We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glenferrie Lodge

Orbitz.comUS$63*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$99*
US$63*
Great Deal
US$96*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Glenferrie Lodge
Glenferrie Lodge
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenferrie Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2014

My wife and I stayed here with the kids and some friends who came to visit. 1st class service, reception and very clean. This is a little gem in the middle of the city with very easy travel around Sydney. I will always call to see if they have a room when I'm travelling to Sydney. Fantastic staff and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Philip, Thank you soo much for your lovely review. It's wonderful to know that you consider Glenferrie a "little Gem'. We truly look forward to your return visit. for you and your family. I also have a young family and have modeled Glenferrie on what my family wants when they travel. So it makes me really happy that your...

Diamond Bar, California
Reviewed 10 December 2014

I stayed at this lodge on December 2014. This is a lodge located in Kirribilli, which is a great place. Kirribilli is a upper middle class residential area where crime is virtually non-existent. The place is located across from the Opera house, and you'll be at the opera in just 5 minutes by taking the ferry. Rooms are clean, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fredito67
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fredito67, A sincere thank you for your lovely review. Yes you are correct Sydney is not a cheap place to visit and also Yes our breakfast is one of the areas we are most proud of. We hope that every guest who has our breakfast is both well fed and ready for the day. Thank you also for your...

Reviewed 2 December 2014

Was looking forward to our stay based on all the good reviews, was particularly looking forward to meeting Jean-Claude the manager who writes all the responses to reviews (had imagined a chic french guy but all the desk staff I saw would be more likely be named Sandeep or Kumar). Breakfast was good, backyard is great for sitting and enjoying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ros B
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

I have previously written to trip advisor as I believe this review is rather unfair to myself and my staff. However they have told me it's within their guidelines. Firstly thank you for your review and I'm sure you didn't mean to cause offence. Thank you for your nice comments about breakfast and the garden. We do have approximately 15...

Bathurst NSW
Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

We have just checked out after a Sat and Sun night stay. The location is perfect, less than 5 minute walk from Kirribilli ferry, which is a 5 min journey from circular quay. Perfect. This service though is hourly, so check the timetable first. Immediately around the lodge is all residential, and the restaurants and bars are a good 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpmorris
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JP Morris, Thank you for your detailed review of Glenferrie lodge. I sincerely appreciate the feedback and especially the constructive feedback. You must have been at the lodge this week because this was when the hot water system failed. Yes it was a massive panic and we were without hot water for almost 2 hours. We managed to get...

Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

Look no further! Our extended stay at the glenferrie lodge whilst my wife was undergoing medical treatment was so friendly and kind that i would recommend this gem to anyone visiting sydney. Nothing was too much for the management team who's professionalism and manners were genuine and friendly.Competitive rates, clean rooms and facilities, peaceful suburb, close to anything you may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert G, Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Glenferrie Lodge with your wife and I hope the medical treatments were fruitful. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff about their professionalism and manners. We do try to be the best budget hotel in Sydney and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2014

A beautiful building in a beautiful spot, and amazingly helpful management --the staff drove me to my office when a taxi they had called didn't materialise! The breakfast, as everybody says, is wonderful, and the gardens are lovely. The bathrooms, though shared, are clean and comfortable, and I didn't have to wait, and the wifi is free and fast. All...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kaysou
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaysou, Thank you for your review. I was the one who took you to the office in North Sydney and I'm glad that we were able to assist. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff and breakfast. My only suggestion is that if you were not happy with your room we would have been more than willing...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for 6 years regularly for mainly business but also for nights out, I always recommend this place for my friends and many have stayed. It is clean with friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast included , great for exploring Sydney with good restaurants and close to all transport , highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Grant S, It makes me very happy to read that you have been coming to Glenferrie for 6 years. I sincerely appreciate the support and hope that you will continue to visit us for both business and pleasure. As i'm sure you've noticed we've been making a few upgrades to the property which I hope you enjoyed. However please...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2014

I only stayed here for one night but would have stayed a few more days if I did not have other plans. The staff are great and the room was perfect, very clean and modern. As I had my dog they gave me the room right on the courtyard ! Brilliant. Bathrooms are shared but there are a few so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teagy3
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Teagy, Thank you for choosing to stay at Glenferrie lodge. We sincerely appreciate it. Also your fabulous review makes delightful reading. I'm so pleased that you like our pet friendly room. I know that room well and it's perfect for our 4 legged friends. Also thank you for your comments about breakfast we do try very hard and I...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2014 via mobile

I ended up here trying to find something when Sydney was full and just got the last room. Yes the bathroom was shared. But it was very clean. The whole place has been renovated. The room is small, but not an issue. It looks lovely. I was quite surprised. I thoroughly enjoyed a walk to Kirribilli for dinner and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rounsie
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rounsie, Thank you so much for your superb review. It is wonderful to read from someone who is both a top contributor and has written over 200 reviews. I'll tell the Chef about your breakfast comments and I'm sure he will be pleased with the reference to Hotel quality and not Lodge quality. We sincerely appreciate the feedback, especially...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2014

I found this place by accident. It may not be the most flash place, but you are 5 mins walk from kirribilli house admiralty house, along with the Sydney Harbour Bridge. This comes in hang if you are invited to dinner by anyone special in the area. Very affordable, included breakfast. The only fault is the shared bathrooms. Very old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, Thank you for your wonderful review. While I'm still waiting for my invite to either Kirribilli house or Admiralty house. I sincerely hope that next time you are here you receive the request. However in all seriousness. thank you. we are renovating the bathrooms and we've almost completed them. There are only 2 bathrooms that still need renovating...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (with Balcony and Shared Bathroom) (23)
Viewed
Double Room (with Shared Bathroom) (20)
Viewed
Family Budget Room (with Shared Bathroom) (22)
Viewed
Family Room (with Private Bathroom) (34)
Viewed
Queen Room (with Balcony and Shared Bathroom) (34)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Single Standard (with Shared Bathroom) (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)
Viewed
Twin Room (with Shared Bathroom) (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirribilli
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
2,363 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glenferrie Sydney offers quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation on the shores of Sydney Harbour, a minute's walk from the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and a stone's throw from the Sydney home of the Prime Minister in one of the most beautiful suburbs of Sydney. The Sydney central business district is a 6 minute ferry ride away, so guests can enjoy being in the city without the cost of staying there.All bathrooms and amenities are shared; wifi is free; a full hot buffet breakfast is included in the tariff for all rooms. With its beautiful, leafy garden, Glenferrie is an ideal place to stay if you are travelling with a pet or if you simply want to relax and read or have a quiet breakfast outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenferrie Lodge

Address: 12a Carabella St, Kirribilli, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Kirribilli
Price Range: €52 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenferrie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Glenferrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenferrie Hotel Kirribilli
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenferrie Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Glenferrie Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose the ensuite rooms. The others have common toilets...”
yakshaver, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A bit more expensive but the front rooms with balconies worth the extra money”
488elnam, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Würde nächstes Mal ein zimmer in einer der oberen Etagen wählen”
SteffiLovesTraveling, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You'd have to do more research give them a ring”
filmandmusic, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great if you don't have a nose! its cheap & noisy, just like being in a backpacking hostel!”
7BFW, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$96
Hostelworld.comUS$99
PricelineUS$69
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates