We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (37)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good9%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“drawing room”(18 reviews)
“large house”(6 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(24 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Concierge
Conference Facilities
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Durn House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
333
40
17
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
333
40
17
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomlarge houseafternoon teafree standing bathhuge bathroomfour poster bedroll top batheggs benedictsilk roomon arrivalcountry houseroaring firesteak nightferguson suitewee gemtop floorkippers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
101 - 105 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed two nights in early May. Lovely house & room (Durn Suite - £230 a night) and good set dinner (at about £33 per person.) Our first reaction on arriving was delight! However, there were a few niggles that took the edge off our stay....More

Thank Sparkler666
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We spent 2 nights in what can only be described as the most comfortable room ever experienced (the Durn Suite). Our son was also in another fabulous room - the Culloden Suite. Durn House calls itself a 4 star B & B, but in reality...More

Thank Twiglet2005
Response from John S, Owner at Durn HouseResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely Review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed two nights in March. Our room (Sutherland) was cosy but ever so dark in the evenings - even with all the lights on we could barely see! The private bathroom was immediately across the corridor from our room and was huge and super...More

Thank allanmac81
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Just home from a fabulous weekend at Durn House. The interior is beautifully furnished and our room was gorgeous and very comfortable. It is in a lovely peaceful setting within its own grounds, yet only a short walk away from Portsoy. We enjoyed a lovely...More

Thank Heather S
Response from John S, Owner at Durn HouseResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely Review, it is much appreciated by all the Team at Durn House

Reviewed 17 May 2016

We visited Banff, in particular, to enjoy a few rounds of golf! We were very fortunate to find Durn House in Portsoy. The hotel was situated in a nice quiet area, close to several golf courses and was about a 10 minute drive to Banff...More

Thank B J
Response from John S, Owner at Durn HouseResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely Review, it is much appreciated by all the Team at Durn House

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Portsoy
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$127 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$127 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (37)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Angela M
26 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from DurnHouse | Property representative |
Hi there, We are currently investing is accessible entrances and bedrooms, but as this building is a Grade 2 listed Georgian Manor House, this process has unfortunately been previously delayed. Please do contact us for... More
0
Votes
frequenttraveller012
20 August 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DurnHouse | Property representative |
Hi there, Just to give you a quick update - We strive to ensure that you have the most wonderful time at Durn House. This is why we are happy for you to bring along your 4 legged companion to enjoy your luxury stay, for an... More
1
Vote
frequenttraveller012
20 August 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DurnHouse | Property representative |
Hi there, Just to give you a quick update - We strive to ensure that you have the most wonderful time at Durn House. This is why we are happy for you to bring along your 4 legged companion to enjoy your luxury stay, for an... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The Culloden Suite. Beautiful"
Read review
"We are sure they are all good. Ours was gorgeous."
Read review
"Not all rooms are en-suite (yet) so if en-suite is important to you, ask for one of their en-suite rooms when..."
Read review
"Be sure to check, by phone, if your room is en suite. Ask for the price of dinner in advance. Know that they..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing