We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

1 Km Al Sur De La Escuela La Lidia, San Gerardo de Dota 11703 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1112)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (46)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#2 of 5 hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Eighty-nine kilometers (55.3 miles) south of San Jose in a private natural reserve of 400 hectares and just 9 km. (5.5 miles) from Los Quetzales National Park, Hotel Savegre is the ideal starting point for exploring Costa Rica’s magnificent tropical cloud forest in all its beauty. Hotel Savegre’s services are the perfect complement for every nature lover seeking a memorable experience. We offer 41 rooms, bar and restaurant, day spa, conference room, laundry service, shuttle service, tours and related activities, as well as our beautiful gardens and impressive private reserve with its extensive network of trails. Our helpful and genuinely friendly staff are the hotel’s signature feature.The Chacon family, pioneers in the San Gerardo de Dota region have been operating the hotel since its inception and it has always been our utmost aim to provide top-quality service that goes hand in hand with the environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Horseback riding
Gift shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Interconnected rooms available
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1124Reviews37Q+A100Room tips

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 680
  • 320
  • 89
  • 20
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David C wrote a review 23 Nov
Nottingham, United Kingdom309 contributions73 helpful votes
Apart from the bar staff this would be a 4 or a 5 but the bar staff were ignorant and rude and I would never recommend anyone staying here until they are replaced. I asked for a white wine and when our drinks came they brought red and I had to argue that I wanted white, they were not going to change my drinks and said it was my fault. They did in the end and actually tried to charge for both drinks. Apart from the bar the rest of the place is great, the food sizes are enormous and most of our party ended up ordering off the children's menu they were so big. We had 3 meals a day all tasted great although one in our party did have a snail in her salad. The rooms are large with outdoor and indoor seating areas, they have various bird feeding areas and lots of humming birds can be seen all day close up. The hotel is situated down a steep hill and quite narrow but the driver easily came down and up when we left, there was even a large bus arrived while we was there. The drinks were expensive even when they did get your order right but that's been the same all over Costa Rica. Used the Spa and had a massage, not the best I've had but nice and quite cheap considering the other costs. At one point this was the only place to stay around the area but now other places have been built so they will have to improve the customer service provided to keep the visitors coming..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barneyq101 wrote a review 17 Nov
Reading, United Kingdom701 contributions195 helpful votes
Again an excellent hotel on our tour by exodus. Great food food with good choices. Breakfast excellent. Also a fine wine list the first we have had on Costa Rica. Well done. It is high so no humidity. Great walks well marked. All very well organised. Would like to go back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JulesB91 wrote a review Sep 2022
Solihull, United Kingdom141 contributions40 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights towards the end of a two week tour around Costa Rica. The staff made the stay above and beyond with their friendliness and kindness. The food was the best hotel food that we had sampled all holiday. A lovely location with lots of bird watching. Fabulous restaurant and bar. The BEST spicy margarita I have ever had!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JaguarTracker1952 wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California20 contributions25 helpful votes
Spent 4 nights there very recently. It's a pity that 1 critical element about the hotel stay resulted in my giving this place a "generous" 3 star review. The location and the grounds are Fabulous. Very Pristine and Well Maintained. The Restaurant/Bar are Fabulous. The service was Outstanding, the quality of the food was also Outstanding. The ambiance was Great and the selection of drinks and food was also Great. The rooms (my room) was very good in terms of size and decor. The bathroom was large and had a large bathtub (which I did not use). Plumbing (water pressure etc.) was OK, not great, but this is Costa Rica and plumbing in most of CR is "OK" at best so this is to be expected. What Absolutely "Killed" the experience for me were the Rock Hard bed mattresses. The mattresses were SO hard it was like sleeping of a hard bench. 4 nights of tossing and turning and never once able to get a good night sleep made the experience Awful as I had daytime plans each day (mostly photography) and every day I was tired and exhausted because I was unable to sleep well. I have traveled all over the world and these are by far the hardest beds I've ever laid on. On my 2nd day I pointed this out to the gentleman at the front desk who had checked me in. He responded with the typical "I'm so sorry"...blah...blah...blah...and the "I will speak with my manager" routine. Then on the morning I checked out, a young lady was working the front desk and asked me if everything was OK. I told her as well about the Awful hard mattress bed experience and that I had informed her colleague the same 2 days earlier. She too gave me the same Blah...Blah...Blah..."I'm so sorry sir. I will definitely let my manager know about this".....I mostly assume these comments go in one ear and out the other with these people as so far I have not heard ONE word from any manager of Savegre. For these reasons, I will not plan to stay there again as there are many other choices and options.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Room Tip: Ask about the mattresses. Mine were the most Uncomfortable and Hardest I've ever slept on.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ignacio Esquivel wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
I stayed there with my wife, we've stayed here several times, now that she's pregnant we did find things that need to change, I list them here: 1. Shower area in bathroom doesn't have any anti slip protection, its very dangerous, also the hot water runs terribly, you should get decent heaters. 2. Pillows are terrible, you should change them. 3. Bedding is terrible, you need to have blankets when its cold and you don't want to turn the heater. 4. Put refrigerators in each room, its very uncomfortable not to have a fridge in the room to keep things cool for hikes. 5. The roads to the rooms need to be widened, its impossible for 2 cars to maneuver at the same time. Best regards
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is uncomfortable, as well as there are no sidewalks to walk to restaurant at night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matt A wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
Great place, far off the track. Really good cabins, tucked away in beautiful mountains. Had a great walk up through the forest. Early morning bird-spotting was a little disappointing. But overall loved this place very much and would have liked to stay longer. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
brown11 wrote a review Jul 2022
Big Spring, Texas544 contributions156 helpful votes
Savegre Hotel and Reserve stay was a highlight of our recent Costa Rica Trip. It is a lovely property with a rich history. The ecofriendly lodge sits in a beautiful valley in the mountains/cloud forest. The gardens were perfectly planned and maintained with an amazing variety of birds spotted from our front porch! Room was exactly as described/booked through their website. Hiking trails were well maintained and marked. Amazing observation deck in the reserve--wished for my yoga mat! Food: Restaurant had well rounded menu, locally sourced. Indoor and outdoor terrace dining available Local trout was as fresh as you can get. Apple pie (from apples grown on the grounds) with homemade ice cream is not to be missed. Guided Tours Booked through the Lodge: Birding (Guide- Raul) Paramor Tour (Guides: Raul & Julian) Both tours were amazing with great viewing of the Resplendent Quetzal, 7 species of humming birds, Sulfur-Winged Parakeets, Collard Trogon, Emerald Toucanet as well as various wrens, tanagers, warblers, Euphonias, Thrushes, fly catchers, wood creepers, and wood peckers Stay details: 3 nights (not long enough for us--would consider booking longer) Independent travel - Private transportation booked separately
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: Recommend NOT driving in after dark if not familiar with mountain driving
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jann01 wrote a review Jun 2022
Cave Junction, OR233 contributions109 helpful votes
This was the second lodge we stayed at on a week long wildlife tour. It's a bit of a trek to get to the lodge, but worth it in the end. Our room was lovely and the heater worked, which was needed at 7000 feet. There are lovely gardens on the property that are filled with birds. We saw a female quetzel and some in our party (not us, darn it), had a great sighting of a male quetzel. The food was great and the service very good. We would definitely return to have more time to take advantage of the trails.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
chaletaria wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom535 contributions136 helpful votes
A truly beautiful valley within the cloud forest. The lodge’s gardens were delightful and attracted a variety of birds. The lodge owns a large potion of the forest and the trails they have set up make for excellent hikes (they are graded 1-5; a note of caution- the Bird trail graded 1, easy, is actually quite challenging, more of a 2/3). The guide (Raoul) for our quetzal trip was very knowledgeable and it was amazing to see a whole quetzal family; although not guaranteed (they are birds after all) this is the best place to see them. There is a private garden on site with a large variety of hummingbirds (donations only) which I would recommend. Helpful, friendly staff. The food is well prepared and imaginative, mainly with local produce grown on site- be aware that you need to tell the front desk the time you wish to eat. The lodge operates on eco principles, using solar power to heat the showers, so at times they run out (so you might suddenly find you are in a very cold shower!) Our room was quite dark, as it was the end of the run; it might be an idea to ask for a light room when checking in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms at the start/ centre are lighter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Seattle Meadowlark wrote a review May 2022
Seattle319 contributions224 helpful votes
Savegre is very high class. This is the kind of place that the wealthy 1% go to. I am not in that percentile. Not even close. Nevertheless, I was treated as if I were royalty. Being that it is high elevation-about 7700 ft, it's cold, for the tropics. The road here was crazy twisty, narrow and rife with hairpin turns. But the forest is beautiful, with lovely oaks and even a few conifers. Our room was comfortably sized, not cramped but not enormous. A wall mounted heater/AC unit was controlled with a remote that allowed us to one, turn up the heat, and two, shut off the display so that the room was dark enough to sleep in. One large queen size bed, with windows on both sides so that there was plenty of natural light. Vegetation on both sides of the cabin provided a modicum of privacy. One either side of the bed was an end table with a with a table lamp that was bright enough to read and write by. A small desk with a table lamp, access to an electrical outlet and a chair allowed laptop work. An armoire was large enough to take our carry on bags, but not both of our wheeled luggage. A couch with a coffee table was next to another large window. The bathroom was tiled and roomy. Unfortunately, the hot water heater-which apparently served the three cabins in our 'row', kept faulting out. We had to report no hot water at least four times in the three days we stayed there. Management's response was always immediate, but still-it takes time to re-heat the water in the tank. Other cabins had solar heated hot water heaters, so it may be that our room was still awaiting new heaters. Both room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. I never saw an insect in them. The dining hall was roomy. Meals were 'al la carte', taken off a menu. Because our lodging and meals were prepaid, we were only allowed to order off a truncated menu, one that lacked the truly fancy (and much higher priced) meals. Even so, there was plenty to choose from. The food was perfectly cooked and the portions ENORMOUS. For my first meal, lunch, I ordered the trout sandwich and could barely finish it, there was so much of it! The wait staff-dressed in somber uniforms that at first glance made me think they were security guards-was extraordinarily attentive and service was always quick. I struck up a friendship with "Bernay", a young man who complimented me on my Spanish. I did the same with his English, which was excellent.When I asked for hot cocoa 'sin leche', meaning, without milk, he said he'd never heard of it but he would try to make it. He did. It was excellent,and he said, "Thank you, you have taught me something new." This attitude of the staff and management was everywhere in Savegre. Polite, professional, cheerful and happy to serve. There was a bar on the other side of the dining room but I didn't go in it, as I don't drink. I bring it up because we hadn't been at the lodge more than half an hour when we saw a Resplendent Quetzal in a tree right next to the open air balcony off the bar. This bird is the most sought after bird in all of Costa Rica, and it was right there, as if the management had raised it from an egg and trained it. The grounds are beautifully maintained. Birds of all sorts were often at eyelevel, for instance, in the lovely garden, I saw at least five different species of hummingbirds. If one walked down hill to the entrance to the lodge, one was treated to a lovely river, where I saw torrent tyrannulets. Behind the lodge, a steep and rugged road brought you to the top of a mountain. Heavily forested with ancient oaks, we bagged birds that seldom, if ever, approached the buildings of the lodge. We were there early in the morning and the sunrise through the mist made it look like something from another world. After three or four enormous meals, I wanted something light for dinner, so I ordered the onion soup. It was VERY good. Then, as I had a little room left, I ordered dessert of apple pie. I thought I'd get a small portion, yes? Oh,no. I think I got half a pie. WITH ice cream.... I would definitely stay at Savegre again, and I would recommend it to my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
US$120 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
savegre hotel, natural reserve hotel san gerardo de dota, savegre hotel, natural reserve and spa, savegre mountain cartago
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Gerardo de Dota
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAVEGRE HOTEL, NATURAL RESERVE & SPA - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Costa Rica/San Gerardo de Dota) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Batsu (0.2 km), Rio savegre Waterfall (1.6 km), and Parque National Los Quetzales (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alma de Árbol, Pizzería los Colibríes, and Lauraceas Restaurante Cafeteria Lodge.
Is Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of San Gerardo de Dota.
Are any cleaning services offered at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.