We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Stoford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 350: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The Swan is great for a business trip. Accessible parking (almost unheard of in Salisbury), decent food and serviceable rooms. It's far from luxurious, but the team try hard to ensure you enjoy your stay and the price is unbeatable.

Helpful?
Thank Simon P
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our large, free car park. Liz More 

New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

First off I would like to say the staff was very friendly and we had two nice meals here. However this is a treacherous hotel to stay at and not worth the price. To get to our room we had to go through a long narrow hallway, through doors and then up and down hidden steps. The hallway was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not like our wonky old building - some of the lights are on a push button timer, and I have checked them and they are all working fine. There is a sign stating that there are two small steps, I am so sorry you tripped down them. As for the... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We booked the back room at The Swan for our wedding reception. We only had a small number of people but Liz and Dan were very attentive to our needs and Liz always responded quickly to email requests and ideas as the day neared. We dropped off some items to personalise the room and favours for the wedding table the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. We were privileged to assist you in your big day and are delighted you enjoyed yourself. Congratulations once again and we hope you have an amazing life together ahead. Liz More 

Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night as was attending the go skydive nearby. We had arrived half hour early before check in and although we was allowed to check in, we did not have a welcome feel from the women behind the bar, she seemed rather grumpy and like she did not want to serve us. We wasn't shown where to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clairedanmerlin
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your four star review. I am delighted you liked our pub, I am only sorry your check in and check out was not up to our usual friendly standard. I have passed your comments on to the team and please accept my sincere apologies. Liz More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We tend to stop here on our way home from Portsmouth after a holiday in France. Stopped here early Saturday evening with 3 children. The menu is varied, inexpensive, of a good quality and the staff are always willing. Nice in this day and age that an old coaching-type inn still exists which doesn't break the bank. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank genesis_74
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review - we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you had a lovely 'les vacances' in France. Liz More 

Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

On a long journey home to Essex from Dartmoor our Sat Nav routed us off the A303 to avoid congestion. We were hoping to find somewhere decent to eat to round off our week's holiday. Our detour took us to The Swan which looked well kept and modern. The waiter was extremely green. We ordered four main meals, one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eaglore65
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed we did not please you on your visit to the Swan. Unfortunately, the waiter is fairly new and he obviously got confused and you got a cheese salad instead of a Ploughmans. It was the first day of the menu and I can only apologise for our shortcomings. If you had complained... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night in the family room with our six year old daughter. Others have commented on the road noise, which accepted you can hear but the rooms are double glazed and it caused us little problem. If you accept the hotel for what it is; a traditional coaching inn, then it is comfortable and clean. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive W
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated. I am glad you understand the nature of our inn and that you enjoyed your stay. Liz More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Not a good experience, chaotic and not up to standards you might expect at this price. F.eg. the cheapest teabags you can imagine, no taste whatsoever . . . and this is only an exemple. Service is not very satisfying either.

Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict48
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your further feedback. I am sorry that you did not rate the service you received or that you did not like our brand of tea-bags. Salisbury is an expensive place to stay in August, due to the number of tourists flocking to see Stonehenge, and our inn is no where near the most expensive. I am disappointed... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Following a great wedding in Salisbury, the bride and groom had booked out a side room at The Swan. We walked in to a very warm welcome from the staff. The room had a skittle alley which the children and adults all enjoyed. The food was marvellous and there was at great atmosphere. Thank you to the staff for adding... More 

Helpful?
Thank danricketts10
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - we were delighted to be part of the couple's special day and were pleased that everything went so well. Liz More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Overall outside appearance didn't fill me with hope when I arrived but I'm prepared to stick to the old adage "dont judge a book..." Unfortunately the inside lived up to the outsides reputation. Staff were not overly helpful or happy (seriously, how hard is it to smile???). Room was suitable for midday summer Mexican beach temperatures, not great to sleep... More 

Helpful?
Thank MonkeyPebs
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your view. I am sorry that your experience was not great - it is very rare for me to read poor comments about our staff who are on the whole loyal, hard-working and customer focused (as our overall Trip Advisor score bears out). You did stop on one of the hottest days... More 

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#7 of 15 in Salisbury
219 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
866 reviews
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
663 reviews
6.4 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: €58 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose room with bathroom, I made the mistake of not doing so last year.”
 of 5 bubbles martinmX5434PZ, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although there is secondary glazing road side rooms are a tad noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tracyh3003, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper try to avoid room at the front as there is some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles brilo3892, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Keep away from the roadside of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinP580, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay, just used restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 984margaretp, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay