problem - no one came to take drink order or serve them. Staff were completely overwhelmed - waited for almost half an hour for plates to be take away. Wifi did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patrick K
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Patrick K Thank you for your feedback, I have tried to make contact with you following receipt of your review without success. If you would be kind enough to contact me so that I may learn more details. Thank you in advance

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Firstly, we did enjoy our stay BUT ... we booked two rooms assuming they were in the castle and thankfully checked the fine print in our booking confirmation several weeks prior to our stay which showed one room was outside the castle in a nearby building. We naturally contacted the castle to rectify this and confirmed through email that both...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jaegberg
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Jaegberg Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that a room within the castle was not available on the day in question but am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the food. We continue to strive to ensure that all requested rooms are offered, it is most unfortunate on this occasion that this...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Cant describe just how wonderful this visit was. The place is stunning anyway but the rooms had all been done up since I last came, we had the most amazing room, could have bought my daughter easily and she would have had her own area without having to have an adjoining room, which would have been a result. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cutey_11
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear cutey_11 Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback, it is wonderful to read that you had such an amazing time. I have passed on your feedback and personally thanked the team. I am very proud to have such a great team who are all focused on offering the best hospitality. We are very much looking forward to...

Yukon
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The castle is just stunning inside and out. There was a wedding going on the day we stayed but we did not experience the bad service that a lot of reviews are mentioning. We had lunch in the Orangery restaurant and it was very good food. Our room was clean and had a HUGE four poster bed. Right after lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yukoner36
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Yukoner36 Thank you very much indeed for sharing such great feedback, I am overjoyed to hear of your great stay and how much you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful castle. I do hope that you will return to the castle to re-live the experience. A very good day to you.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I travel extensively and love all different types of accommodations (B&Bs, luxury hotels, etc.). This is, I think, the first time I have ever wanted to leave a hotel within an hour of getting there. Within two hours I had pulled another castle hotel down the road (Carberry) and was about to make the transition. The front desk accommodated me...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank docmartine
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear docmartine Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your comprehensive feedback. I am very sorry that you experienced such issues regarding the wi-fi, we have experienced extensive issues over the past three weeks with our internet provision. We are working closely with our service provider to resolve this and also to further improve the offering that...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend, and cannot compliment the room highly enough,it was stunning. The most disappointing thing though was the service which was completely lacking throughout. On top of the dreadful service we received when there, I also sent the below email 4 days ago and have not received any response from management. ------------- Dear management, I wanted to write...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Once again, please allow me to apologise for the delay in you receiving our response due to the internet issues that we have suffered in recent weeks. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and your meals at the castle. As you will know we have rectified each of the points mentioned...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 15 September 2015

the Dalhousie Castle is a beautiful old family home/ castle. on the grounds, there are three or four walking trails, archery, skeet and trap, and falconry. The castle is close enough to Edinburgh that you can grab a cab and go for the day. But the setting away from the city is such a plus! It is also about a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret s
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Margaret s Thank you for your lovely review, it is most kind of you to share your feedback. The castle and its grounds are a wonderful oasis away from the stress of day to day life, it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our facilities which we are very lucky to have. We do hope to welcome you...

914 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (857)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (434)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
911 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,061 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Price Range: €104 - €284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalhousie Castle staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Dalhousie Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you stay in "castle rocks" close the doors after you & lock them, they don't lock after you like a hotel.”
  • Castle rocks.
 of 5 bubbles leesO9521AF, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Themed rooms but watch out for the Ghosts..”
 of 5 bubbles 974francisq, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a themed room with a view out back of the pasture/brook.”
 of 5 bubbles DH474, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our themed suite (Room 6) had a lovely view of the countryside out of one window.”
 of 5 bubbles holidayfairy_8, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't take dogs as you will not be allowed to stay in the actual castle but in the annexe round the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles LizC332, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5