We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Stoford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 350: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016

i was attending a wedding reception near by and picked this hotel for its location. Would not choose to stay again. Cold rooms, not the most pleasant of bath rooms. The whole place looked abit tired and run down. Trying to cross that busy road to get to the car park is a night mare... god help you if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised you found our rooms cold - although we do not have the heating on at this time of year. Yes, we are on the side of a road that can be busy at times, but we are an old coaching... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Meals are delicious and beautifully presented. There's lots of choice on the menu. Staff were very friendly and the food was prompt. The place had a very warm and cosy atmosphere. I'd definitely go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback, I am delighted your enjoyed your food. We hope you do return one day soon. Liz More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Have passed here on numerous occasions and finally decided to stop and go in. Greeted by a very helpful man who took our order. Food was lovely, I had lamb shoulder, loads of meat and really tasty, wife had slow roasted pork belly, which was bit smaller portion but still enjoyable. Some of the other meals going out looked nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gardenerrich
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

It is always a joy to read nice feedback, thank you for yours. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food with us. Liz More 

Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

caught in traffic jam on A303, made detour to Salisbury and on the way found excellent pub stop in Stoford. Food was excellent, small open garden, dog friendly, service was very good and prices very reasonable. Definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank margaret P
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am sorry you were caught on the A303, but pleased that you visited our inn. We hope you do come back again next time your are passing. Liz More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for my niece's wedding in the next village 5 minutes walk away. I confirmed the booking was still in place days before our visit & asked if i could leave my car in the car park while at the wedding as the wedding was hours before we could check in. The staff were pleasant, the room clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason E
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed the wedding. Liz More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

My partner and I visited for Sunday lunch and we disappointed with the services we received. The food was nice although I couldn't find any gravy for the Calvary. However the services we received was abysmal. It took ages before we offered menus or anyone came to greet us, after the food arrived we we were not offered and condiments... More 

Helpful?
Thank bunit172
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your food (the gravy is in a well at the front of the carvery). I can only apologise that you did not receive the usual high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on, I will share your comments with the team. Liz More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Well it was really a stick a pin in the map about half way between our homes and that's how The Swan came up and we were both of us pleased that it did. A little bit of a strange set up, as I saw the pub on my right as I approached and turned right assuming the car park... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which we value very much. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and the food, and that Scott, who is a valuable member of the team, looked after you so well. Thank you once again. Liz More 

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I booked a twin room at this hotel via their website. I arrived on the Sunday at 10am and as I was unable to book in until 3pm the hotel allowed me to fish their stretch of the river. The location is next to a busy road but the hotel has secondary glazing and the traffic for me was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick L
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed fishing in our lovely river and your stay at our inn. I do apologise that we had not been able to rug doctor your carpet before your arrival. We hope you come back soon. Liz More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Location was excellent for my fishing trip to the Avon. Accommodation was average though a little noisy due to creaking floors. Food was very ordinary from breakfast to dinner. Fine as a B&B but probably overpriced at this level. Hint to chef: A grilled chicken Caesar should have grilled chicken (hot) , not cold carved chicken strips and a Caesar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you think we are a good B&B (unfortunately you pay for the location as we are very close to Stonehenge). Our Caesar salads are cooked to order, so I can only apologise if you chicken was cold and the dressing was missing. This could only have been an error, and if... More 

Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch with a colleague on our way to a meeting. The staff were friendly and the food was brought out quickly which we found convenient on that day. We had a main morales has from the menu and felt the prices were reasonable for the quality of food and portion size received - would return if passing

Helpful?
Thank Lizzy E
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and found the staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#7 of 15 in Salisbury
220 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
868 reviews
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
664 reviews
6.4 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: €58 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose room with bathroom, I made the mistake of not doing so last year.”
 of 5 bubbles martinmX5434PZ, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although there is secondary glazing road side rooms are a tad noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tracyh3003, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper try to avoid room at the front as there is some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles brilo3892, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Keep away from the roadside of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinP580, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay, just used restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 984margaretp, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay