We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine City Prince Hotel

Save
Share
3-1-5 Higashi Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-8440 Tokyo Prefecture
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (561)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (492)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 15/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Updated 15/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 69 hotels in Toshima
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sunshine City Complex in Tokyo's Ikebukuro district is in a constant state of self-renewal. It is a modern business, shopping and entertainment complex that features the 60-story "Sunshine 60" building, the World Imports Mart, the Culture Hall with a theater and museum, International Aquarium, and the Alpa Shopping Center. Sunshine City Prince Hotels is at the heart of this complex.With its stylish new look, the 1,166-room hotel rises 38 stories above the ground and dips three basement levels below. The Sunshine City Prince provides all the comfort, functionality and genuine hospitality you'd expect from an international hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
1070Reviews36Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 158
  • 434
  • 362
  • 74
  • 42
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jen063 wrote a review Feb 2022
Rowville, Australia50 contributions6 helpful votes
This is the last night, 7 in total. I didn't hold out big expectations, but was pleasantly surprised. We arrived very early hours of the morning after bus dropped us of at Ikebukuro station after a very delayed flight. Eventually found the hotel, quick check in we were up to our room and hit the pillow. On waking was wowed by the most amazing view from our 24 floor window. Yes room small, but used the space well. Desk at the window with TV, kettle, desk lamp & folding mirror. underneath safe & fridge with chair. I booked a twin room thinking this would give us a little more room. Beds really comfortable with 2 down pillows each. Bedside table between with light controls & bed lamp. Cotton waffle night gown & slippers each. Bathroom consists of bath/shower, toilet with all the bells & whistles. toiletries pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap on tap, cotton tips, 2 toothbrush & paste, 2 combs, 2 shower caps, 2 razors/ cream & combination brush/comb. Everything super clean & bedding/ towels white white. Staff so helpful. Family Mart in the foyer that is 24/7 that has every thing you need. Hotel is in a shopping center and close to Ikebukuro station. So happy with our choice of hotel & will definitely stay here again if we are ever back in Tokyo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
John H wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
i stayed here in march and i have no complaints at all! The location is fantastic for both shopping and eating out and the staff are lovely and helpful and i did mention that my room was warm and within 5 mins i had a fan delivered to my room,now thats great customer service!! As the hotel was my base for travelking around tokyo the is a family mart on site so you can stock up on food and drink before you leave the hotel which is great! Due to covud 19 restrictions some of the restaurants were not open but i did have breakfast and we we served breakfast rather than buffet style and the breakfast was huge and set me up for the day,needlepss to say i would certainly stay there again and hope to in 2022 when hopefully the world returns to some sort of normality...arigatou gozaimasu,ganbarimasu!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 城崎 美保, その他 at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel. And thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate your very highly and favorable comments. We feel honored that you were satisfied with our hotel's location and Family Mart. We appreciate your expression of customer service. We are delighted that you will definitely come to stay with us again in the future. The management and our staff would like to thank you for the wonderful comments. It really warms our hearts! We will strive to continue improve service in the time to come.Moreover, Our whole staff sincerely looks forward to your next stay. Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Read more
ETNN9099 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom565 contributions180 helpful votes
Hotel is situated in the heart of Ikebukuro. The building is big but very old. The shopping mall just downstairs which I like. However the wall is really thin which I can’t believe, you’ll feel no privacy as you can hear the next door the people talking. The service staffs is hospitality and they provide shuttle bus to airport. Compare the price and room, I would choose other new hotel to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, Reception at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel. Further, We appreciate your valuable comments, We feel honored that you were satisfied with our hotel's location and Limousine Bus to Airport for round trip , But your comments regarding, The wall is too thin to hear the next room's talking. We are very sorry for any trouble and inconvenient you experienced during your recently visit. We deeply apologize that you had an unpleasant experienced for this time. We have take note of your feedback and double up on our efforts to provide better service and will do our best to provide guests with a comfortable environment. Thank you very much for your valuable opinion again. Moreover, Our whole staff sincerely looks forward to your next stay. Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Read more
Sahil wrote a review Feb 2020
Noida, India24 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in this hotel with a group. Hotel is nice. Staff is helpful and gave us 15 rooms on the same floor which is commendable. The hotel is in close proximity to the all the market places, pubs and cafes. The rooms are small and bathroom is also very small. In fact on the entire floor they had the same room size. The breakfast spread was elaborate. Hotel is attached to the mall which was a plus point. Overall a decent place however prices are on the higher side.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, Reception at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel and taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate your expression of customer service and your group all stayed on the same floor.We are delighted that you feel the breakfast is elaborate during your stay. We feel honored that you were satisfied with our hotel's location and shopping mall. The management and our staff would like to thank you for the wonderful comments, It really warms our hearts! We will strive to continue improve service in the time to come. We look forward to serving you when you come to Japan again! Sincerely,
Read more
MelanieQ717 wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore59 contributions27 helpful votes
The location of this hotel is good. Many shops and dining options. 5 mins from Higashi-ikebukuro station but almost 17 mins to JR Ikebukuro station. Check in time is early at 2 pm but so is check out time at 11am. Lifts to rooms are slow and always packed in the mornings. Service at breakfast is lacking but at check in and out, service is good. Breakfast is nothing to rave about. Better to eat out. The rooms are very small. Feels like a cabin on board a cruise boat. Bathroom seems prefabricated. My biggest grouse is the temperature. There are no windows and there is no air con during winter. Airflow is bad. Central heating is too hot and stuffy. Most uncomfortable. Read many complaints on this but nothing has been done. Not staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, Reception at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel.Further, We appreciate your valuable comments, We feel honored that you were satisfied with our hotel's location. But your comments regarding, The air condition is not so working well and room is too small.... We are very sorry for any trouble and inconvenient you experienced during your recently visit. We deeply apologize that you had an unpleasant experienced for this time. Actually, We have many kinds of room type, As your reference, Please try to reserve more bigger and more wider room. We take the matters you have brought to our attention seriously. And double up on our efforts to provide better service and will do try our best to provide guests with a comfortable environment and more better service. Although, Some areas were not to satisfaction, We hope that you will consider stay with us again in the future,Thank you very much for your valuable opinion again.Moreover, Our warm hospitality awaits you return sometime soon. Sincerely,
Read more
abel lalagavesi wrote a review Jan 2020
Suva, Fiji4 contributions
The experience was good. Spent 4 nights there.Got lost a couple of times in the hotel and had trouble figuring out how the elevator works because some of the lifts only go to certain floors. The staff was so polite and respectful. The food was ok! Close to a shopping mall which was plus points.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, Reception at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel. Further, We appreciate your valuable comments. We feel honored that you were satisfied with our hotel's near shopping mall and staff. But your comments regarding, Some lifts only move certain floor. We are very sorry for any trouble and inconvenient you experience. We take the matters you have brought to our attention seriously and shared within the company. We will strive to continue improve service in the time to come. Although, Some areas were not to satisfaction. But we really hope that you will give us a chance to be your hosts again.Thank you very much for your valuable opinion again. Our warm hospitality awaits your return sometime soon.
Read more
Nathan C wrote a review Dec 2019
South San Francisco, California9 contributions14 helpful votes
My family of four stayed at the Sunshine City Prince Hotel on 12/4/2019-12/12/2019. This was the second time we’ve stayed at the Sunshine Prince. Check-in was quick and easy without any issues. Our 2 rooms this year were for the City Floor Twin Room B configuration on the24th floor. We had the twin Type C configuration last year. The additional cost for the B configuration was well worth it. Room B is a traditional side by side bed configuration while Room C is an end to end bed configuration. Room B is also about 50 square feet larger. The beds were firm and 2 pillows were provided per bed. Both pillows were very flat and my wife and I ended up having to use our travel pillows in order to provide adequate support. The rooms had a small desk, a small refrigerator, a small open closet area (in one of the 2 rooms), and a safe. The TV was approximately 32” with just one station that broadcasted in English (NHK). The bathroom had a small counter and a combo shower/tub. Water pressure was very good as was the water temperature. Climate control for the room was not good. There was no way to turn on the AC and there was no ventilation in the rooms so the rooms were constantly warm and stuffy (~75 degrees). Wi-Fi was excellent; we were always able to connect to the internet and we did not experience any dropped connections while we were there. Housekeeping was excellent as was the hotel staff (very friendly and they speak English). Despite our issues with the pillows and climate control, the location of the Prince still makes it an ideal hotel to consider. It’s proximity to the Sunshine Mall (convenience store, restaurants, souvenir stores), the Sunshine Strip (stores, eating establishments, game arcades), and closeness of the subway stations can’t be beat. The Airport Limousine also drops off and picks up directly from the hotel. I highly recommend the Sunshine City Prince Hotel and look forward to staying there again in my future visits to Tokyo.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Unless you are on a budget, avoid the twin room C configuration
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, マネージャー at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel for twice. And taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate your highly and strong recommended.Your expression of our staff's service and location. We are delighted that you feel good during your recently visit( Except the air condition) The management and our staff would like to thank you for the wonderful comments. it really warms our hearts!( look forward to staying there again in my future visits to Tokyo).We will strive to continue improve service in the time to come and double up on our efforts to provide excellent hospitality from a customer perspective. Although, Some areas were not to satisfaction,and would appreciate if you allow us another opportunity to make it right. We look forward to serving you when you come to Japan again! Sincerely,
Read more
NotAShyGirl wrote a review Dec 2019
Pasig, Philippines106 contributions129 helpful votes
We can hear the conversation from the other room. Security is not so adequate. It’s a few hundred meters from the central area so that’s a plus. There were no CCTV anywhere. Breakfast was just ok. When we checked in, pardon the picture but it said semi-double which I didn’t understand. They wanted 2 adults to fit in one bed. The staff were inconsistent. Some were helpful others were dismissive. I will not go back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, マネージャー at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel and thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and your opinion is very important.Your comments regarding, Very thin walls and made a confusion during your check in. We feel very sorry for any trouble and inconvenient you experience during your recently visit. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay for this time. As your reference for your nest stay, When the amenities are lacking and there were no CCTV anywhere, Please call us from your room, We will help you any time immediately.We take the matters you have brought to our attention seriously and shared within the company. We will strive to improve service in the time to come. Although, Some areas were not to satisfaction. And would appreciate if you allow us another opportunity to make it right. Our warm hospitality awaits your return soon again. Sincerely,
Read more
George wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Serious safety incident
In regards to my wife being molested in this hotel premises on 27 Dec 2019 by a guest, because there was no surveillance camera at that specific area, her case was not pursued further by local police which angers me. If this is the case of her being killed , injured or harmed in any sense. Would the local authorities still have said the same thing! it makes me wonder how safe it will be to stay in this hotel for the visitors coming next year for the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Olympics. This hotel will really have to tighten their security seriously. It could happen to anyone including your loved ones. LOW CRIME DOESN'T MEAN NO CRIME.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, マネージャー at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel for this time. Further, We appreciate your frank opinion. We apologize that you had an unpleasant experience during your recently visit. And shared within the company, We will strive to improve security system and make an effort to provide excellent hospitality from a customer perspective. Although some areas were not to your satisfaction, We hope that you will consider stay with us again in the future. Moreover, Our warm hospitality awaits your return again. Sincerely,
Read more
Hongkongboy55 wrote a review Dec 2019
Richmond, Canada652 contributions253 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. With 3 adults, we have booked their special rooms that fit us all. They offered us a room with 3 comfortable beds on the upper floor. In terms of Tokyo hotel, it is roomy. We were able to open our bags without any problem. Bathroom is clean and not small with good water pressure. We didn't find any problem on elevator as we used the special one for upper floor. To avoid pulling lugagge, suggest you to take airport limousine bus that stop right in front of the hotel. Lots of restaurants and shopping areas nearby. In case of snow, you can just stay at the sunshine city and can spend the day. We haven't got the breakfast package but tried once with average comment. Otherwise, eat outside is not a problem. Wonder why they got only 3.5 stars. Should be 4 points.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Always ask for a room on upper floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurer810214, Reception at Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your staying at Sunshine City Prince Hotel and thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel.We appreciate your very highly comments. We feel honored that you were satisfied with our hotel's location. Your expression of hotel's Limousine Bus to airport for round trip. The management and our staff would like to thank you for the wonderful comments. It really warms our hearts! We will do try our best to improve service in the time to come. We look forward to serving you when you come to Japan again! Sincerely,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
prince hotel sunshine city, prince hotel toshima, prince hotel tokyo, toshima prince hotel
LOCATION
JapanKantoTokyo PrefectureTokyoToshimaIkebukuro / Ikebukuro / Akabane / Itabashi / Nerima
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1091
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pokemon Mega Center Tokyo (0.09 km), Sunshine Aquarium (0.10 km), and Sunshine 60 (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nabezo Ikebukuro Sunshine 60th Street, AIN SOPH. soar Ikebukuro, and Hanada Ikebukuro.
Is Sunshine City Prince Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Toshima.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sunshine City Prince Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunshine City Prince Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hozomon (7.1 km), Tokyo Central Railway Station (6.7 km), and Nezu Shrine (3.8 km).